What's In My Library Challenge

in #books6 years ago

Once Upon A time

That phrase alone is enough to tug my thoughts just a little beyond the here and now.
Travelling the paths of a printed page is where I have spent some of my happiest hours.
I could probably spend hours writing on the topic but I am on a deadline.
This is my entry to @wizardave@s 'what's in your library' competition, so I better get posting before the contest ends.

I seem to have books everywhere

IMG_20180423_214736.jpg
I began collecting books in a different time, . Back then we only had access to the information from radio, telivision, people around us, or hardcopy print. It was a time before the internet or even cable telivision.
I could probably do a whole post on this shelf alone. I think it is my favorite at the moment. I refer to Ted Andrews Animal Speak often.
The next shelf is in a passage way. I will just grab from it on the way through. Most of these are great for reading just a bit at a time. Especially the Foxfire set. Those have tons of short informative chapters.
I didn't get a pic of my fiction shelf. At the moment I am part way through the Dragon Lance series. That may be on hold for a bit. I have been spending most of my reading time on Steemit lately.
IMG_20180423_174127.jpg

I think I will be reading there as soon as I post this. I have tabs open to get back to. Then I want to see what is on everyone else's bookshelf.
We have come a long way from having to wait for a book. Now there is so much we can read with just the click of a mouse. But for me nothing can replace the feel of a real book. Even the aroma of old books carries pleasnt memories for me.

Sort:  

I agree totally that the feel, look, and even smell of the hard copy can/will never be replaced by an electronic version. Nice selection of authors you have there. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @bashadow. Congratulations and best wishes.

So nice to meet you! The Pay It Forward contest seems to be a great way to make new friends, especially important for newer members such as myself. I just met @Bashadow yesterday and was saying I should do a post for the challenge. Imagine my surprise to find I was featured myself. Now I am even more motivated to do one of my own.
Yes, many of my books are like dear old friends. At the same time lines of electronic text hold an allure all their own. In bygone days it would have seemed almost magical to have this level of instant access to information. Not to mention the ability to communicate across cultures and miles.
It was very nice of you to stop by my post. I look forward to visiting your page in the very near future.

I spot a Carlos Castenada book in amongst your collection there my friend, and the tenth insight too 😊 good luck in both contests

I wish I had discovered the contest sooner so I could have put much more time into the post. I do love the topic and may have to start doing a bookshelf posting day. I am so glad you guys are doing this contest. I am having fun peeking at everyone's bookshelf.
Thanks so much for stopping by.

It just so happens to be international book week too, coincidence! Not 😊
Me too i have ordered a few books from peoples recommendations already from amazon

Well you can't beat a happysmileyman with a happy coincidence.
Amazon and Kindel I think are the best inventions of my lifetime. Well, after the internet anyway.

I must share this with you, reading your message just now gave me a warm smile @headchange 😊 i am now a very happysmileyman 😊

The Foxfire books are a staple of my grandmother's, who seems to have lived through enough for a pioneer novel. I've never had a chance to examine them, maybe on our next visit.

Looks like a nice collection.

You really should they are great. I enjoy being able to catch a quick read here and there and learn something. Also the dialect will snap you right out of today for just a moment.
Thanks so much for checking out my entry.

Wow! Foxfire books! Those are awesome. I would love to have the entire collection!

  • Back in my Amway days (mid '80's...) they talked me into reading books like PschoCybernetics and Think & Grow Rich. So glad for that part of that experience. Positive thinking and programming my mind was a brand new idea for me at the time.
    • Thanks for sharing!
      • If you decide to continue writing about books (highly encourage you to do so...), did you see the comment by @steemitbooks?

This post was upvoted by the Steemit Book Project! The project exists to help make books more available to the world and to promote book-related content on Steemit.
You can read more about the project here. If you write book related posts, head over to our Discord server (https://discord.gg/h93nHMu) and pop your book post links in the #curation-requests channel.

Good luck for entry #14 in the contest

Ahhh the 80's what a time huh? That is about the time I started the path myself. I think I started with Illusions-Tales Of A Reluctant Messiah. If you have not met this book you should.
Thanks so much for the heads up!! I really felt I rushed and did not do this topic justice. I will revisit this for sure. Knowing there is an interest on the platform is motivating. I think I need to check them out.
Thanks again for a great contest. This has already been beneficial in more ways than one.
Happy book week.

You're welcome.

  • I will keep an eye out for that Illusions book...

Ho Ho Ho Happy book week!!!

Congratulations @headchange! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I have loved books since I was a child. My dad's library was quite impressive, and I spent years learning in it. I mentioned in a comment yesterday about the smell of old books. Thanks for sharing your pictures. I noticed as another user pointed out you have a Castaneda book. Have you read the others as well by him? Another author you may enjoy if you are into his books is Jane Roberts.

Then you really do know the magic hidden in the pages. I always feel that the literary journeys of childhood are the ones that touch the deepest parts of our being. I can just glimpse the cover of a childhood favorite and be transported back for a moment.
I do have a few Castaneda books as well as some of the Seth books.
Most of mine are in storage awaiting their new home. We have recently moved to a little place in the country. There is a small bonus room with a fireplace. As a fellow book lover you know where that is headed.

We have recently moved to a little place in the country. There is a small bonus room with a fireplace. As a fellow book lover you know where that is headed.

How exciting. I am hopeful to do the same in a year or two if my small investment in crypto pays off. I have fantasized of a large library in my house since I was a child. I recently had bought a storage unit at auction that had many boxes of books. Due to moving soon across country, I had to let most of them go. But some of them I couldn't bare to part with as they had been in my dads library as a child.

I remember too the monthly trips to the library as a child. I would get so excited, almost as much as a birthday or Christmas. Good luck getting settled in your new house. It will be an exciting time for you and your family as nature comes to life around you in the countryside.

I love the smell of old books too. If only we can take knowledge just sniffing through these books lol! I see books and authors here that i am familiar with. There is so mhch we can read but there seems to be no time. I think I have to start reading books again and less internet time. We can read online but we get distracted by other sites we cannot focus on what we are reading. I can see you like to comment a lot yoo. I suggest join abh12345's engagement league if you have not come across that contest yet. It is on hold this week though since he is on vacation. Also danielsaori's comment contest. Make your comments count while having fun and enjoying the interaction here.

Hey thanks so much. That is exactly the kind of things I need to join in on. It is true little guys like me have to make every single thing count as much as possible.
I will open those tabs now so remember to check in on those. Glad you stopped by.

I'm still as little as you but thanks to these kinds of contests and the people behind who are willing to help, I can help others, too. What really made me "move up" is by joining contests and luckily I get to win some.

The book days are certainly the good old days! if only it wasn't for the internet! Libraries brought 'readers' together, now with internet eevrywhere and information just at the tip, people read on their own! de-socialized, i might add! Very bad, no? hahah.

There is still a big book shelve in my family home, but of course i have more books in my computer than it!

Otherwise thanks for being a part of the @asapers! I came around to encourage you to keep writng great content. And to share love!

I don't know. The internet holds its own magic not bad just different. I think the challenge may be in making time for both. I do seem to have less conversation about books and reading these days. I am just realizing how much I have missed that. I am sure I will visit the topic again in later postings.
Glad you mentioned @asapers I haven't stopped by there in a while. That reminds me to pay a visit.

Oh, we'll be glad to hear from you. Much missed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69033.32
ETH 3748.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67