Better You #4 : The Difficult Art of Relaxation & The Subtle Art of Not Giving A F*ck

in #blog7 years ago

Last week I took a week off from work, studies and Steemit. This was actually my first "proper" vacation in 6 months, and needless to say it was a much needed one.

1

Image Source

I'm terrible at taking time off, but what I'm even worse at is to relax when I am actually taking that time off.

In my experience, for the majority of people venturing along the path of extreme self-development this a common curse bestowed upon many high-achievers.

I'm sure many of you reading this can relate.

I have been struggling with the art of relaxation in recent years and although I have improved, I still have miles to walk. Oh funny, see what I did there? In the last sentence I implied that I had "miles to walk", which in itself affirms that I consider myself not being there already, and having to "walk" somewhere in order to relax.

Like many things in life I recon that relaxing is something fleeting, thus trying to hard to attain it will more likely escape from your hands like little grains of sand.

Lucky enough I have a girlfriend (@sandrastarud) who in many aspects know me better than I know myself. So after a few arduous days at the beginning of my vacation she gave me some profound thoughts and advice, this in turn allowed me to let go of my attempts to be semi-productive and to simply relax in the moment, dropping all internal demands I put on myself and allowing myself to recharge my batteries.

Although this is a highly individual matter I thought it could be interesting to share my approach, resulting in that I can honestly say that I now once again can feel my internal energy and motivation surging. My approach can be summarized in one sentence. I followed the:

The principle of least resistance

You read it, the exact opposite of what I do in my regular schedule.

I went to sleep whenever I wanted to (usually 2-3 A.M), played video games for 5-6 hours a day, ate sugar, trained twice a day (running, climbing, gym), and slept during both days and nights (10-12 hours).

I simply let myself go, dropped everything related to hustle and indulged in whatever I wanted to. A controlled experiment with quite amazing results (read once again; probably highly individual).

Anyways, thought this would be an interesting event to share. Let me know if you have experienced the struggles of taking time off and if you have any tips of your own to regain that energy 🙏🏼

The Subtle Art of not Giving a Fuck

During my running sessions last week I listened to an audiobook, The Subtle Art of not Giving a Fuck authored by Mark Manson. I must say I was pleasantly surprised of the quality of the book so I'd like to share some profound wisdom for you to incorporate in your life.

The key to a good life is not giving a fuck about more; it’s giving a fuck about less, giving a fuck about only what is true and immediate and important.

We live in a society of material abundance. Opportunities and material goods are limitless, resulting in that we don't know what to give a fuck about anymore. Due to the infinite amount of things we can see or know there is also an infinite number of ways to discover that we don't measure up, that we're not good enough, that things aren't as great as they could be (hello social media).

You are going to die someday. Everyone you know is going to die soon. And in your short life you only have a certain amount of fucks to give, what we need to do is to learn what is worth giving a fuck upon, aligning our fucks with our personal values and not to give a fuck about the rest.

I think what most people — especially educated, pampered middle-class white people — consider “life problems” are really just side effects of not having anything more important to worry about.

Finding something important and meaningful in your life is the most productive use of your time and energy. This is a truism due to every life has problems associated with it, thus finding meaning in your life will help you sustain the effort needed to overcome the problems you face.

It’s okay for things to suck some of the time.

Problems never stop. They merely get exchanged or upgraded. Happiness is found in solving problems, not avoiding them. True happiness occurs only when you find the problems you enjoy having and enjoy solving. Happiness is wanting the problems you have and wanting to solve them.

The world of social media is a curse in many ways, but one of the largest negative effects emanating from it is that it's not ok for things to suck, that it's not ok to feel negative emotions or have anxiety.

Manson writes:

Our lives today are filled with information from the extremes of the bell curve of human experience. The best of the best, worst of the worst, and most upsetting of the upsetting. We only see the most exceptional news stories because that’s what drives revenue. This is a real problem when it comes to comparison because you can only be exceptional in one thing thing and you’re going to be below average in nearly everything else. That makes comparison a very dangerous game to play.

The problem is that the pervasiveness of technology and mass marketing is screwing up a lot of people’s expectations for themselves.

We need to choose our own values and metrics in life, playing the comparison game is merely path to extreme unhappiness.

Magic Bullet of the Day

Once again todays post got quite long, thus I will round of with a quote by the philosopher Alan Watts:

To desire a positive experience, is a negative experience. To accept a negative experience, is a positive experience.

Previous posts

Better You #3 : Investing $1000 in Steem. Inside suffering is the seed of change.
Better You #2 : Hacks to improve your sleep and practical tips & thoughts to enhance your life
Better You #1 : A new Steemit project to help us all become the best version of ourselves

Sort:  

I run smack into this wall every Sabbath. What? Stop working? How? Everything looks like cannon fodder for the blog!

True rest is indeed a challenging art form.

🙏🏼 Agree a 100%!

Oh, I did not know about this book, but you gave me an idea for my next reading... :-)
Interesting thoughts!

Glad to hear it inspired you 🙏🏼

Extremely relatable, my friend @williamwest! Even today, I am still learning how to let go of work when I'm with my loved ones without being too angst about it... One thing that I've learnt is that by understanding and accepting our priorities (eg, there are times where family comes first before work), it is 'easier' for us to pay full attention to the people/matters that we really need to.

Lots of people are blinded by their grind for success that in return, they sacrificed precious time and attention with their loved ones.. In the end of the day, if you're going regret this in the future then please adjust accordingly at the present moment so that you will never have any regrets in your future life! :)

Yeah that's a good one, align your priorities and desired course of action will follow.

Agree a 100%, good thoughts my friend 🙏🏼

Sounds like the perfect way to decompress! It's hard to change gears, so kudos to your girlfriend for nudging you into letting go. It's amazing, when you've fully relaxed like that, to realize how uptight and stressed you'd been. Awesome advice, and I'll definitely have to check out that book.

Yeah she have my many thanks 🙏🏼 Glad you found the post helpful, let me know if you pick up the book :)

Sometimes I wonder whether living a minimalist life could be the right route to go. They seem to come the closest to embracing that mantra, the Art of Not Giving a F@ck. Anyway, thanks for the post and the book recommendation

Yeah, living a minimalist life you simply don't have that many material things to give a fuck about. Glad the post could be of inspiration 🙏🏼

You definetly intrigued me with those book citations, combined with what you think. I'm glad you could unwind. During the year I struggle to let myself rest while I'm being stressed out with projects for university, that I know have deadlines and that I have to preassure myself to get more creative than everybody, or I won't succeed in anything.

It's a real challenge indeed, and the paradox is that when we let go we actually achieve more and enable our creativity to flow truly 🤟🏼

Relaxing when you relax is difficult! I find it really hard to switch off too and trying to live in the present moment usually requires me to disconnect myself completely from the world, normally taking walk does the trick.

Great book review. I did a write up myself the other day about Mark Mansons book but didn't seem to encapsulate it as well as you have in your points. It's not a mystery that we are bombarded by distractions, I bet my 10 year old cousin can tell me that. Being mindful of this and making a conscious effort to rid distractions is what makes the difference.
I found the reason I enjoyed that book so much was because of the way he wrote it, it really felt as though he was talking to you like he would a friend. Made it so much easier to read.

Have a good day buddy. Hopefully you can switch off in your relaxation time today!

Great comment, I agree that taking walks is one of the best way to relax and reside in the present moment 🙏🏼

Indeed, it's written in a very suitable manner, perfect medium for the message.

Did manage to relax quite a lot yesterday so happy for that, wish you the best of luck with that practice as well ;)

Glad to hear it pal! Unfortunately life is throwing some major curve balls in the road as of late so relaxation is pretty much off the table.

Just got to power on through!

The quote by Alan Watts is a "Magic Bullet," indeed! I have always admired his philosophy, and the selected quote ties into your post beautifully! Bravo, and good luck finding that formula for relaxing and recharging! 😊

#steemitbloggers

Yeah he's one of a kind 🙏🏼

I really like how you take notes and analyse what you're reading/listening to. I try to do the same thing, but need to simply read more than I do...

Cheers for the inspiration and I'll see you around.

Happy to read you enjoyed the format, and that it served as inspiration for you 🙌🏼

Thank you @williamwest for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 4.30% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65