Rant: Why I'm not BRIX BOSTON on Steemit

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I was reading this post from @edje about verifying who you are on Steemit so people know your music is yours.

Before I get into my rant, let me establish my own identity:
Here is my Introduction Post
Here is my Verification Post

Now I'm going to get a bit DEEPER here:
20180321_043056.jpg
Here is my actual ASCAP card.

20180321_043241.jpg
Here are some random Magazines sent to me.

I decided to join Steemit (in I think February, 2017) as a PERSON, not as my music PERSONA.

My day in the sun is over— for the most part. In a way, I've missed the boat.

You see, I entered the Music Industry before the internet was invented, at the tender age of 11. There were no smart phones in those days. Making a song cost thousands of dollars. Making a music video was beyond the financial reach of the average youthful budding artist. Those were the days you needed a record deal. And I got one. In fact, I've had several. And I got my first introduction to industry politics as well. I was, essentially, a tax write off. I got shelved.

When Myspace launched I was one of the first people with an account (same with Facebook) because I was lucky enough to have an AOL broadband account. I was part of the Boston Computer Society (community service... smh) and so I was got on the PRE-TilaTequila wave of Myspace. I did super well. And I was able to make a living as an indie musician for quite a long time.

But things changed and continue to change. The game changed. The internet changed. Most notably, I've changed. I had kids. I've gotten older. I have a 401K plan now. My interests have expanded. Music didn't grow with me though.

I think it's pretty AMAZING that young people can now get on their smartphone, make a song with a $32 mic from Amazon, make a video on their iPhone, and gain a million followers on Snapchat for it. That is instant fame by my era's definition. There's literally 14 year old kids who make a hit (subjective) and end up on the tonight show, because their video went viral. Being a musician in my day was the grind. While I don't believe it's a competition between the old school and the new school, we just didn't have the advantages artists have today.

This is not to compare, but myself and a lot of other Gen X indie musicians aren't as relevant and can't become as relevant as the kids doing it. Many of us don't even WANT to be relevant anymore. We don't want to be COOL by today's standards (e.g. eating Tide Pods, dressing like lunatics, acting 12 at 30, etc.)

I consider myself RETIRED, and I do other things. Still, I have come to know many musicians who have gotten their chance in the spotlight. And that makes me feel good. To have been associated with WU Familia, get to know folks who some would consider idols, and become friends with them as peers was amazing. I have no regrets.

I started rebuilding a studio this year because I was thinking I'd take my experience and connections and help new artists bridge new technology with the old music industry; at least hip hop (you know, the Puffys and Fiddys.) It may be a good chance to explore my music again, and my art, and again give it a shot- but just in a different way.

I'm really hoping to figure it all out and how to use the technology for real in a practical way for regular users. I hope to find a way artists can make a living as artists without "The System." And I know there are artists (like 50 Cent) who are already on the crypto-train, but just have lived in celebrity mode that swimming with the minnows is a bit intimidating. I believe that can change.

Anyhow, to digress, I may start a few extra pages later as I now see that it helps to really have a blog be niche specific here. In the meantime, this blog is just ME- the person, the Bostonian, the woman, the mother. However, I am also an artist, a musician, a coffee addict, a weirdo, a dreamer, a doer, an entrepreneur. I think the blockchain is big enough for all of me.

/end rant/

Sort:  

an artist, a musician, a coffee addict, a weirdo, a dreamer, a doer, an entrepreneur

snap! :P

@atomcollector Yeah, a jack of all trades, master of one (but it took me 30+ years) haha... Hey I checked out your checklist and also messaged you on discord about some coin I found that might be worth adding to your checklist. Thanks for visiting. I joined your discord too although I'm a fish out of water in there. :)

Just ask on Discord if you have any questions. Do you mean UBU? I looked into it and they want a passport number. Not sure I'm too happy about that but I guess they are trying to make sure people don't try and game the system.

What are your thoughts?


Add dsound & Musicoin tracks and get more plays!


Follow @JuxtaMusic for More Of My Music

Not UBU it was called KRYPTONIA. It has a web interface and you post tasks people can do for coin. It's like you can reward people for tweeting, facebook, etc. I thought it might be a useful addition because people can use the coin to get tweets about their music and stuff. And you can earn it doing the same thing. I just signed up so I'm having a look into it. My reflink is https://kryptonia.io/?ref=EJ27GDAN5M
or just remove the trailing to go to the domain directly. I don't know if it will be around for long but it looks like a cool way to get social media support for music posts and stuff. Like paying a street team in coin.

@atomcollector

Happy to use your referral link when it becomes more popular. At the moment you can only seem to trade the coin on an exchange I have never heard of.

If they start appearing on major exchanges then I think it could be a good thing.

Let me know how you get on with it and if you are successful I will share it with the community.

Thank you.

you're making steemit a great community with your content @omitaylor! keep it up!

@randallwhale Thank you SO much. I'm trying, seriously. I will probably start posting music when I hit 250 followers or so; or maybe 100 human followers- some are bots. :) Working on it. Maybe I'll be a dolphin one day.

So you have some talents too

Just a few, maybe. We'll see. And what are yours @cpnjacksparrow

I play guitar and sing a bit. I used to be a pretty good artist, but I really haven't done much art since school other than drawing. I'm a little rusty. I mostly lift and garden now. So what about you? You said you don't do much music anymore, but if you have skills you should pursue that. And, you have skills so you should!

What else do you like to do for fun?

You may be interested to check out the project that @hendrix22 has put together.

They have a nice setup on discord (chat app) with lyrics, riffs and other content contribution areas. It's like a long distance jam. 😎

They plan to put out an album of sorts. The first track was coming along nicely on my last visit.

Like you, music was in my past. However an old tune of mine was recordered on my phone and my daughter's borrowed guitar to offer as a possible contribution. It will be cool if it makes the cut.

Anyway, nice to have you on the steem blockchain and following you with intetest.

Thanks for replying @Novacadian - Do you know the discord of @hendrix22 project? I'll go check the link. I feel you totally about recording old tunes. Hey, sometimes they come out better doing them later than sooner. :) Cool that you play guitar. I have one but I'm so rusty that my fingers can't even hold a chord without stinging my fingertips. All the toughness has left my fingers. And my ears aren't what they once were. Le Sigh*** Still, nothing like dusting off the ol'Strat. Keeps you young ;)

Still, nothing like dusting off the ol'Strat

You will probably find in the fine print of your sales reciept that keeping the Strat dusted off is a legal obligation. 😎

Left a request that an invite to the channel be sent to you. It appears either that that can't be done without a mouse (on my phone) or permission is required. Let me know if you don't get an invite in the next 24 hours.

The first track is finished and it sounded great.

That's hilarious. Yeah it probably is part of the purchase agreement. I didn't see a request and I've been having a problem with discord lately. Will try again.

Heading home to my desktop so will check into sending an invite myself. There seemed no option on the phone (or it was hiding).

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @omitaylor

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations, your post received 12.50% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @omitaylor! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Glad I found your post! I agree it is much easier to produce a song now, and all the tears and frustration that we had to do years ago has paved the way for them. I guess we have to be happy about that! :D I try my best to be nice about it. I consider myself retired as well. Now I cheer them on while dazzled by their talents. Hope you find your place here on Steemit. Glad to see you in the Steemit Music Alliance.

Hey @simgirl That's a great image there! I totally agree. Who knows, I may become reinspired. In the meantime, lots of great indie music on steemit. It's like a cookie jar. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61238.65
ETH 2634.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46