One more step to 50!!! A Steemit Diary: reflections and progress

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit Diary,

Today I posted about the wacky weather in Beijing. I had been drafting this post since the last snowfall but I was so busy with work I just didn’t have the time to finish it. Then the sandstorm from western China hit Beijing and once again I draft about sandstorm hitting Beijing. I wanted to give the title: “How to beat the sandstorm” but realized I didn’t have enough content to produce a quality post. I think my perfectionist syndrome kicks in such kinds of situations.

Sometimes I asked myself, why don’t I just write anything and post it in Steemit? Nope. I can’t do that. I took pride in my blog and I don’t settle for mediocre effort and quality. Am I asking too much from myself? I often upon ponder this question. Because I rather post something which is of good quality (in my opinion) and get critiqued for improvement, than post some crappy gibberish post that waste my time and energy.

Spreading Steemit around

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔◥ ◤▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

Recently I posted a bit of what I do on Steemit in my Wechat moments, along with payouts of before and after promotion. I never done this before; usually I only showed that I’m working on an article in word doc. But this time, the steemit picture I showed, garner a certain attention. Partially it was because I wrote that I’m hiring co-writers. And people who texted me to inquire about this, are the ones I knew that are desperate to find ways of making money.

The best part of hiring co-writers is I get to choose, and I have to admit that this time I have to be selective. I prefer someone that has good grammar, and can write something that shares the similar theme with @asianetwork.

The highlight?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔◥ ◤▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

Update for @spiritualmax, I remembered you told me that I should tell my Marketing prof about steemit especially when their researched papers don't get paid. Well, I did send him an email months ago during the winter holidays. He only replied "OK" . And recently, he responded to my Wechat moment. It looks like he looked into steemit and I’m anticipating his first post. It might be about football though, like what he always post in wechat moments, or he might be a bit more professional, talk about this research and all. Complaining about China. Who knows? LOL

WeChat Image_20180406225607_副本.png

The asianetwork blog at the moment, needed to be organized. I don’t plan to post about only food every day as there are lots of other things to write. Plus, eating out in Beijing is not cheap, I needed to earn at least 10 dollars a post to be able to cover the bill. I am working very hard at the moment, juggling with work and life in general. Steemit would be part of my life because I find myself expressing myself better in words.

Well, It’s getting late in Beijing now. 11:20P.M. at the moment. Good night Steemians, thanks for reading this post.


▔▔▔▔▔▔▔◥ ◤▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
So what do you think about the post about? My intention to keep it like a diary so new ones can learn a thing or two from it, and my followers can know a bit of my updates. I'm not the best steemian but I do make an effort to post regularly. leave the comments and let me know. FYI, comments are all read by me personally.
Cheers,
Reena.K

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔◥ ◤▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Check out my previous posts
Food in Beijing Series:What I did on Easter + Drooling Pics
One more step to 50!! brief newbie guide at the end of the post

banner!!.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Why not think the other way use Steemit as practice to improve in writing a quality post. Isn't that much better?

first of all, thanks for leaving yr comment. yes.. I agree. it would be better if i use steemit in the other way. I think I asked too much from myself because I'm was a major in English, and as someone who loves writing, i do set a certain standard. So sometimes I read books to improve, I have a dictionary app that gives me certain vocabularies. I want to make sure, even if the post is like a practice, it should be at its best. and even after I post it up, if I read it again and found some grammar mistakes, I will correct them. My goal is to improve in every post, and your encouragement and support here is appreciated.

thank you!! ^^

Well, here is what I do:
I write 5 times a week except for public holiday. After I finish my writing, I will check it through Grammarly.com. From there, I able to correct my grammar mistake and learn from it. Secondly, I use Thesaurus.com to check for synonyms and learn new words too. Hope this helps. Have a great weekend. Enjoy!

thank you! Grammarly paid version works best. I've been using grammarly for quite a while. I will use thesaurus like what you recommend 😀

hope u have a pleasant weekend too! too bad.. it is a working day for me in China. Sunday replacing Friday tmr.

Nevertheless I appreciate someone giving their advice. hope you have a great Sunday tmr :)

You are doing a good job as the editor from what I see from your posts.
I respect people that took pride of what they do too.
I'm new to the steemitbloggers family but I will be following your post from time to time, jia you!

thank you, I truly appreciate your encouragement. The team is still a testing ground for now, I figure it would be good for them to test the potentials of steemit, it is one way to get them to join the big community here. For now they choose not to have steemit accounts, but they will contribute in some of the writings.

That is actually a very good idea. Giving them chance to see what Steemit is really like, let them decide. Good luck!

I love what you do.

I love your drive and passion to deliver quality. Your hiring of co-writers shows how far you are willing to establish your revolution.
I am following every step of the way.

You are my steemmodel😊

Thank you for the encouragement. I truly have no choice but to get co-writers because i have other commitments as well. One thing i love about steemit is it is quite similar to my job, but i can't post the same thing i write for my clients here or it would be really different. Thanks again for coming by for the encouragement, u will climb up too. i took a long time to get here, and once i get to level 50, it will definitely feel like i'm halfway to 100.

Cheers,
Reena.K

Good luck, it just takes time. Determination is the key!

thank you, I'm still learning how to make better post and exploring my ways in steemit. it seems learning to write never stops at a certain level but it keeps going

thank you. i wont be able to give you an upvote anytime now because my VP is very low.. but i will support your post very soon with a higher VP.Keep Steeming! i want to hit level 50 first. =D

Nah, it's okay. Just keep up the pave :D

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.63% upvote!
I was summoned by @asianetwork. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by asianetwork from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60934.92
ETH 3379.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48