Beijing's Wacky Weather: April Snow!!!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer:
This post is intended to kindly remind the audience regarding precautions before stepping in the northern parts of the Middle Kingdom 中国a.k.a China. This post is helpful for travellers who wanted to visit Beijing during the Spring Season.
Please take this post in a light-hearted way.
Cheers!
A personalised post by Reena.K

When is the best time to come to Beijing?

If you ask me this question now, I might give a suggestion that would be the most interesting April Fools gift of your life time.

“End of March and early April”


What kind of clothes should I bring then?

“ A winter coat, and maybe some summer clothes”


WHAT???


Beijing gives you surprises

One day it will be hot and sunny, you see the flowers blossoming to welcome the spring;
and when you thought the weather is getting warmer and you're about to keep that winter coat of yours, the next thing you know, it is snowing in March.
The next day, the sun is up, shining like nothing happened yesterday.
A few days later, Beijing gets very windy, and overnight, the sandstorm from the north hits... you wear a mask for a couple of days, and remove it when the AQI (Air Quality Index) tells you it's safe.
And as you celebrate that the warmth is coming, and you're in sandals and short skirts; the pre-summer snow hits. Talk about wacky weather, you got the best of everything here in Beijing.
#onlyinBeijing


Have you ever watched the Mummy movie? It is real in Beijing

The last time we had a catastrophic sand storm was actually 4 years ago. It was my first month in Beijing, and I actually see how the sky suddenly turns brown in an instant, and a huge wave of sand coming and people are just running away from it. #truestory.

mmexport1522241117350.jpg
a view from the birds nest stadium

WeChat Image_20180406110452.jpg
taken from my phone on my way to work


Snow in April!!!

mmexport1522763790362.jpg

Imagine how we feel seeing this weather forecast... Oh gosh...


It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas LOL

WeChat Image_20180406115803.png

WeChat Image_20180406115751.png


Anyway, here is what really happen 2 days ago...

snow.gif

737182766859290451.jpg


So what do you think about my post? be sure to leave your comments and I will read each and everyone of them. All of the comments will be read by me, personally. Cheers~~

banner!!.gif


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Yeah. Beijing, man...
In late March we had snow. I can't recall which week but it was a Saturday because I was walking through it on my way to tutoring.
Four days later it was so hot I was sweating even without a jacket.
Then by early April it was snowing again.
If there was a sandstorm in there, that must have been during the two days I was in Shanghai because I didn't see it, but after living in "Gray-jing" for the past four and a half years, I'll buy it.

hahahahahaha... I'm laughing so much..oh my gosh.. Gray-jing. Oh come on.. at least we get to see more blue skies for the past year. I'm hoping so see more of them soon. It's so windy these days.

It's good to hear from you! been wondering if there are lots of beijing steemians around.

这是好预兆,瑞雪啊~

Northern Europe has also had weird weather, with late snow storms. The sandstorms are unique to Beijing though. I've been through them in Australia. Very strange.

the ones in beijing are from the dessert in western China (are somewhere from the inner mongolia dessert), they don't just hit beijing though, other northern parts of China like tianjin were hit too. I think mostly it has to do with the wind. Thankfully, Beijing doesn't experience seasonal typhoon and earthquake like the southern China

Beijing looks like its as changeable as the weather in the UK, but we don't get sandstorms. Being situated right on the gulf stream, we too experience lovely warm days and then it can snow. It only happened here last week!

it wasn't like this last time. its our first time experiencing this.. it usually snows only a couple of days in the winter but our recent winter was just cold n dry. lol.

the funny part is,the next day the sun is up, and the weather is so warm like nothing happened yesterday

Just looking at your 'sandstorm' made me think. We do get these from time to time blown up from the Sahara desert in Africa. They are not as blatant as yours (the stadium picture), and not so frequent.

i see, quite interesting to know that. I have to say when the sand storm hits the northern parts of China it wasn't the best, although it has reduced a lot since they started planting trees at western china. i had to go out with a mask a at least 3 days. Its bad enough Beijing is infamous for pollution. The AQI reading that 3 days was classified as hazardous. But thankfully, the air is good now. Just a bit cold. Spring and autumn in Beijing are really short and i'm pretty sure it will be warm soon.

It's very nice of you to drop by my post, thank you

And I thought our weather is unbearable with rain half of the season and scorching heat the next. So I am miserable in both weather save for a week of no rain and not that hot during December.

But sandstorms and snow lol. haha I don't know how I will survive!

I will be honest with you, Beijing is a dry land. It only rains for maybe few weeks in a year. What happened this year was very unexpected because it did not snow during winter. I was actually very excited and happy because it look so beautiful and all white. Well, at least looking at the snow fall makes us feel happy for awhile. LOL.

Well its does look beautiful when everything is covered with a light sheen of snow and all white. Until someone makes snowballs and start throwing at people haha

Never knew Beijing will give you surprises as such? I thought the weather there is predictable. Anyway the sandstorm looks scary to me. Hope you were alright that time.

Now I will think twice before make a visit to Beijing. 😛

just don't come between end of march and early april, unless you want to experience snow and summer in the same week. LOL

It's predictable, at the last minute! LOL. It's a habit of all expats to check the weather forecast everyday before heading out.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=asianetwork
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=beijing-s-wacky-weather-april-snow


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

China is still lucky to have both summer and winter!

I'll have to keep that in mind. I need to bring both warm and cold clothes just to make sure! Thanks for sharing!

I love the snow-capped cherry blossoms. Reminds me of a similar thing that happened when I was at school in St. Louis. We had a crazy snow in April and all of the newly-bloomed tulips had 2 inches of snow on top of each of their heads. Made for some great photography!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39