Daily Bird Photos - No. 8 ~ A Canada Goose In Flight ~

in #birds6 years ago

I came across a Canada Goose (Branta canadensis) perched on a tall tree stump in the park. I took several shots and then the bird decided to fly away - perhaps annoyed by the sound of my camera. (The Nikon D750 shutter is way too loud!)

q7y71l75xj.jpg

I turned and followed as the bird flew away. I love shooting birds in flight and I managed to get several shots in a row from very close range.

u3mg7693pj.jpg

I should mention that most of my bird photgraphy is shot in manual mode, which I find far easier than anything else. I'll explain what I do.

empmbz74m3.jpg

First I set my shutter speed to something like 1/1600th second - or higher for some birds like ducks and hummingbirds. I know I want at least 1/1600 because it helps to freeze the action, and it also helps prevent any camera shake.

kbzuoxwtym.jpg

Next I set my aperture wide open. I always want more light. The Tamron 150-600 is not a very bright lens, and wide open is around f/6.3 at the long end of the zoom range. I just go wide open and forget about it.

j4eyi3onyo.jpg

Finally I use auto ISO with the maximum set to 1600. I can adjust the brightness a fair amount in post processing if needed.

0yuku9f0zq.jpg

These photos were captured in Beacon Hill Park in Victoria, BC on April 6th, 2018. Click on the photos to view full-screen. Thank you!



Don't miss the previous editions of my bird photos!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Whatever you do, you always get such great results. Wonderful captures, Keith:)

Thanks very much - I'm not sure that always true, but it's very nice of you to say :)

What a wonderful photo series! Well done Keith, this is a theme I'm never going to be good at, but I have a great admiration for those who are. I love it!

Glad you like the photos, Erika! Thank you very much.

The please is all mine!

Congratulations @keithboone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks so much, @c-squared, I truly appreciate your support!

I can imagine that with such a shutter speed you need to have the lens wide open and ISO quite high but was it a bright or a cloudy day?

Your photos are great! The action is captured perfectly!

I think it was bright, maybe a few clouds, but I'm in the shade beneath the tall trees. I would like to brighten these shots and see the bird better but then the sky gets too bright. Thanks very much!