Daily Bird Photos - No. 6 ~ Too Many Herons? ~

in #birds6 years ago (edited)

I have more photos of Great Blue Herons than any other bird. That's because there is a large heron colony in a nearby park and it's possible to take a lot of shots in a single day. Sometimes I just shoot till my arms give out. That big lens gets heavy! All the photos in this post were captured on March 8th, 2017 with my Nikon D750 camera and Tamron 150-600mm lens.

Great Blue Heron (Ardea herodias) in a Willow tree.
vvsv7owzbt.jpg

Below: Mating season had begun and the birds are pairing up - this activity was at the top of a Redwood tree.

njriz2y5qu.jpg

I love to capture these birds in flight. What follows is a short sequence of four shots as a Heron flew past me a fairly close range. Click on any image to view full-screen.

x2codfg1m4.jpg

Nikon D750, 1/2000s f/6.3 ISO220 600mm
2bkm67hqoy.jpg

q1cc1n6g0z.jpg

d84lflc6c0.jpg

There is also a Bald Eagle nest in the park. Now and then you can see them doing reconnaissance flights to keep track of where the heron nests are being built.

lw0b78chyy.jpg

...and the seagulls and crows team up to keep tabs on the eagles and constantly try to chase them away. It's all part of the cycle of life!

twg0q47drt.jpg

8hb1w4ntrz.jpg


Thanks for taking a look at my photos. I'll post more herons again another time. (Gotta use them up somehow!)

The bonus gif file:

mpz86s2qzo.gif



Don't miss the previous editions of my bird photos!

Sort:  

Very good your post.

This post has been upvoted for free by @microbot with 0.1%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

Absolutely beautiful shots, Keith. U&R.

Thanks very much my friend! Hope you're having a great weekend!

Thanks Keith, You too. 😊 🤗

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Too many herons? Never. I think everyone loves long-necked birds - they are just exotic looking:) Cool gif, btw.

Thank you! I guess maybe 70 % of my bird shots are herons. That's a lot of herons! :) Glad you like the gif btw. I never know whether to keep making those things..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99