Daily Bird Photos - No. 5 ~ On The Fence ~

in #birds6 years ago

I can't decide about this, please let me know what you think.

When I take bird photos, part of me wants to reject scenes with man-made objects like a fence or a bird feeder.

Yellow-rumped Warbler(?) perched on my fence.
1/1600s f/6.3 ISO1600 600mm
u21riclh3r.jpg

I'm not sure if anyone else cares about stuff like this... Does the fence detract from the shot because it isn't natural?

Take the next two photos for example. Is the second shot better than the first because it has a tree branch for a perch instead of the metal bird feeder?

Steller's Jay perched on a bird feeder in my backyard.
1/1000s f/6.3 ISO1250 600mm
4a9rhwhdj1.jpg

Steller's Jay on a moss-covered branch - also in my backyard.
1/1000s f/6.3 ISO1600 600mm
o8kses49qd.jpg

I placed the large branch in my yard to create a more natural looking setting. I was thrilled when the Steller's Jay came in for a visit!

All photos were taken by me using a Nikon D750 and Tamron 150-600mm lens. Please click to view full-screen.


The bonus .gif file:

Can you help identify this bird? I called it a Yellow-rumped Warbler but I'm not sure... I captured more than one shot, so I thought a little gif might be nice.

b6qhb752h8.gif

If you know the name of this bird, please drop me a line in the comments below.


Don't miss the previous editions of my bird photos!

Sort:  

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of October 21 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

wow! pretty nice all of them, and the gif is super! :) have a great weekend!

Thank you! Wishing you a happy weekend as well :)

Thanks! 😊👍 I'll try my best! Hehehh✨

Can't help you with the name of the bird, and I don't think there's one answer regarding man-made objects. That fence doesn't detract, but I can imagine times when man-made objects would. Cheers!

Thanks very much!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

All of the shots are super awesome and I love the gif!! I, actually, love the contrast of the fence and the little bird feet on it. I love the Stellar's Jay on the branch more but they are both awesome! ❤

Thanks very much, I appreciate your comment. Glad you liked this!

You're welcome!!

The bird is a yellow-rumped warbler. They are incredibly common across much of North America, especially in spring and fall migration. You likely know that there are two races, Myrtle's with the white throat, and Audubon's with the yellow throat. Myrtle's mostly eastern and Audubon's dominate in western U.S. In fall they can be really drab and I.D. tougher. They all have the "yellow rump", and eye ring, most have a yellowish flank area and some degree of streaking on the flanks.
Re the man-made features, I say get the best and most interesting shots that you can get, and screw rules about details.
Good birding. Steem on!

Thanks so much! It's good to have an expert around that knows so much! As I've said before, I don't know a lot about birds, but I try to learn something as I discover and photograph new species. I'm glad to see that I actually got the I.D. right on this one. I was looking through books and websites for a while trying to find the answer :)

My pleasure. I'm enjoying trying to build community on the Steemit platform.

Try the free Cornell app "Merlin" It is remarkably good.

I will take a look at that, thanks very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44