Daily Bird Photos - No. 1. ~ Bald Eagle ~

in #birding6 years ago (edited)

I take so many bird photos you wouldn't believe it. After deleting 99%, I still have hundreds of them... but I don't post them all that often. I think that should change. Birds are awesome!

Starting today, how about I get some birds shots posted every day? I'm not an expert - but I know what I like!

I'll give you the common and scientific names, some details about where I was, and the camera exif data. Here's the first.

The Bald Eagle (Haliaeetus leucocephalus)

Also known as the American Bald Eagle. I got news for you... 25% of them live here in British Columbia, Canada.

m2uq0o8o5m.jpg

I was walking on the Wiffin Spit in Sooke, BC when I spotted a Bald Eagle perched on a pile of driftwood. I tried to get closer, but it took off flying.

lles6p6iqs.jpg

I got my camera on it and fired off a burst of shots...

c0dluskxit.jpg

h7nt889nud.jpg

12eki7x99s.jpg

It turned towards me. I couldn't believe my luck! I managed to capture something like 14 shots in a row. I'll skip to the closer ones now so you can really see something. By this point the Eagle was almost directly overhead!

dxddpb6nzd.jpg

Above: Blinking... Click to view closer

91orxmeuoj.jpg

okdzqr4ki8.jpg

This was the final shot in the sequence after which my camera started buffering. These shots were cropped and aligned. All photos taken by me.

Nikon D750, 1/1250s f/10.0 ISO640 300mm




Now and then I may include a little gif file made up from a sequence of shots.

73-ANIMATION (1).gif

A Bald Eagle returns empty-handed from hunting and lands in a treetop close to the nest. It cries out to its mate in the nest which is just above and seems to be saying "I got nothing, it's your turn..."

I hope you enjoyed The Daily Bird No. 1. Future editions are likely to be shorter! :)

Sort:  

Yes, you definitely should post. Some of the shots are awesome.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, I'm going to post more tonight :)

Wooow, Amazing, good shot, I like this :)

Wooow, Amazing, good shot, I like this :)

Thanks very much!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I remember there were a couple of people on Steemit shooting eagles, you, Daniel and his wife.
Excellent shots Keith!

Yes, I remember... thank you Erika! :)

My pleasure :)

Awesome! Such a beautiful bird!

Thanks very much!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @keithboone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98