Daily Bird Photos - No. 10 ~ Shorebirds ~

in #birds6 years ago (edited)

Today I have some photos of a bird called Greater Yellowlegs (Tringa melanoleuca). Some people simply call these Shorebirds. This is said to be a migratory bird, but it seems to me that I see them year-round.

(Note: Cathy says I'm crazy. She says they run stories in the newspaper when these birds are sighted in town! Sigh... what do I know? I don't read the paper, that what I have the internet for!)

guqxvdte1b.jpg

It's a little difficult to get close to these birds, and we really shouldn't bother them. I'm always zoomed in as close as possible with my long lens, and then I crop the shots a bunch so you can see the bird. I'm not nearly as close as it seems in the photos.

whdufssaoz.jpg

They forage in the shallow water and eat small fish, insects, snails and clams. They move around very quickly and always seem nervous to me. There is another bird called Lesser Yellowlegs which looks similar but has a shorter beak.

4o3q2b3zyf.jpg

These photos were taken along the shoreline in Victoria, BC. It looks like the bird below has had enough of the guy with the camera - if you look closely you can see it's tongue. I believe I was getting scolded at this point!

yqkj65de4k.jpg

The bird flies away in search of fish, and a little privacy!

48q9zibghp.jpg

Thanks for taking a look! Please click to view full-screen.



The Bonus Gif

Once upon a time, I was bird watching when I ran into a lovely lighthouse... I kind of think lighthouses attract birds, don't you?

2xzip8haip.gif



Don't miss the previous editions of my bird photos!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I love these shots, a really wonderful bird. As a nature lover and traveler, this just made my day.

Thank you for the lovely comment! :)

What a cute little bird! Especially those yellow legs :)

They are cute little guys :)

Wonderful photos of a very interesting and beautiful bird @keithboone. (U & R )

Thanks so much, Trudee, Glad you liked it! Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63897.91
ETH 3131.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87