BECOMING RICH - EP. 12. - Monero VS DashsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #becomingrich7 years ago (edited)

title.png



I have told people that I am pretty busy these days, as I am getting married in June, and there is a lot of planning ahead, and other stuff. But I am still here on Steemit when I have time.

So @gliten asked about a new episode of this series, so I write one now. Also I will give the series it's own tag #becomingrich so that people can follow it easier. I case you missed it, here are all other episodes before this one:


I have been wondering about the recent movements of cryptocurrencies, I haven't really followed them that close, since I've been busy, but also because I am planning on longer term ones. I am now invested in Synereo, Steem and a few others that I am not revealing right now. So I am really not that much excited about a 50% or 100% move, since I am expecting 1000-5000% moves and profits.

However I had some spare cash and I wondered where to put it, so I am seeing about 5-6 opportunities that are very obvious.

  • Bitcoin is Bitcoin, although the price moves up nicely, I am really getting pissed at higher and higher fees, so I try to diversify now. And secondly, other cryptocurrencies are moving far higher % relative to even Bitcoin, so why let your coins rust in Bitcoin when you can make more money.

It's technically a financial osmosis where you have low valuation coins floating up to the top, while Bitcoin is pulling them all up (since BTC is the main gateway for most crypto-investments). But you can make more money if you invest in good altcoins instead of just holding it in BTC.

  • Ethereum - Well I have missed the ETH rally to be honest, it was a mistake, but I am still skeptical about the long term success of ETH given that it can just split in 2, and the whole Turing complete thing makes it like a castle of cards in my view. I also stay away from ETH Classic for this reason. Besides ETH now is just too overvalued, so I will not invest in ETH.

  • Ripple - I just try to stay away from it. Its not even a cryptocurrency, it's almost like a blockchain bank account with KYC and other nonsense. Even if it makes some big ROI, which I don't think it will, I just can't invest in this ideologically, since I want my money to be transparent and free.

  • Litecoin - Litecoin is a copycat of BTC. If I don't want to hold my coins in BTC, then why should I hold it in LTC. LTC rises with BTC, but it always makes less % gains relative to the USD, so you are technically losing money most of the time instead of just holding it in BTC. But some people still have a hope that LTC will be equal to BTC's price. I don't.

btcltc.jpg

  • NEM - NEM is an interesting newcomer. Worth keeping your eyes on this, but since it's a token platform, I'd rather look into it's tokens, instead of the coin itself. Although be careful of scams, and hacks, this could end up like the DAO.

  • Eth Classic I already said that it's no good in my view. And Stellar Lumens is hardly anything interesting.


Monero vs Dash

So I have narrowed down my interest to 2 relatively safe coins. There are coins below this that are promising too, but they have higher risk, and there are scams there too and whatnot. So these are already established coins, that I find relatively low risk to invest. Like some established stock, they will probably not scam you, but it might still go south.

So I had to choose between Monero and Dash. Now both of them have interesting properties that are innovating, and both are relatively low in market cap, and I can see a 1000% profit from 1 of them in the next couple of months maybe 1 year.

But only 1 of them will reach this threshold in the near future while the other's future is more uncertain in my view.

So let's see what pro's and contras they have:

Privacy

In privacy, Monero is the king. Dash has a pretty complicated anonymization system that is not as anonymous because it relies on masternodes for mixing. While Monero has a superior technique, but some have criticized even this to be not as good. Well I guess for basic "hide your spending from your wife" Dash is good for that, so for your average consumer Dash is good. But if you are a persecuted journalist or live in a totalitarian country then you probably need more privacy than that.

However strangely enough, Dash will win this since the illusion of privacy, if it's better marketed, could win over actual privacy. Since most customers are just too dumb to care and want the easy answer.

Community

I haven't really seen that many people use either side. However while Dash already has multimedia presence out there, videos, podcasts, and so on. Monero is not that present socially.

Now this is a huge problem, because a cryptocurrency is a social currency, and without social support and use, it's really worthless. I could just use Bitcoin, why should I use Monero?

The Winner

But forget all the reasons I told above. The ultimate decider is not even this, it's a much simpler thing.

  • Monero doesn't have a lightweight GUI wallet, Dash does

It's this simple. I just tried to install Monero, and they have a console system wallet, that has to download the entire blockchain. I just couldn't do it, and I have a basic amount of technical expertise and with consoles.

So how can you expect novices to use Monero, when the don't even have a simple lightweight GUI client, an electrum-monero if you will or some mobile app? Nothing.

You have basically Mymonero but you can't access that website from a VPN, so what kind of anonymity are we talking about here? Is it just me or Monero is really useless in it's current form.

And I made money with Monero previously, but I highly doubt it's worth more until this simple basic things are addressed.

Therefore Dash is the winner.

Official_Dash_Logo.png


Dash has tons of mobile apps, desktop wallets, online wallets, and a vibrant community, forums, youtube videos, etc.... It's not hard to realize that DASH will probably make a lot more ROI a lot faster than Monero will, because it has a social structure that is growing as we speak. While Monero can't even hit the basics, it's not user friendly, and it's not even that secure, so what is it exactly?

So I have just Shapeshifted some of my coins into DASH about an hour ago, and I am looking forward to making some money. Even if Monero is 36% cheaper than Dash, there is no way Monero will reach 1 billion $ before Dash, in my view. In fact I expect easily 2-3 billion out of Dash in the next 6-8 months. So that's an easy 600% profit maybe 1000% later on, I really think DASH is the next one to hit it big time.


Disclaimer: The information provided on this page might be incorrect. I am not responsible if you lose money using the information on this page! This is not an investment advice, just my opinion and analysis for educational or entertainment purposes.


Sources:
https://pixabay.com
https://bitcoinwisdom.com/markets/btce/ltcbtc
By Dash community (https://www.dashpay.io/promotional-graphics/) CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons


Upvote, ReSteem & bluebutton

Privacy Online button6

Sort:  

Monero does have a GUI....

Ok I didn't know about that, I have checked it a few months ago it didn't existed or I could not find it.

So I should correct myself and say that it doesn't have a lightweight GUI, having a console or GUI wallet which has to download the enture blockchain is the same thing.

What actualy makes it's use easier is some king of GUI lightwallet like Electrum.

For Dash there is dash-electrum. There should be one for Monero too.

Monero doesn't need electrum because the monero protocol provides you with a recovery seed. And, if you don't want to download the entire monero blockchain you can always use a remote node. But I agree, monero needs more wallet development.

It crucially needs that. Well I guess it's not that straightforward to couple to a node. I didn't even know this before you mentioned it. So people won't really read the docs, they just want a simple app. Mobile app too.

I don't really know what the main devs are up to, but I don't know how they expect Monero to grow if they dont even address these simple issues.

The goal is privacy for everyone right? So why don't they make the wallets user friendly to let everyone use it?

The monero core wallet is easy to use with a remote node. So, if you don't want to download the blockchain, you can access a remote node, using this command: ./monero-wallet-cli --daemon-host node.xmrbackb.one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50