You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🍌 A BANANA a day keeps the doctor away 🍌

in #bananamemos6 years ago (edited)

Dear Prof. Geoffrey Bananington, Ph.D.,

Before I get to my point, I would like to let you know that I was born and raised in the Philippines. Some people actually refer to my country as the Banana Republic, and some of my fellow countrymen are deeply offended by this name calling. I don't know why. For me it's a great compliment as we love bananas. There are lots of banana plantations all over the country. The agricultural industry thrive because of the amount of bananas the country produces.

Anyway, my grandmother, who eventually migrated to Australia, used to write us a letter every month or when she'd talk to us over the phone, she would always remind us to eat a "saba banana" every day to keep us healthy and strong, and it has lots of nutrients essential for brain development (according to my dear grandmother - may she rest in peace).

This is a picture of saba banana which originated in the Philippines:
sababanana.jpg
Image Source

And I'm telling you my siblings and I never had to see a doctor growing up. We owe it to the wisdom of our beloved grandmother. We didn't even get the chance to eat an apple on a regular basis, because apples are a bit too expensive in the Philippines.

Yours sincerely,
@evlachsblog


Thank you @emergehealthier for your comment because through you, I have learnt how to properly address Professor Bananington.

Sort:  
My dear Mrs. @evlachsblog. I cordially welcome your expertise and experience to this discussion about the health benefits and doctor-keep-away benefits of BANANAS.

You have added greatly to the empirical data and inherent wisdom brought forth by the other esteemed responders to this post.

It was a surprise to see my second cousin, Enrique, in the picture you included of the saba banana bunch. Ah, the memories it brings back!

Thank you for your contribution to this discussion glorification of mucosa acuminata. 🍌

I enjoyed the part where she spoke about her adventuresome grandmother's sage advice to eat a banana every day.

Thank you, @evlachsblog Dearie.

Oh, Gramnana! I love my grandmother. I always listened to her advice and did my best not to give her grief.

@evlachsblog, you 're welcome. It is important to show respect for all members of the Banana Collective. Otherwise, people will just see them as a bunch just hanging around and miss out on their important messages!

That's right. Anyway, thanks again and take a bunch of care!

Hmmm... I wonder if that sentence "take a bunch of care" has something to do with bananas, originally. :-)



Exactly, @emergehealthier! The Banana Collective is so much more than just a bunch of friends hanging around (though we do enjoy a Friday Happy Hour together along with just about everyone else).

It's sounds as though your Grandmother was very wise and caring. This was indeed good advice to remind you to eat a banana a day, and this particular bunch of bananas looks perfectly ripe and ready to eat. I am not sure I have ever had "Saba Bananas", but I certainly would love to try them!

Saba bananas are great for banana splits and desserts, especially when they are overly ripe, as they tend to become even much sweeter. Even when they're overly ripe, they don't bruise as much on the inside because they have thick banana peel. I actually prefer it when it's really ripe and mushy, too.

There are many things we can do with saba bananas, such as:

  • banana cue (coated with brown sugar and deep fried) YouTube
  • Caramel banana spring rolls YouTube
  • Fried saba
  • Banana with caramel sauce

They're very delicious!!! You should try them. You may find them in Asian or Filipino Groceries/Supermarkets in your city but they are probably not sold as fresh but frozen. It's not the same, but I have no choice but buy them if I am craving for saba bananas.

And yes, my grandmother was very wise, caring and the most loving person I have ever known. Thank you, @futuremind.

Wow, the banana cue sounds out of this world! I must try this!

Futuremind is now on a mission to find Saba Bananas. When I do, I think I might make a blog about my experience. Maybe even a video of me eating them ;)

Thank you as well @evlachsblog, It's a pleasure conversing with you.

Well, if not for @bananamemos, I would not even remember how much I love bananas, especially the saba. I could eat it every day given the availability and the supply of this fruit, not to mention, it was one of my grandmother's best advice. She never failed to mention it in her letters.

Again, it's also an absolute pleasure conversing with you. Thank you and you're most welcome.


Great job on the banana recipe research, @evlachsblog. If you were a banana, I'd hire you as part of the editorial staff.

And @futuremind, be sure to let us know of your saba banana adventures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64149.44
ETH 3145.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53