MUST READ POST!! The Steemit Artist @MagicCleatus is Interviewed for the Steemit Art Centre!

in #artstorm6 years ago (edited)

Steemit Art Centre Interview with magiccleatus.jpg

We are very lucky today!!

The brilliant Steemit Artist, @MagicCleatus, has agreed to be interviewed. I am so happy about this!

Many of you will recognise him from his weekly Zen Colouring Contest. I have been an entrant to this activity where you can relax and have the chance of winning a prize.

So, without further ado, here is the interview:

Dee:

I see you have developed a strong online presence via Steemit including art posts, teaching posts and your famous and fun ‘Zen Colouring Contest’. So, what inspired you to become a Steemian and what benefits has it brought you?

@magiccleatus:

My inspiration to join Steemit came from a combination of close friends encouraging me to share my personal art and from hearing all the great things Steemit had to offer through research and word of mouth.
The biggest benefit of becoming a Steemian has been the social interaction. I am quite a shy character in most social situations so this has been very helpful to further develop my social skills. Beyond that, it has encouraged me to make more art and push myself creatively. It has been so rewarding to receive regular feedback on my posts, forge working relationships with other Steemians and create an art community with my Zen Colouring Contest.
Steemit surpassed my expectations on all levels, I am very proud of the Steemit website and what we are all achieving together.

Dee:

You say on your Steemit profile that you are a ‘self-taught graphic designer’. What is the history of your art career outside of Steemit?

@magiccleatus:

I have been a freelance graphic designer for the past few years and have worked on projects such as logo design, personalised avatars and album art. In my spare time, I create video game assets for both a personal project and a collaboration with a fellow Steemian.

When I was younger I failed GCSE art due to unfortunate circumstances and didn't get a chance to retake the exam. Once I finished school I was rushed into employment, therefore, art had to be put on the back burner for many years. Within the last decade, my creative flair has returned and recent opportunities created time for me to focus more on art. Everything that I have created I have learnt to do myself, from researching the methods to trial and error.
In my early days of school, I used to love those rainy days when the teacher would bring you in off the playground and hand out stencils to colour in. I have enjoyed creating art my whole life.

Dee:

I know you as the creator of the Zen Colouring Contest. What led you to this niche on Steemit?

@magiccteatus

The Zen Colouring Contest was born from the 'Zen Colouring' art series that I first started posting on Steemit (can include some links) and a desire to further my interaction within the Steemit community.
After participating in a few art contests on Steemit, I got the contest itch and wanted to create my own. After some research and planning, I started the process of turning my Zen Colouring art series into the 'Zen Colouring Contest' that we all know today. I wasn't sure of the response I would get but I wanted to put my best effort into it.
My main aim when creating the contest was to spark more creativity and interaction within the Steemit community, this is why I encourage that as one of my contest rules. I had never done anything like this before so it has been quite the learning curve but I am really enjoying it. I wanted to develop something for people to enjoy and be creative with, enabling everyone to interact and make new friends, all while colouring a relaxing Zen pattern.

Dee:

Do you foresee your Steemit input developing in other directions than your contest?

@magiccleatus:

I do. I have plans to bring back my 'Original Artwork' series and I want to introduce more gaming content, as well as getting involved with the #steemitartcentre created by @deemarshall. All while continuing to run and improve the Zen Colouring Contest.

The original artwork series will be pieces of art I create In my spare time, with process images/gif and a little paragraph written about them, like the inspiration behind the piece or a brief tutorial of how I achieved the effects used in my creations.

Broadening my blog into gaming will include things like; my own gameplay footage and reviews of the video games I play, Fan art and perhaps weekly gaming sessions with the community generated from these sorts of posts.

The Steemit Art Centre is a brilliant idea and I want to help it any way I can. I am working on a weekly contest compilation post to include links from all the contests within this community we are creating. This is to help advertise fellow hosts contests, to remind entrants of the deadlines and to encourage art.

The Zen Colouring Contest will still receive the same level of attention and will have some more new and improved graphics soon! I am so pleased with what it has become, with the recent increase in the prize pool created by the community. I am brainstorming ways to share it out amongst more participants without removing from the winners.

Dee:

Over the past year, Steemit has changed remarkably. There have been a couple of hardforks and it has become a viable social media. How do you see Steemit developing in the future?

@magiccleatus

The future of Steemit is looking up in my opinion. The value of STEEM/SBD took a big drop at the beginning of this year but has been creeping back upwards with each day that passes. The impending 'Communities' update will skyrocket the platform even further as a social media hub.

My only concern is that similar of @organduo's, Bots. I think bots have problems and need to be reprogrammed/reassigned to tasks better suited for them, not for curation or promotion. An AI doesn't know what good content is, it just knows who has placed their bid for the service it offers. Bots aside, Steemit Is the best social media platform from my point of view, I prefer it to all the other platforms that I have tried.

Dee:
Could you please choose one/some examples of your art to show us?

@magiccleatus:

Here are some examples of my art:

(avatoons/personalised avatars)

https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-avatoons-dirtylilrat


https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-avatoons-takamara


https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-avatoons-magiccleatus-final-image-with-process-gif

(album art)

https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-album-art-los-garrote

(original artwork)

https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-sunset-silhouette


https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-orginal-artwork-surreal-space


https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-original-artwork-marshmallow-sunrise


https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-original-artwork-digital-eclipse

(original zen colouring series)

https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-strange-flower


https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-zen-colouring-roses


https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-zen-colouring-peculiar-lotus

(personal video game assets)

https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-video-game-assets-mobile-controller


https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-animates-wip-title-screen-lights-test

(video game assets for @fervi)

https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-video-game-assets-occult-logo


https://steemit.com/art/@magiccleatus/magiccleatus-draws-video-game-assets-occult-artwork-progress

(zen colouring contest)

https://steemit.com/zencolouringcontest/@magiccleatus/zen-colouring-contest-11-a-chance-to-win-sbd-by-colouring-a-weekly-pattern

Dee:

Is there anything else you would like in the interview?

I would just like to add how great it has been to have this opportunity to answer these questions. It is a very kind and thoughtful thing you are doing for all of us @deemarshall, thank you. I am absolutely honoured and privileged to be approached for an interview like this!

I can't wait to see more interviews from other artists, creators and Steemians within this community you have made. I wish you all the luck and support in the world!

Many thanks to @MagicCleatus for this inspiring and interesting interview. The artworks take our breath away, don't they?

Would you like to see another interview? Click here for @organduo.

Last but not least, please, please, please spare an upvote for this interview!

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Me ha gustado mucho esta entrevista porque ahora conozco un poco más de @MagicCleatus y puedo conocer mas sobre su persona, su forma de ser y su arte, excelente entrevista, muchas gracias. Saludos a ambos :)

Sorry, I only speak English, French and German.

Hi @deemarshall this is the translation of that lovely comment......

I really liked this interview because now I know a little more about @MagicCleatus and I can know more about him, his way of being and his art, excellent interview, thank you very much. Greetings to both :)

It only takes a second to translate with google translate....

steemit is so multi cultural it’s a must have, I am answering comments in various languages I don’t speak these days.... it’s great. https://translate.google.com/m/translate

Thanks @sallybeth for the help as I was reading the translated interview I forgot that I should write in English, I apologize, I will be attentive to write the comments in English, thanks and regards

Tenía que decirle eso, ya que no podía creer lo grosera que era su respuesta. ¡Sé que eres un partidario increíble de @ magiccleatus y del concurso de arte y que su actitud fue bastante impactante! 😘😘

It's nice of you to go round translating. Well done.

Thank you for your lovely kind words @reciclajeymas!

It was a pleasure being part of this new initiative! If there are any/enough follow up questions created from this, I would be happy to participate in another future interview!

Thanks again @deemarshall for providing this experience!

An interesting interview, good initiative. Hats off to you both! Great to see such a varied collection of your artwork @magiccleatus.

I hope this series continues :D

Thanks for your continued support @gardeningchef!

Thank you for your supportive comment :)

Wow I am so proud of you @deemarshall for your terrific questions and interviewing skills! You could be a great “ talk show” host friend, fantastic job. And I’m so proud of @magiccleatus also. He did a great job at answering those questions so brilliantly, the information about him was so interesting! My jaw dropped, I had know idea how good of an artist this man really is. So much fun to know these fellow artists and friends we have admired so much. I’m looking forward to the day you interview yourself dear Dee! I sure would like to know more about you! I’ll work on a time here soon when I can do an interview. Rick will have to help me. He’s definitely willing to do so. Hope it’s not to boring for you, I’m a self taught artist that barely squeaked through high school. I’ll give hope to the underdogs and grandmas yeah❣️

These are exactly the sort of comments I was on about in my interview, so kind and thoughtful. I never would of thought putting my art out there on a website like this would of ever returned me comments like "My jaw dropped"! Thank you so much @lildebbiecakes and thank you Steemit!

You are so welcome @magiccleatus, may all your dreams come true for you. Thank you so much for sharing yourself and your art with us! My jaws still on the floor by the way ha ha! Keep spreading the love dear friend❣️bless you

Thank you! I am happy you read the interview and go to know a little about Magic :)

I absolutely love this Steemit Art Centre @deemarshall! It’s a perfect package of fun❣️

I love this interview. Especially "In my early days of school, I used to love those rainy days when the teacher would bring you in off the playground and hand out stencils to colour in." Best of creative energy to you!

Glad you enjoyed it. Yes, that bit is very good.

It's one of my favourite school memories, thank you for reading and for your nice comment!

What an awesome interview, I look forward to more like this. Great work and great idea! Upvoted and resteemed

Thanks @sallybeth23! It is a great idea and I cant wait to see more interviews with other artists!

Thank you. All proceeds are going to @magiccleatus so he will be delighted with your vote and resteem :)

I am long time @MagicCleatus fan and am very happy he is getting more exposure for his brilliant art and graphics. Also great to read about his excellent Zen art competition which is growing so rapidly!

Thank you Dee :D

Absolutely! @magiccleatus adds so much value to Steemit. It was my pleasure to interview him :)

Thanks so much for your continued support @icedrum! Your upvotes and resteems have really helped me along the way!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 25 SBD worth and should receive 90 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67519.16
ETH 3532.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68