MagicCleatus Draws: Zen Colouring - Peculiar Lotus

in #art7 years ago (edited)

zencolouringPeculiarLotus.png

Hello Steemians!

Here is the next in my series of Zen Colouring Pictures, Peculiar Lotus. Like always please feel free to download the outline below and colour it in what ever style or format you desire! I would love to see what you create!

zencolouringPeculiarLotusOutline.png

When I coloured mine in I went for a full background too! Here are a few images of my process (in a lower resolution to make uploading easier),

Some block colours to start,
Z4P1.png

Shading and detail in my usual style,
Z4P2.png

A few barely visible highlights,
Z4P3.png

Now to make the background, starting with a sand texture,
Z4P4.png

Then some streaks that I add and then reduced the opacity until it looked right,
Z4P5.png

Z4P6.png

Next the water texture. Once again when I was happy with the texture I reduced the opacity until it looked right,
Z4P7.png

Z4P8.png

Lastly some final touches. A shadow of the flower on the water and some tiny highlight lines on the water ripples, followed by the darkening of the image edges,
Z4P9.png

Z4P10.png

Here is a little GIF of the process images,
Lotus.gif

So there you have it! I hoped you like seeing this short process of my colouring. Please do download the outline and colour it in yourselves!

Have a fantastic start to the weekend!

Sort:  

Superb work magiccleatus!
The lotus flower is a wonderful subject - very beautiful and many wonderful spiritual connotations as well. Would it be possible to make the .gif at the bottom run slower? It would be nice to see more detail and would be more restful - just a thought :D

upvoted and resteemed!

Thanks @icedrum! I paired the lotus flower and the number 23 as the subject for this piece, using 23 brushes on the multi-brush tool from Krita. I have also updated the post with a 4x slower gif, I agree it was too fast for the eyes to take it in! :D

Loving the gifs you are adding to your processes now, so eye-catching and a great way to end your post. The background you made is awesome, I never would've thought you could end up with something so subtle and lifelike with just a few steps. Thanks again for the insight into your creations, upvoted and resteemed!

Thank you! I would love for the steemit team to some day have gifs playing in the thumbnail and then it could be at the top of my post! :D Thanks for the U&R!

Wow this is beautiful and I have to admire the 23 element 😂
Inspiring work yet again @magiccleatus!!!!!
Upvoted and resteemed - you and your art deserve many more views 😉

Thanks @sallybeth23! I greatly appreciate the upvote & resteem! :D

This post received a 91.05% upvote from @randofish1 thanks to @magiccleatus!
For more information, click here!

This post has received a 1.00 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @magiccleatus. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43