Magic [original art] (Entry for Art Explosion 17)

This is my entry for the contest offered by @juliakponsford for Art Explosion 17:

IMG_20171124_00023.jpg

I primarily used watercolor and did a few layers. Then I used some pastel to try and add a bit more vibrancy to the colors. Then I used some while acrylic paint for the starts and also used a white gel pen. Finally, after scanning it into my computer I tweaked a few things in photoshop and softened the edges. I hope you like it!

Below are some process shots:

IMG_20171121_165734635.jpg

IMG_20171121_170405692.jpg

IMG_20171121_172640117.jpg

IMG_20171124_154125236_HDR.jpg

IMG_20171124_155413828.jpg

If you'd like to see more like this, please follow me @allstarrunner!


Please check out some of my other art:

@allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner
Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

This post has received a 4.25 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @allstarrunner.

received 1.6x reward. from @steemfunding,

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by allstarrunner from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Ahh shoot! At first I thought it was purely digital!! Knowing that this was watercolor first makes it all the more impressive! You've been really hitting everything out of the park ever since you returned, I'm sure that one of these days a whale will track you down and send your earnings to the moon! I just wish that my votes cost a lot more to get you what you deserve.

What a trippy piece! Making it into a genie from a bottle sort of thing was a nice touch! I couldn't imagine a genie coming out now without the intergalactic flourish!

thanks man! I really appreciate your support!
I think when I softened the edges with photoshop that is what really gave it that "digital" feel...because it's pretty obvious, I thought about trying to tone it down even more but my photoshop skills aren't great and I didn't feel like taking the time to figure out how to make the soft edges not stand out so much.
Don't worry someday we're both gonna have a lot more $ to upvote with!
I noticed recently that I had been voting like 45 times a day and I was having trouble figuring out why, apparently it was because I was on the curation trail of some account on streemian which was voting a whole ton; now that I have turned that off, I think i'll finally be able to get my vote power back up to 95%+ which should add a few extra cents to each vote :)

Even though we have each other on autovote, are votes are worth almost none. But, our comments to each other's posts are worth more than STEEM could buy. Having conversations in the comments section would help our posts rank up in the Hot section, so that helps in helping other people discover our posts. As we grow, our voting power will grow along with us :D

Oh yeah, the smooth edges really threw me off! I shouldn't have judged based on that. It was a pleasant surprise, and one that I can't get over.

Haha yeah, those voting trails have been crazy. During your time away, the HFs really hampered the voting power regeneration. That's why I removed myself from the trails as well. But, since we're allowed to delegate our VP now, I think that's a more sustainable option.

interesting, I did not know that comments help to rank up in that way (although it makes sense). Yeah a lot has changed, there also weren't all these bidding bots and whatnot!

You came back at a time when there's a huge public outcry about them! Be careful about choosing which bidding bot to use, man.

Be careful in the sense that some people look down on them being used, or be careful in the sense that you will throw money towards them and not get a good return? (or both?!)

A little bit of both, but I'm leaning more on the second. These are hard times, so I don't think people would fault you if you resort to that. I'm not sure if there's a stigma but I don't feel it towards anyone.

Well I'm always open to hearing your thoughts! By the way, looking at your most recent posts it looks like you've got some nice people in your corner, hopefully that becomes a trend!

do you use steemit chat?

I do, but I seldomly go on it. Feel free to just hit me up there when you want, I always reply but not that quickly haha!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @allstarrunner to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 2.04 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @allstarrunner. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 7.69 % upvote from @sneaky-ninja thanks to: @allstarrunner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58757.77
ETH 2554.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52