How to Paint Monstera Leaves | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting

in #art6 years ago

Monstera Leaves Thumbnail.jpg

Hello dear Steemians! Today, I'm going to share how to paint Monstera plant leaves using water colours. As the name suggests monstera means monstrous and the plant is called so because it can grow large all the way up to 30 feet high. It is usually found in tropical forests. It is also cultivated as an indoor plant and people keep it in the their homes and sometimes in public buildings as interior decoration. Though it doesn't flower when it is kept indoors, it still looks great as an interior piece of decoration. I learned how to make this artwork along with the techniques used through Makoccino's tutorial. My artwork is not exactly the same as Mako's, but feel free to check her's out if you like.

Tools and Materials

  • A good quality artblock that can absorb water
  • Buncho water colours
  • A round paint brush
  • 2 containers of water (one to mix paint and one to clean brush)
  • A tissue paper to absorb excess paint / water

Step by Step Tutorial

P_20180901_192716_HDR.jpg

First of all, I drew the basic shapes of the Monstera leaves. It is like the normal leaf shape but it must be large and wide. I would recommend you to look up for the pictures of the Monstera plant leaves. It will give you a basic idea on how they look. Depending on the size and resolution of your paper, it is up to you how many leaves you would like to paint in your artwork.

P_20180901_195654_HDR.jpg

Then, I drew some large slit-like shapes in the leaves. These are the parts of the leaves that we don't need. I also drew some holes on the leaves to make them look more natural.

P_20180901_200524_HDR.jpg

I erased the guidelines of the large slits I drew earlier because I don't like those lines getting in my way while painting. Now they look like normal Monstera leaves.

P_20180901_222659_HDR g (1280x960).jpg

If you have been following my other painting tutorials, you might have seen me mentioning that I like to start my artwork with the lighter colours. So, I did the same thing here by painting the background first because I wanted it to be lighter so that the leaves can stand out. I painted the background in red and yellow. You are free to use any colour you like. I prefer red and yellow because they are at the opposite of green on the colour wheel, especially red. Keep in mind that water colour paint dries lighter. The picture above was snapped right after I painted them while it was still wet.

P_20180902_002542_HDR g (1280x960).jpg

This is after the background has dried. I hope that you can notice that the paint has dried lighter. So, don't mix your paint too light, test it on a scrap paper if you need and you will get a hold on how much water to mix as you keep making more water colour paintings.

P_20180902_014201_HDR g.jpg

I painted the basic colours i.e. light and dark green on the leaves. As it is the first layer, they are flat colours and I waited for it to dry so that I can proceed to the next layer.

P_20180902_163611_HDR g.jpg

It is time to add some dimensions to the leaves. What I did was I painted the dark green with less amount of water this time at the parts where there will be less amount of light hitting. I also mixed some black with the dark green directly on the paper to create darker areas. You can use a palette if you like or afraid that you don't get the colour of the paint right.

P_20180903_002941_HDR g.jpg

I added more dark green wherever I thought was appropriate. I also used it to line the leaves and around the holes. Then, I painted some dilute light green in some parts of the leaves so that it will appear more vibrant unlike the first layer. I also added some extra details as you can see in the picture above. If you are worried that you will make mistakes you can add some guidelines in the beginning and paint over them later.

P_20180903_122725_HDR g.jpg

Lastly, I added some highlights on the leaves using the lifting technique. Just dip a clean brush in some water and run it on the areas where you want your highlights to be, most probably areas where the light hits. This will activate the paint on the paper and you can brush the paint to the darker areas or just use a tissue to absorb the excess paint. That way, your artwork will have more shape and it gives an illusion of a 3 dimensional work. I also did some minor touch ups, for instance, I added some diluted red at the edges of the slits of the leaves to add some depth. The picture above is the completed painting of Monstera leaves. I hope that you enjoyed reading this post and I wish that this tutorial is helpful to you especially if you are a beginner. Thank you for reading and blessings xx

If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

bitmoji-20180403064406.png


Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

Sunset Painting | Step-by-Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


Butterfly Colouring Contest #3


How to Treat Cough at Home | Cough Home Remedy | Traditional Ayurvedic Medicine


Painting Leaves with Depth Adding Technique | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


HOW TO MAKE YOUR OWN WASHI TAPE! | DIY Planner Supplies


Plan With Me | HARRY POTTER RAVENCLAW THEME | DIY Planner


Video: Indian Spicy Chilli FIsh Cooking Recipe


steem artists.png

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sort:  

It's a nice piece and the process shots were a wise addition to the post. It's always a good idea to add process shots when exhibiting art on the platform to establish some credibility that you made it. Congratulations on the curie vote and good job on the use of water colors. (I don't know how to use them so I admire people that do. I just stick to my pen and ink :P)

Yes it absolutely is, it also helps people to understand the process and each stage better. Thank you for your appreciation and encouragement! I wish you happy painting if you try water colours one day, you will get better and great as you keep painting =) It took many messy (but fun) paintings for me to get here too :D

The monstera leaves has a very interesting shape, quite different from most leaves shape, I have never heard of the plant. Your painting is beautiful and clean, those touch ups definitely did add depth to the painting.

I love the detailed steps and process, it is definitely a tutorials beginners will understand. Thanks for taking out time to capture and share each step.

Yes indeed, the montera plant leaves are large and unique compared to other plants. Thank you for your feedback. You are welcome, it is encouraging and makes me happy to know that my tutorial is helpful. I will definitely keep making more of them.

That will be awesome!

I just made a new tutorial on how to paint clematis flowers! Do check it if you like x
Clementis Flowers.jpg

That looks nice, lemme go check it out..

Thank you :)

Wow, that's a pretty awesome tutorial, and a new plant I had to look up to see what it looked like, lol
https://www.racked.com/2018/6/6/17426290/monstera-leaf-trend
Those leaves can get rather huge. You did very well in capturing the texture with that little bit of added shading. It's definitely a great step by step, I almost feel like my untalented hands could give it a try.... lol.
Anyway, great job and congrats on that curie vote those are always nice....

That's a large one lol it covered my entire screen :D I appreciate your feedback and it helps me to understand if I am delivering art in the best way I can. I bet you can, do try it if you like! I have made many mistakes myself but it is all part of the process. Thank you so much for the kind words ☻

I have tried a few times, I would probably need many lessons and everything comes out looking like stick figures. lol
Have a bless day!

Aww I see, perhaps you will get there one day with more practice. You tried! That is what matters. Thank you and you have a blessed day too :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

howdy there yashny! hey I'm not artist by any means but your detailed instructions are so good that I think that even I could paint these now! NOt that it would look very good but at least the technique would work.
Do you teach painting in classes or online classes?

Hello there @janton! Yes, you can! I believe that anyone can paint as long as they are interested and keen to learn :) I am glad that you find it helpful and I wish you happy painting. No, I don't teach painting classes but I love painting and sharing the things that I have learned with others.

howdy there yashny! so good to hear back from you and thank you for your encouragement, you are a great asset to the steemit platform!

No mention! I am glad to be able to play a part in the Steemit community, and thank you for encouraging me ☻

Oo thank you for sharing this tutorial @yashny. I liked how you showed us your drawing and starting off with light colours before moving to darker colours. And thank you also for sharing your reason behind the choices you make because it makes it easier to understand the logic. On the darker colours, do you have any guideline on where to colour darker on the leaves? Do you imagine where the light is coming? I always have a problem of determining where I should colour darker and where to add some "shine".

You are most welcome @marblely! I am glad that you like it. Regarding adding the shadows and highlights, yes I determine where the light is coming from first and from where am I looking at the subject. For instance, in this artwork, my view is from the above and in a natural light setting, the light is from the top. This means that the darkest parts will be the bottom i.e. the edges of the leaves. The highlights/shine will be the parts on the middle of the leaves as that is the first spot where the light hits. One important thing is to keep it consistent, if light is from the left then it is best to keep it that way for the whole painting. You are not alone. I get confused too but I try to make sketches to have a glimpse of the potential outcome of the painting. As we keep practising our craft, we will get there :)

Thank you @yashny!

For instance, in this artwork, my view is from the above and in a natural light setting, the light is from the top. This means that the darkest parts will be the bottom i.e. the edges of the leaves. The highlights/shine will be the parts on the middle of the leaves as that is the first spot where the light hits.

Ah good tip! It makes it easier this way to follow this.

And I like what you said about keeping it consistent throughout the painting. I agree. It is very important, else we will have a rather funny looking piece with shadows and shine all over the place. You have a great week there @yashny! Keep drawing and painting and crafting and share it with us here on Steemit! SteemOn! :)

That is right, and it will rob off the realistic touch from the artwork. I am happy to help you =) Yes, I will keep working on my craft and share what I have learned with Steemians. You have an awesome week too, blessings to you xx

Thanks dear 😘

You're welcome x

Hi yashny,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much x

Congratulations @yashny! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello thank you for this lovely tutorial. I have some watercolor crayons and i just don't know how to start i will give it a go with your tutorial but i guess i need to color first and then water the crayon color?

You are welcome :) Unfortunately I have never tried water colour crayons but I have researched a little bit on them. Like you mentioned, artists seem to colour first then use a clean wet brush to paint over it. It is similar to water colour pencils. I think it will work just as fine and maybe you can keep building the paint with a second layer if you like. To add precise details in small areas, an idea that I have is to colour on a separate paper then use a small wet brush to pick up some paint and apply it on the artwork paper. I hope that it is helpful. Happy painting to you x

Thank you for your answer yes this is definitely helpfull, i reserched a bit as well and as you said even with crayons you can build up the color other different layer. Thank you for the idea to color an other piece of paper to use the paint on the brush is will definitely give it a try:)

You're welcome. Happy painting! x

Congratulation both for your artwork and for the tutorial. Step-by-step tutorials are very helpful to many of us, although I don't think I'd ever succeed with watercolor. I guess I don't have enough patience to learn.
Anyway, I like your leaves, it looks easy to do this, although I know from experience that it's not. I might give it another try, let's see what can I do following your instructions.
You're saying:

A good quality artblock that can absorb water

Can you give an example? I'm using Canson 300g/m2 watercolour paper.

Thank you so much! I believe you can, I used to think that I can never create something of quality out of water colours, however, I was wrong. You might surprise yourself once you try it :) Canson's water colour paper is of good quality. The way I choose the paper for water colour artwork is based on its texture and how sturdy it is. I like the texture of the paper to be semi rough and sturdy as it allows us to control the paint better and we can use techniques like scrubbing and wet-on-wet painting without damaging the paper. I hope that it helps, happy painting =)

It's very good to read your lines, makes me believe I still can :) maybe i'll give it a rest and try it later. Right now I'd like to draw, love pencil and looks like it's more easier for me. Thanks for the kind words and support, have a nice day :)

I am happy that you do and yes, perhaps later on when you like. What matters is you do what you love or keen on. You're welcome and take care x

Thank you, you too and have a nice weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23