Sunset Painting | Step-by-Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting

in #art6 years ago

Sunset Painting.jpg

Hi my dear Steemians! Today I would like to share how I made this simple painting of sunset. It is the simplest sunset painting I know. I didn't do anything extraordinary to create this painting and this is actually my first sunset painting ever. I do plan on trying again with more details and perhaps a painting that speaks more. I learned some of the techniques I used in this painting through tutorial which is by Makoccino. You can check it here.

Tools and Materials

1 P_20180730_205158_HDR.jpg

  • A good quality artblock that can absorb water
  • Buncho water colours
  • A palette to mix paint
  • Paint brushes
  • 2 containers of water (one to mix paint and one to clean brush)
  • A tissue paper to absorb excess paint/water (important)
  • A coin with a diameter around 1 inch

Step by Step Tutorial

2 P_20180731_211016_HDR (1280x960).jpg

First of all, I mixed some dark blue and dark green to make this blue.

2.5 1 20150102_081502A.mp4.00_02_57_01.Still001.jpg

I painted half of the sky and the sea using the blue colour that I mixed. Then I proceeded to paint some dilute orange on the rest of the sky. Then, while the paint is still wet, I quickly grabbed a coin and wrapped it with some tissue paper and placed it on the part where I wanted my sun to be. I let the tissue absorb and lift the paint on the particular area. It looks like the picture below.

3 P_20180730_205124_HDR.jpg

Then, I applied more blue and orange paint to make the colours more vibrant and left it to dry.

5.jpg

This is my third layer. I added more blue with less water.

6.jpg

Then I added more orange around the sun that I created.

7.jpg

Then, I painted the sun in yellow.

8.jpg

The sun was a little too vibrant for my liking. Hence, I used a piece of tissue to lift some of the excess yellow on the sun and left a tint of yellow. Then, I added more paint of some orange mixed with yellow because I wanted a lighter shade of orange on this area.

9.jpg

I also picked some water using a clean brush and brushed it on the middle of the sea. Then I used a tissue to lift some of the paint up on that area. This is to create a sunset reflection later.

10.jpg

I picked more water using the brush and brushed it over the background to mix the blue and orange.

11.jpg

I painted the sunset reflection on the sea using some orange mixed with yellow on the area where I lifted the paint earlier.

12.jpg

I used blue paint to add more details to the sea using a small flat brush.

13.jpg

I created little wavelike strokes on the sea using blue with a very small amount of water.

P_20180731_224333_HDR g (1280x960).jpg

After some touch ups, I added some details at the bottom to add some emotions to the picture, which is something that I learned from a friend. My painting is ready. It is simple and someday I will attempt to create a more detailed sunset painting. I hope that you enjoyed reading my post and I wish that it is helpful.

If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

bitmoji-20180403064406.png


Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

Butterfly Colouring Contest #3


How to Treat Cough at Home | Cough Home Remedy | Traditional Ayurvedic Medicine


Painting Leaves with Depth Adding Technique | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


HOW TO MAKE YOUR OWN WASHI TAPE! | DIY Planner Supplies


Plan With Me | HARRY POTTER RAVENCLAW THEME | DIY Planner


Video: Indian Spicy Chilli FIsh Cooking Recipe


steem artists.png

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

nice watercolour sunset, @yashny :> the step by step is presented well, also :>

Thank you so much @veryspider! I am happy to read your feedback x

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61