Nocturn - a painting-based adventure game for Steemit. Post zero: Introduction

in #art7 years ago

Night falls. A curtain rises. Is this real or did you just wake up in a dream?

To find out, you have to play 'Nocturn'.

noct_intr0mp.jpg

Nocturn is a series of 40 dark and mysterious paintings, with an underlying storyline - the discovery of a ghostly and ghastly castle and its inhabitants, during the span of one surreal night.

I later found that there's also an adventure game inside the 40 paintings, in which you can choose different paths of the story when deciding to follow different options in the storyline.

That adventure I want to let you play here on Steemit!

I will post the first painting within an hour or so, with the accompanying bit of story. I then will present three options (later on only two) for you to choose how the story continues. You can upvote the option, or comment which option you like best (if you don't want to spend an upvote). The option with most upvotes and comments will be the next painting I will post, and so the story will evolve according to your choices!

I know this sounds a bit like copycatting @papa-pepper's awesome Steempocalypse-format, so before you flag or downvote or comment on this: rest assured. First of all, I have tremendous respect for what papa-pepper does. I have played Steempocalypse season 4 which was awesome to do. But this 'Nocturn'-adventure actually has been online on Blogger since april 2014, so the idea isn't new. I never have made any promotion with it, but I still think the idea is awesome.

It's my own take at an interactive adventure (which I have been playing since King's Quest I and never gotten tired of the genre). Also there are some different rules:

I'll post the first painting and story in roughly an hour and present three (later only two) options. Everybody can upvote or comment on an option. After 24 hours I will see which option is the most popular and will post the corresponding painting and storyline.

Players cannot die in this game, and anyone/everyone may join any day to make their choice for the next day. Comments and upvotes after 24 hours obviously have no purpose for the adventure, but are appreciated!

The game is finite, so will stop at a particular post. No winners or losers: the adventure isn't there to win, it's really more to discover a strange tale.

I will reward the three (maybe four, five?) most consistent players/voters/commenters at the end of the game. I cannot tell how much the reward will be, as I have no idea how this adventure will go. But reward I will and I will be clear and update on this.

I reserve the right to change the rules of the game during the game, again - as I have no idea how this will turn out. It's also an adventure for me, so let's enjoy it together!

And, by the way - the 40 paintings were originally exhibited at night, with the visitors only holding a candle-light to view the paintings. That was an awesome atmosphere, and definitely spine-chilling experience. And a friend-musician even made a costom soundscape accompanying the exhibition.

nctrn_tr560.jpg

PICT4001.JPG

Have ideas? Have suggestions? let me know, 'Nocturn' starts soon!

Sort:  

Amazing..!!! :D Followed my friend @marty-art

Thanks you @yusaymon! You have some awesome art too, following & glad to meet you!

This is a really cool idea, I really love all the art in this post so i'm looking forward to more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65709.71
ETH 2614.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69