The Stargazer and The Hummingbird - Digital Painting Process with J-VO

in #art7 years ago

"Wake in the morning with a winged heart, and give thanks for another day of loving."
— KAHLIL GILBRAN

Several years ago, I had a friend from college that had stayed in touch on Facebook, request a painting from me. His grandmother had passed before his wedding and he wanted a painting as a tribute to her. She loved hummingbirds and lilies and he really wanted those two elements to be the main subject matter.

Hummingbirds are one of the most beautiful creatures on this planet. The color of their feathers have such a dynamic range - there are so many different types and colors of hummingbirds, which I came to realize more as I was hunting for image references. I love the symbolism behind hummingbirds. They represent adaptability and flexibility, simultaneously reminding us to hunt out the best that life has to offer, each and every day, much like the hummingbird is always on the hunt for the most sweet and delicious nectar. It is said to be a good omen if such a beautiful friend finds his way to you.

The lily is another great symbolism - representing purity, freedom after death with a restored innocence. This seemed so fitting beyond it representing something she loved, but in her transition from one essence of being to the next. I chose the stargazer lily, they are stunning flowers and was my grandfather's favorite, which of course, now that he has passed has become MY favorite. (I love you Papooh!)

Since being out of college, I just don't really have the best set up for pulling out my old oils, brushes and turpentine (nor can my poor head take it much any more - I get terrible migraines from the chemical fumes at times). So, for this piece I wanted to go digital. I have been doing some digital painting over the past several years with my trusty Wacom tablet. I unfortunately can't quite yet afford the nice Cintique Model, but honestly, I have trained my coordination with it just fine and I haven't been disappointed having it to work with by any means.

Digital painting is so liberating too.. the fear I used to have at times when creating for assignments, etc. was that at any moment you made a mistake, sometimes there was no going back - you just simply had to start over. Heaven forbid that happen in the last few hours before you were "done." With digital I love that you can explore different things, see how it looks, and if you don't like it simply delete it without destroying the rest of the piece that you love. BRILLIANT! It really is just freaking awesome.

I decided to break this up and have saved images of each stage of the work as I painted so as to give you some insight into my process - and there is even a gif animation of the painting showing the entire build for those who make it to the end!

So, to get stared I created a new document in Photoshop with the size settings of 20x24 at 300 DPI. I selected a nice light coffee color as my base background layer and with a new layer above that I sketched out my subjects (each on their own layer) and and set up my composition.

I started to block in the color of the wings and got a bit ahead of myself - I worked too much detail up in that left wing, but I couldn't help it lol.

Then I blocked in the colors for the rest of the hummingbird.

Once that stage was complete I began working up the feathers - this was my favorite part of the hummingbird.



Next I moved on to working up the details in the lower feathers. followed by the details in the right wing.



The flower I found is so magical looking that I wanted to almost make it look like a flower from Avatar's Pandora. Because of this decision at this point in the painting I decided to turn the background black so that these beautiful colors would really pop.

I started to block in the flower's basic shape with one solid color that the rest of the colors would build well off of.

I got really into this first petal and focused on it to get my groundings on how I wanted to tackle painting in the other hues, highlights and shadows.




I loved how it turned out, so I pretty much used that same method to the remaining petals, working up the various stages together across the whole flower.





I added the pistons and worked up the detail on each.


Once the flower and hummingbird were both together and complete, I added some color blurs in some areas to make the spatial dimensionality more prominent.

It felt like there needed to be something behind the subject, so I started working on a few soft color blurs and a few splatters for some visual interest.



As promised here is my speed paint gif build!

I hope you guys enjoyed seeing the process behind my painting. All in all there were probably about 4 sittings of 3-4 hours each for the hummingbird and I painted the flower in about two 8 hour days over the weekend.

As always, if you have any questions or would like to share your thoughts, please leave me a comment below!

Until next time my dear friends, STEEM ON!

with love, — @j-vo


Interested in Seeing my Other Posts?

Click the images below!

   

   

   


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by j-vo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.24 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @overkillcoin.

This painting is absolutely gorgeous! I love that you included the whole process and the gif at the end! 😍

@juliakponsford, thank you so much for taking the time to look through and for your kind compliments! It really means a lot - i enjoy your posts as well! I lol forward to seeing more of your work for sure! 😀♥

@j-vo,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

INCREDIBLE ART! I love humming birds, I have posted a few photos of them on Steemit. I am really impressed with your work, keep it up! Please Reply and I will nominate your post to the @Ocd Curators for possible extra votes and Steemit exposure!

Yes, I would really appreciate your help with getting more recognition :) I will check out the page and see what other "gems" you guys are mining out here in the steemi-verse! Thank you :D

@j-vo, your post was featured today in issue 44 of @ocd daily, congratulations!

Thank you so much friend!! This has absolutely made my day, what you are doing is awesome, thank you!

You are supremely talented, keep up the good work! amazing job...

@jznsamuel - you are supremely awesome for taking the time to check out my post and leave that very sweet comment! Thank you so much, I will stroll over to your page and see what you are up to as well!!

this is an amazing post, way to rock it! great K. Gibran quote too / peace

Thank you so much @clumsysilverdad - i really appreciate your very awesome comment and that you took the time to check out my work! I'm going to head over to your blog now and check out your stuff! Much love! <3

I wish I had skills like this -- haha

Awww! Well, that's ok 'cause you have MAD skills already with your photography!

Thank you, but you have MAD skills with BOTH! I'm jealous! :p

thank you for sharing! It's absolutely beautiful work!
upvoted and follow you.
Invite you to see my blog, it's about artworks too!
And congratulation with @osm nomination, I found your post in their compilation post!

Thank you so much! I'm really appreciative for you taking the time to check it out! I will absolutely give your blog a look through, I'm all about supporting my fellow art people here!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68789.22
ETH 3862.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66