Mystéres De La Nuit - Silk Painting by J-VO

in #art7 years ago


"The next beautiful thing we can experience is mystery"

There has always been something that has drawn me to the night. My favorite place to be is on the beach, under the moonlit starry sky, the reflection of light across the water that crashes repetitively to the shore. The smell of salt in the air. There is something so mysterious about the stars and what lies beyond our visible sight - intriguing and alluring. The night energizes us, brings out the liveliness and excitement - the world looks so different as it basks in the neon glows of the glimmering lights around it.

I did this silk painting in college when I took a textiles class to fill some art electives. The technique was really cool. Using a bottle with a very narrow spout, you draw your design on a white piece of silk with a medium that is similar in consistency to a clear glue - this acts as a matte and will preserve the white material leaving your line in tact. Once it dries you can start painting. We used silk dyes (I am not sure of the brand) and using water to lighten the hue you start laying in color and building light to dark.

You can use other things like rubbing alcohol and salt to achieve a variety of different effects - like this really cool marbling I achieved in the background - it helped to mimic this foggy smoky effect in the background and in the swirls around the woman.

Its definitely not the BEST piece I have ever done, but it was a lot of fun to create. Its fairly easy for anyone to do. If you are interesting in trying this and have any questions, please feel free to ask below in the comments!

I hope you don't mind such a short post this evening. I am planning a pretty hefty one tomorrow showcasing a new painting I just finished over the weekend and plan to show a breakdown build of the process.

Hope you all have a lovely evening and as always, thank you for your support!

Until next time my dear friends, STEEM ON!

with love, — @j-vo


Interested in Seeing my Other Posts?

Click the images below!

   

   

   


Sort:  

It's very perdy, thanks for sharing.

Thank you @Kate-m! I appreciate you saying so :) <3


Thanks For Read :)
To read my future writng please follow my account.. follow me at @nikunjo

What a beautiful silk print! I love all of the soft colors and tones. I bet it looks incredible when light flows through it! Another wonderful post as always ReSteemed and will upvote of course!

Thank you @i-am-wade! I appreciate you taking the time to check it out - thank you for your support :D

Great choice of colors. Also the technique is very good. Congrats

Thank you @hego.art! I love purples, blues and magentas.. they are so gorgeous together! Thank you for taking the time to read and comment! :D

Beautiful work!

GREAT work! Keep at it! If you have any questions about the art contest, you may leave your message on my post about it. ❤️

I will do thank you @sharonnicholas!! :) Thanks for checking my post out and taking the time to comment! Much love :D

You have a skilled touch with brush @j-vo Nice!

Thank you @mphil!! If you liked this one go to my blog and check out my newest Stargazer and Hummingbird painting - I am pretty enthralled with it - I just finished the painting over this past weekend and was super excited to share with everyone! Thank you for taking a moment to check this post out and comment - I appreciate you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41