Photoshoot with Mrs. Tammy Montgomery & Album Design - Original Photography & Graphic Design by J-VO

in #photography7 years ago


The Soulful Blues Singer


I recently had an awesome shoot with a friend's mother. I recently shared a post of some of her lovely guitars I shot one of the most awesome rustic farms I have been to in a while. This time we went back there and had some fun photographing her for her new album. She is a soulful, country gal with an awesome blues-y voice - a true folk artist. From her lyrics to the great texture in her voice, her music is really intriguing and transports you to another place.

I shoot with a Canon T3i and a standard 18mm lens, even though its not top of the line equipment, I like to think that it isn't the tool that defines the artist. I am looking forward to eventually being able to invest more into my equipment, but as a graphic designer by trade, photography has always been more of my passion hobby since I was really young, and I have been lucky to get a bit of freelance work on the side. I would love one of those Canon 5D Mark cameras.. shew - the crispyness!

In this shoot I wanted to use the environment to help tell her story and provide a glimpse into who she is as an artist and a person. She loves the country, grew up in the country and finds peace and solace there, away from the noise and bustle of the urban community.

I did a lot of post edit work in Adobe Camera Raw and Photoshop to produce the final images. I like to go in and remove fly-aways in the hair, brighten the eyes, remove small blemishes and even skin tone, and enhance the colors, contrast and correct the white balance. Take a look at the series below!

This barn is the same barn I used as a backdrop in the guitar still life shoot we did - I just loved the textures and the colors of the worn and weathered wood. It adds that rustic touch I wanted to convey.

I wanted to show the vast beauty that being out in the country provides, the expansive skies and wide open land - there is something so magical about it.


In these last few images you can see I am trying to work in both the textural element through the tattered wood of the structures contrasted against the softness of the tall overgrown grasses.


A lot of these were used for her CD album art, the inside booklet and CD label were created using the photography from this shoot - the images in context I think were really cool! I loved seeing how this came out in print.

Thank you for taking the time to look at my work - I hope you enjoyed it! I appreciate you all and love all of your support! If you found value to my post, please consider an upvote and a resteem! Tell me what you thought or if you have any cool suggestions or tips that you use when you take a client out on a shoot or ways you go about making decisions about where you plan to take them, share them in the comments below!

Until next time my dear friends, STEEM ON!

with love, — @j-vo


Interested in Seeing my Other Posts?

Click the images below!

   

   

   


Sort:  

my favorite !

and wow her eyes are killing me :D

Her eyes are STUNNING. They are seriously that color in person - her daughter was blessed with them too. She was really beautiful to photograph! Thank you for taking the time to let me know what you thought! <3

Some stunning images - you did a great job! I am sure she must have been super happy with your collection!
Following you for more inspiration.

Thank you @sallybeth23 - I think she was really pleased with how they came out. I will head over to your blog as well - I am always on the lookout for new inspirations myself :) <3

Once again, fantastic work. This deserves more upvotes!!!

Thank you @overkillcoin! I wish I could get more - Our eldest dog passed away two weeks ago and I was so in a funk that I just wasn't feeling creative. I took a break, and now my posts just aren't getting the response I was seeing before. But that's ok - I appreciate you taking the time to share such a kind compliment and for reading! Hopefully if I just keep at it, more people will start to interact! :)

Very sorry to hear. My dog is aging along and I'm already sad to see him get grays... It's understandable for sure. It looks like creativity is a part of your everyday life, though, so adding great content will be natural once you get back into it.

Are you familiar with the #minnowsupportproject? I think it's been a helpful way to introduce me to talented content creators and friendly supporters. For the first 2 - 3 weeks, my posts were doing pretty poorly, but they've improved. There are also PAL and Steemit chat rooms, I tend to be too ADHD to stick around chat and make good buddies though XD

I'm also a bit concerned about what will happen if I ease up on posting due to a busier schedule (work and classes). In social media, it's ideal to be consistent and not burn yourself out. A smart guy whose book I read told me this.

Yes, I agree with you 100%, just gotta get back in the habit. Also, the first four weeks I was here I had about three posts that went well over $100 and seeing the numbers jump at least over 5.00 every post definitely fueled the fire to get addicted here. I am hopeful that just getting back into it, not worrying about the numbers and just enjoying the platform, things will naturally go back to where they were.

I have checked out the minnowsupportproject! I have used them before, but even though I paid both the people the small amount of SBD, whenever I try to go get a post upvoted, only one of them recognize that I have paid.. its weird. I need to look into that more.

You are right about sticking with it and keeping consistency - I had gotten there but got dismantled. Now I am back on the grind. I hope you are able to keep it up with your class and work load, I remember college days and its hard to do much else but what they require. I think you will be able to still find some time here and there to interact! When do your classes start back?

That's a good sign (your earlier posts doing well). I don't think I've surpassed $85, and those are rare. I've heard scary warnings about gathering a huge following before Steemit goes big and it's an impossibility to go large, but I'd think that a wider audience would balance things out?

Maybe ask @gmuxx or @crimsonclad in the PAL chat. They're smart, helpful and super patient with all my idiotic questions that I pepper them with on an hourly basis.

And... the 'classes' are more like business coaching sessions with the chamber of commerce... Although I do have network meetings and general insanity pulling me away from my creative side... But, I need to take these classes very seriously to get my business on fire again. It's such a waste to have a middle-man mark your work up and then barely send you enough work. Time to go fully independent :D

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Beautiful shoot!

Thank you! That means a LOT coming from you! :) Your work is phenomenal - I really appreciate you looking through my work! I'm excited about following you and staying up with what you are doing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41