My Steem Ambassador Application

in #ambassadorapplication6 years ago (edited)

Growing the community organically through education, responsibility, and engagement. Filling those huge social and gender gaps by connecting educated people to those not lucky enough to have an education. And ending with even educating the educated as education is a non stop process.

About me:

I am very afraid to talk about myself as I was taught that I am either too naive and idealistic or too full of myself. Sadly, this kept me from being more vocal before, but as I saw it working out, while people like me are quiet and do nothing, the wrong types of people take the lead and steer this world away from its track.

Born to a family of a Naval Engineer and a Medical Doctor, I was lucky to get a huge civic education, ever since I was young. The first project I remember doing was designing a logo for my father's advertising company when I was 12. My first paid project was at 14 and with the money I made I bought a computer for my cousin who was enlisting in Arts School. Helped by my father, I have spent my teens learning and working in desktop publishing, webdesign, advertising, written newspapers, television and even producing documentaries (for which I was even awarded a national prize by the national broadcasting company).

Got a Cambridge Certificate in Advanced English and I can understand a lot of other languages: French, Italian, Spanish.


Screenshot of steemreports showing my performance. Note that I had a 5 day vacation in this time.

After getting the Degree in Computer Programming and Mathematics, I managed to merge all of my hobbies by working in Aviation, developing the 3D part of an Air Traffic Controller Simulator. Doing a little of everything, including training for the trainers working on the system and designing specification documents for the tenders.

Socially, on the other hand, I am very disappointed in the world around me. Inequality, gender gaps, biases, corruption, egos that are bigger than nations. This has to be shaped in another way, as I see that education is clearly the element that decides this type of behavior. So here I am, dedicating my time towards the bettering of others.

Started to get more involved in charitable activities, helping others, donating computers to help multiple-children families have a chance at education. Donated new clothes to children, doing shoebox donations with the company I work for. Donated to the first hospital being built in Romania in the last 30 years, done solely by public funding. Tried to educate people on various Facebook groups, on Quora and other forums.

My Story on Steem & Progress/ Achievements

Crypto is, for me, a way of securing assets for retirement, which I am far from, anyway. From the first moment I saw Steem and understood how it works, I knew that it could help my life plan of educating people and bring them in our bubble. We already know that success in life is helped by education, by hard work but also by a big dose of luck. Some people have what it takes to be successful but their luck went out. A second chance is what they are waiting for and Steem might be that chance.

As for me, I continue to educate through the power of example. I have never used a bidbot, I stopped voting my articles a long while ago, I think I am a good curator, according to SteemReportsand SteemOcean. I am writing about science, education, social themes, gender equality, poverty and prosociality, community making, I am a @SteemSTEM writer and mentor and I also am one of the members putting together @SteemRomania, a community revolving around prosociality and selflessness. I think the results are great, and I am sure to have the support of the whole Romanian community in doing this. There are a lot of enlightened people in Romania which I can rely on for spreading the word. I also have other ideas, and even whole projects that I would like to set in motion when I feel there would be sufficient traction.

Everything I've done until now was done in 111 days of Steem joining so I have a long way ahead.

Why I Promote Steem/ Steemit & want to Become a Steem Ambassador

Because as I wrote before, Steem has the power to educate the people in the rural areas, has the power to bridge the gaps between social classes, can ultimately connect promising students and people that would never ever come into contact with the other members from the cities. Bursting the social bubbles created by years of bad government, bad decision, bad educational systems and bad choices of people. It won't be an easy ride, but it can be done.
@cryptocurator's journey met mine and I have tried to supply him with a better suited Ambassador, but in the end, it seems that I am yet again the one needing to get involved before I can ask others for help. I tip my hat to @guyfawkes4-20, the other Romanian possible Steem Ambassador, I honestly don't know how he can do all that he does, with so little time, but it will be a pleasure to colaborate with him in the future.

Starting slowly with just a few communities and expanding until most of the people get involved. Seeing this new type of educational and prosocial society would help a lot in engaging with others. Education should not only be a passing thing in our life and we all have the power to contribute to it, share our ideas and enlighten others that are reading. And if choices can't be made for them, at least for their children. From what I have already encountered, there are a lot of people just looking for a little help in bettering themselves and will gladly take any help they can get. The world used them with the lack of help so any help I give out is seen as out of the ordinary and therefore is extra-thanked for. Which kind of makes me sad, as I don't see myself really doing a lot.

Future Plans as a Steem Ambassador

I am following you for a long time and although I was not sure I would have time for all the projects I am invested in, I would like to see progress. Steem Ambassador or not, my goals are set, my plans are written in my mind. I will slowly use the voice given to me by Steem to express them and polish them until they are accepted by the community.

As I have wrote in my articles linked above,even before finding out about Steem Ambassadors, my plan is simple:

  • Use retired people and people invested already in Steem as mentors. The retired people are poor and will appreciate the extra income.
  • Promote Steem in new areas or groups and then offer them a set of basic tools and mentorship to begin. Steem Romania already made tutorials in Romanian, to even help users not knowing English.
  • Assign new users to groups and mentors. Their progress will be visible forever in the blockchain, transparency of the process is 100%. Good content will be voted, plagiarized content will not. This will shape the community very fast.
  • Personally create and delegate to the creation of new accounts of key people joining to keep the joining time short and their interest alive.
  • Use existing channels to spread the word about Steem. Promotion will always focus on the prosociality and education as this will lead to organic growth instead of focusing on the income alone. Will get new users in the proper mindset to actually receive the training.

Finding other open-minded people to share them and bringing and growing communities to Steem is going to change how Steem is seen. I will also work with my community to get Steem listed in the major Romanian market as a standalone pair. This will also help the growth since it will make it easier for people to be invested in Steem.

You would help me promote these ideas and give them exposure, and I will try to implement them. I didn't yet disappoint anyone on Steem and I am not planning to.

Previous Promotional Experience

I have some years of Advertising, I have a working brain and common sense, and I am also involved in lots of social groups and thinktanks. The promotion, if done smartly, will hardly be seen as a promotion and it will consist of attracting educated people and uneducated people.

Let's get to work!

I am already doing this and will keep doing it. Thanks @cryptocurator for pushing me to do this and @steemromania's members for sharing my goals to this future we can build together, one community at a time. I wish a happy and productive week to everyone and don't be shy to ask your questions, you will always get an answer.


Source

Sort:  

Alex - this is an outstanding application - and it will be a real honour to work along side. Fantastic calibre, ambition, integrity and I look forward to the continuous programme of learning and learning and learning....!! Best Wishes with this application. Cheers @CryptoCurator

When @steemromania was just an idea and we were all trying to figure some things out, you stood out with having the most down to earth common sense I've encountered personally. You also seem to someone that really believes we can make a huge difference using the steem ecosystem.

One difference between the two us when it comes to the concept of "inclusion for all" is that I only seem to talk about it, while you work relentlessly on building that inclusion. And I also see that you are doing a very good job helping the people you interact with, which brings value to the @steemromania community and the several other communities you interacted with here.

One thing that I think I understand about you is that you have "the soul of an engineer", which is to say you work with concrete things that bring measurable results, and that is something anyone involved in community building needs to understand. I hope I will steal this quality from you :)

I am really glad that you took this step and I will do my best to help you in any way I can. And one thing which those that review your application should take into consideration is the fact that you have a prosocial approach. Meaning that you will not only want to bring new people into the steem ecosystem, but you also want to create a framework in which those new people would positively contribute to the community they are in. That is not a journey many people have the courage to embark on.

"Idealists" are the ones that aim for a 10X improvement, while "downtoarthers" settle for a 10% improvement. So, continue being an idealist, we really need a lot more :)

Thanks a lot! You are way too kind.
I am built as to want to know how everything works, with a special interest in how people work and how they can be made to understand and be motivated to improve themselves. I have read a lot of sci-fi when I was young, and I am really passionate about communities and how they are built and work and politics (real politics not the made-up stuff that is happening now in the world). I have thought about joining one of the two new technocratic political parties in Romania as friends, former coworkers and neighbors are already invested there (USR), but as they are new they still have quirks to solve before I will feel I can impact something there.

I am using this opportunity to also say that I want to involve other vocal and active members of the Romanian community, like @mejustandrew, @sorin-cristescu and @rbm. This only means that I have noted their high prosocial behavior and interest in the steem ecosystem, but anyone else will be able to contribute in making this a better place!

Thankyou for posting this. This really broden my horizon. Take a look at my post as well

wellcome, buddy 🍻🍻🍻🍻

Thanks, I've been following your progress ever since I joined Steem. Even followed some of the people you promoted and followed them around for a while, giving them advice. Not all of them made it, sadly.But you are doing a good job!

Thank you for participating in the promo-steem, I hope your application is accepted by @steem-ambassador

regards : @starlost

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Good luck @alexdory! I appreciate the fact you don't upvote yourself. Now I never upvote myself, only in the beginning I did that. I should try to see my stats too.

Thanks a lot! It's always interesting to read your articles. Traveling is the best way of bettering yourself since you keep your mind open to all kinds of new stimulus and ideas.

You can see it here:
http://steemocean.com/voter/alexandraioana26
http://www.steemreports.com/outgoing-votes-info/?account=alexandraioana26&days=31

Thanks for helping me out. 😊

U really are a good guy with handful of experience under your bucket. Additionally u r proving good values to the community. I wish u very best of ur luck on being a 'Steem Ambassador'.
Cheers, man.

Thanks, you were fast. Someone had to do this and since promoting Steem in my community is anyway one of my goals and I have already started to promote it before I even heard about Steem Ambassador, I will use their support and knowledge to further help me in doing so. Common goals is what builds and ties communities. May you write good content in SteemSTEM :P

So generous of u. Hopefully I can write good articles too. :)

I would add one thing to your beginning phrase: science.
Regarding what is happening with the Steem communities, it would be interesting to see the opinion of sociologists. I think a sociologist would find the Steem phenomenon very interesting from the point of view of community formation. Good luck with your Steem Ambassador Application.

You are indeed right about science. A scientific approach is what we need. The lack of education makes people skeptical of science. Education is the first step and teaching people the basic know-how of the platform and mentoring them until they get a correct grasp of the methods is a good way to assist them to step out and break the cycle of poverty.

Hi,
I wish you success with your Steem Ambassador Application. :)
Have a nice weekend!

Hey Alex, during the short while I have met you on this platform, I have learnt a lot from you and you have really aided my growth. You have proven to be a good person and a deserving leader. I have no doubt that you will succeed if given the opportunity. So let me also take this opportunity to thank you for everything.

Please, whoever is reading my comment, the above statement is not a scheme to fool anyone but the truth.

Thanks a lot. It is nice to work with you since you are a thorough writer and you have listened to my advice. You took the tools I gave you and made your account grow with them, responsibly , which is what I want everyone to do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64308.31
ETH 2810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65