A thought on gender-bias and complying to the gender biased world.

in #gender6 years ago (edited)

This came out on a post of @theree2389 . I am shy as a writer but someone has to come out and give this more exposure for anything to change.

Women never have the same rate of success. They are raised wrongly, with the parents trying to protect them. There was this study where mothers of boys and girls had to raise a platform for their children to play ( children were 3-4 years of age)
Mothers of boys raised the platform much more than the mothers of girls.
( this is a study I read upon watching Alice Roberts and Michael Mosley's "Is your brain male of female" on BBC)



So there is a recipe for this disadvantage:

  1. Parents protect the girls more ( this inhibits some independent behavior)
  2. Parents teach girls to play with dolls ( while boys are encouraged in more vocational toys, like cars, technical equipment and science)
  3. Parents of girls talk less about vocational or technical jobs to girls ( a very small percent of girls follow a technical school)
  4. An employer sees a girl as more of a risk due to the way he/she as person was raised, and more easily replaced. So he can leverage low pay and longer overtime.
  5. A girl feels inferior because of this and self esteem drops, especially if education is not enough or if her character is not strong.
  6. A girl is locked in a relationship due to her dependability to her partner.Having children makes it even harder for her to escape a toxic relationship. Who will hire her, how will she raise her kids, what will everyone else think of her failure as a wife ( after all she was raised to be a wife-a mother - this is why she was given dolls - not a successful human being)

Human Drama at it's finest.
We need to change everything if we want to evolve.

-------------------------------------------
Text: Personal thoughts, inspired by my experiences.
Article image from : https://aurora.dawn.com/news/1141502 - also that's a good article you need to read

More reading:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2765881/TV-scientist-says-doesn-t-want-four-year-old-daughter-obsessed-girly-stereotypes.html
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p0278p3p - Is your brain male or female on BBC. There are many ways to see it if you can't stream it. 
@cryptogee - I read a piece from him saying that he would like to stir the community up a bit, hope you don't mind me quoting you: 

  I started the Cryptogee Musings, because I wanted to cover topics that were important to me, and by making them much shorter than my previous articles, I believe I'm inviting debate.It is in these debates in the comment sections that ideas can be born, thoughts can be formed, and misconceptions can be laid to rest. 

Have a wonderful day!

Sort:  

Its interesting. Do you know why "parents" "train" their daughters that way?

I can only suppose it's because of the way they were raised and their internal beliefs.
Can I bug you with another interesting fact that I missed in my article?
How many children books have you read in which the female main character is after anything else than her Prince Charming? Or had her own dreams and ideals?
Watch the not-so-fun study:

I give you my word you will not be disappointed if you spend the 3 minutes.
I wish you a perfect week!

I'm definitely a feminist and dont need to Watch that! :P I've been down that rabbit hole. When I became a feminist---really I started challenging my own societal trappings. It took me a long time to give up the prince charming savior bs. Had to completely rewire my brain and there are still hangups. I think my childhood went a step in a weird direction but not going into that here. Its not my moms fault. She is a product of society, of her tragic childhood. Thank goodness she raised me in such a way to love me so much and tell me i can do anything. Thank goodness my dad wasnt around much and my step dad was a douche-- it made me more independant.

I think that my question was a probe, to see if yiu would dig deeper or had an answer.

For me the answer is that we are stuck in cyclical emotional poverty due to the system of patriarchy being cracked yet not destroyed.

I know, but it's so hard for everyone to escape this conundrum.
And what can be done? I posted this hoping that more people will read and understand but my reach here is limited. I guess I will enlighten more people one at a time.
And raise my future children knowing this ( among many others).

PS: I have a feeling all my current voters are male, so good signs for a normal future.

I will say that there are a LOT more books with awesome girl protagonists now than there have ever been. It's changing slowly, but it IS changing.

And all this contributes to the gender-pay-gap. Thanks for sharing.

It's a solid post, but I would strongly advise against using the Daily Mail as a source. Always a more reliable source for any serious bit of news.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85