Dominican Rpb: Infiltration attempt at 27 Waterfalls

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

Paying for entrance to a site of interest isn't only annoying, sometimes it's expensive, too. But how about not paying? This is where things get complicated...

DSC04094.jpg

View from the hill, mentioned in previous story

People come to Puerto Plata mostly to visit the 27 Waterfalls (27 Charcos) National Park. However, even without a tour there, you are required to pay 10$ for entrance, wear a safety jacket and helmet. Then you and a bunch of other tourists will be herded by a guide through a beaten path, going where you're told to go, doing what you're told to do.

Sounds attractive? Not for me.
I wouldn't do it even for free and Florian had some trouble with cashing out his money (feel for you bro, been there so many times...) so we decided to try and sneak into the park without paying.

DSC04107.jpg

And took Alexis with us, who weren't exactly glad how things are turning out, but went with us anyways.
So at first we forded a river and soon after found ourselves in a village Damajagua.


There, we asked a farmer for directions to the waterfalls. Our collective Spanish skill was barely enough to grasp the key moments of his description.
At first our path took us to a bit swamped fields divided by barbed wire fences with rough gates which we knew we should pass a few times.

DSC04112.jpg

Alexis


DSC04114.jpg

Florian

DSC04124.jpg

Bad choice of shoes makes your hiking experience a terrible one

Then we were tearing through bushes and hanging vines on some cattle trails which eventually led us to the main tourist trail.

While we were walking through the jungle I entertained my companions with tales of venomous snakes, spiders, flesh-eating maggots and the nasty flies that lay their eggs under your skin, and many more nice things. I'm not sure if they liked it much.


When we finally made it to the "highway" by which the crowds of tourists were being led. So after some debate we decided to wedge between the groups, which would be a valid plan, provided the groups advance with more-or-less same speed.

DSC04126.jpg

Sounds good? Reality proved the plan to be invalid as at the key points of the trail they had supervisors who caught and showed us out. A pathetic failure, of course, but it was worth trying anyway.

In the end, Alexis, who was complaining all the while and played a major role in our disclosure, bought tickets for himself and Florian. In they went again and I returned back to hostel unruffled.
In a couple of hours they came back without much rapture from the tour.

And very soon I would leave for Haiti, which was a blast, but there will be a separate post about it.

To be continued...

Previous post: Landscape Photography: Cliffs on the Southern Coast of Iran

Check out my travel blog:
Dominican Republic: 26, 27, 28, 29, 30
Turkey: 21, 22, 23, 24, 25
Iran: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

Sort:  

Ha, I love this. It sounds like something I'd do with my wife/@qberryfarms in tow and fussing about the rules the whole time while I'm grinning and saying "I'm a rule breaker!" We missed these waterfalls completely when we were there.

My guess, It's no big deal. I missed em myself though

Yeah, but the experience is probably worth more than seeing the waterfalls. The story was definitly worth it.

That's the point! Travel is not about what you see, it's about the experiences you get.

Hello @ nameless-berk, You are rebellious by nature and you like freedom; Of course this makes your life is not boring, on the contrary it makes it very exciting and of course every activity you do is full of adrenaline and excitement. I would like to be like that, but I really do not have a very adventurous spirit, I mostly choose the safeness ... but the world would not be world if there were not people who ventured and experimented. Continue enjoying your moments... Now we are going through Haiti...Greetings.

Thanks for the feedback!

Hermoso bosque y mucha valentía en su travesía, saludos

Sounds like you guys had quite a fun. Snakes and spiders I'm fine hearing about, but flesh-eating maggots... Yikes! Just thinking about it gives me the creeps.

nice post nice scenery i like

first picture is awsm.
friendship of cloud & hill.

Great stuff! Don't forget to tag @yourluckyphotos for greater exposure of your photography posts. :-)
(I'm not associated with them, but they frequently resteem my pictures, so it's nice to return the favor because they do a good job and you don't seem to be entering any contests at the moment.)
 

I do that, but this one is not about photography.

Fair enough - and great to hear as your pictures are definitely great. I'm so glad you're able to travel so much and share it with us.

Oh, seeing as you tagged steemitworldmap, did you know they have a contest as well that these travel blogs would be perfect for? First tag is swmchallenge.

I didn't! Thanks for the advice, I'll look into that.

El bosque es impresionante y una aventura arriesgada, saludos

Amazing view
Very nice ♥ keep steeming & posting

It's great.
Beautiful places. You can be envied. You travel so much and describe all your adventures.
I ada that I found your blog. I will read you. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68903.51
ETH 3762.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43