Dominican Rpb: A ride across the South and the Center

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

DSC03807.jpg

[08/02/18] Sated with the colonial flavour of Santo Domingo, I decided to spend some time outdoors and get to a remote and hard-to-get-to beach Bahia de las Aguilas located on the south-east of the country, near the border with Haiti.

I have everything I need to spend a night in the open air, except for the gas for my stove. This problem I bypassed by buying supplies that don't require cooking, such as canned food and vegetables.

And water, of course, lots of it. As a result my titanic backpack swole even more and started towering over my head, its weight passing 33kg mark by the most conservative estimates.

DSC03825.jpg

At the beginning everything was going my way, I was getting picked up by cars quickly and the riding was a pleasure. But the farther I was from the capital into the bumfuc... rustic and remote parts of the DR, the harder it was to hitch a ride. Eventually the cars ceased to stop for me at all.

Nobody but the buses were willing to take me in. And so, somewhere near Azua I had to take a bus to Barahona and when I arrived there it was kinda late to go further. In the best case scenario I would get there by sunset and even that was unlikely. I tried, though, with no avail.

Then I found a relatively inexpensive hotel, rented a room for a night and went to the local beach to have at least some of my plans fulfilled.

Now, this beach is not particularly clean or beautiful or free to visit. All of it is bought up by hotels built there, sporting a multitude of different flags at the gates in a vain attempt to make them look important.

They were all empty, of course, as nobody wants to go to this unknown place with muddy sea and littered beaches.

That said, I was adamant to not let the circumstances get the best of me and I sneaked through some bushes in a remote part of the beach with a small island 30 meters away, where I spent some time sunbathing.

Going back was a breeze, I just walked to the beach in front of a hotel and when a supervisor approached me to ask if I stay in this hotel and to drive me away, I just asked where the exit was and out I went.

Later in the evening the sunburns (that I got from hours in the trunk of a hitched car) became apparent, so I ditched the idea of going to any kind of a beach anytime soon and decided to go to Constanza instead.

DSC03830.jpg

The following morning I started moving in the opposite direction and got stuck in the same place, as the day before. And then again. And again. Somehow I managed to make it to a village named Sabana Larga where I learned that the next 90km to Constanza are only passable by bike and no cars ever go that way (even though treacherous Google Maps showed a highway-level road there).

DSC03837.jpg

The locals were nice enough to find a bike for me with a driver that was ready to take me there for 50$.
That was not the price I would gladly pay and I had to go around instead, drawing a semi-circle by unpaved roads, which I partly passed by hitchhiking and partly by local public transport called gua-gua.

In the process I met a local guy John with fluent English who gave me a ride on his bike and explained that his English was a gift of God. Apparently he was a self-learner like me.

Be it as it may, the final part in gua-gua was the hardest - they crammed as much people as possible in the covered trunk of a car, which was constantly leaking water as the car was making its way through the rain and darkness by windy mountain roads.

And all that I heard and seen there were fat old women (3 of them taking as much space as other 7 people), laughing and shouting in the most obnoxious way, all of 1.5 hours that seemed like an eternity.

It is very surprising how much time it takes to cover such small distances in such a small country.

After an exhausting day like this I only had enough energy to locate my hotel and fall flat on the bed.

DSC03846.jpg

Constanza

They say that God is everywhere but he lives in Constanza. It was only on the next day that I saw what exactly this place was. The green hills surround the town and pierce the low heavy clouds that pour rain on the farmers working in the fields below - such is Constanza, a town lost somewhere among the hills of the Dominican Republic.


DSC03852.jpg


DSC03854.jpg


DSC03867.jpg

The driver of another gua-gua fixing a cover for the trunk on the way out of Constanza

To be continued...

Previous post: Dominican Rpb: ¡Bienvenido a la República Dominicana! or crossing the Atlantic Ocean

Check out my travel blog:
Dominican Republic: 26
Turkey: 21, 22, 23, 24, 25
Iran: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20
Tajikistan: 7, 8, 9, 10
Kyrgyzstan: 4, 5, 6
Kazakhstan: 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Great photos. It looks lovely down there. I really like the photo with the fence.

Spanish variation can be fun. Gua-gua (guaua) can be anything from a bus to a taxi to a baby, depending on what country you're in :-)

Cool, good to know!

Very well written! It really made me feel the adventure and remember when I was backpacking in South America. Its been very cool following you on your adventures :) Keep up the great steeming!

Thanks for the feedback, doing my best...

Looks like a very peaceful ride.

You are brave! I love DR and packing and hitching, but when I was in DR they had me scared to death with their driving. Our ride from the airport crashed, our friend got ran over and broke his arm and leg. And, I kept seeing all these motorcycles driving with one hand while holding a drink in the other. I was told it was alcohol because it's legal to drink and drive there. Then it all made sense :) Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

Well it doesn't seem to be as bad these days. Maybe things improved?

I think so. I had another friend there recently and didn't see it as much and also enjoyed it. Great place overall, we loved all the stands out in the country making cocoa powder, brown sugar, caramel, vanilla extract, etc. Damn now I'm hungry.

When I read such stories about hitchhiking, then I want to plunge into this atmosphere.
With pleasure, I would travel so much, but only with someone in a pair. One definitely would not have risked it.
I really want to see the world in this way, but it remains only to read such articles.
Thank you for the provided excursion. I really liked your article.
By the way, I found a lot of useful information from her.
We drive in our car to rest in the Crimea and also take a lot of supplies with us. so as not to depend on anyone during the trip.

It was interesting to read! I have never hitch-hiked with a backpack over an area unknown to me. I am pleased to read the continuation of your adventures.

Wow friend @ nameless-berk, that was quite an adventure and alone; but, it is definitely a very good way to know and enjoy nature and its people in unknown countries. I congratulate you for that desire and strength to make new roads. Actually, I have never been to the Dominican Republic, but friends who have been there speak especially about the food, which is very abundant and tasty and as far as the beaches only refer to Punta Cana ... but I admire you for those trip to unknown and less bombastic places that you let us know. Thanks and regards. Awesome post.

Everybody who ventured out of Punta Cana are not fond of this place. Literally nobody likes it. Personally I'm not a fan as well, it's too expensive and touristic.

Sure, I understand you perfectly. Thanks for the info; since it is first hand.

Here is the adventure you have!
You have to have a lot of health, strength and patience to hitchhike around the country, where there are few roads and cars.

Thank you for sharing your experience. I really enjoyed reading it:)

the way of describe your experience & memories with us is very nice.

very good photography as always my dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51