Turkey: the New Year in Istanbul and the return of wayward son

in #adventure6 years ago

DSC03363.jpg

[04/01/18] After Pergamon I came directly to Istandul on 31 of December, and I met the exact moment of the New Year checking in a hostel. You might say it's a waste, but I happen to hate holidays (and weekends as well), the New Year being the worst of them all.

Every year I have some problem in this same time, which requires a shop or a service to be working. And they obviously don't, for a long time. The biggest issue was on Tet, the vietnamese New Year, when I got stranded for a week with a broken bike and a friend on schedule waiting for me.
So yeah, I have no love for this season.

DSC03381.jpg

View from below the bridge with hundreds of fishermen

Anyways, as soon as I droppen my luggage in the room, I left the boisterous place full of partying people and took a walk along the more quiet streets in the city. The following 3 days weren't anything special, just chilling in this historical city, walking around, buying gifts for friends and family...


DSC03387.jpg

DSC03393.jpg

And so my little adventure has come to its logical conclusion and hereby I will summarize it.

This autumn voyage took me more than 2 months, 12000 km and I have visited 5 countries and some neutral zones. The longest and the most memorable part was in Iran, where I made lots of good memories. In a few days I go back to Siberia, from where I will decide, what's next.

DSC03447.jpg

Spoiler: we are approaching the present time, dear readers, since the beginning of February I've been travelling in Dominican Republic and my blog will soon catch up with me, hopefully. Before that I was keeping a small blog just for the friends and family, and here on steemit I've been publishing the translations with a bit of rehearsing of the original journal. But now I will be concentrating on writing articles specifically for steemit and improving my style. I'm even attending an online course about travel-journalism, hopefully that will help to improve the quality of the content.

DSC03427.jpg

In any case, your opinion and feedback is highly appreciated, so make sure to let me know what you're thinking about my articles.

More pics:
DSC03410.jpg
DSC03415.jpg
DSC03386.jpg

To be continued...

Previous post: Turkey: the Temple of Artemis and Pergamon

Check out my travel blog:
Turkey: 21, 22, 23, 24
Iran: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20
Tajikistan: 7, 8, 9, 10
Kyrgyzstan: 4, 5, 6
Kazakhstan: 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nameless-berk
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=turkey-the-new-year-in-istanbul-and-the-return-of-wayward-son


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

nice travel photo post thank for shearing

3 photo shows Graffiti, i think.
I like Graffiti.

Graffiti express underlying social and political messages and a whole genre of artistic expression is based upon spray paint graffiti styles.

good job.
following you to get wonderful work from you regularly.

Great photos and a great blog with excellent information. I will definitely go to this
place one day. This is the first post of you which I read and I loved it. I am going to read every past and future posts of you. I hope every
post will be as good as this one.

Interesting posts. You travel so much that at some point you want to even envy.
photos are just class.

I really liked the photo with cyclamen. They are so big and beautiful. I love flowers. I have many of them in the house and in the garden.
Cyclamenes are grown from seeds, then these sizes do not grow.

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

This post has received a 13.02% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @nameless-berk. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

This post has received a 5.74% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Invest your Steem Power and help minnow at the same time to support our daily curation initiative. Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one of the following links: 1000 SP, 5000 SP or more. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.25% vote... I was summoned by @nameless-berk! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Thanks for your contribution @nameless-berk, you got a 90.91% upvote from @canalcrypto!
70% of your contribution goes to our delegators so if you'd like to help us push posts even harder while earning some extra steems please consider delegating to @canalcrypto. You can delegate your SP here: https://steembottracker.com/delegation.html (Delegator = your username, delegatee = canalcrypto), thanks in advance for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51