Dominican Rpb: A carnival in Santiago

in #adventure6 years ago

DSC04089.jpg

[18/02/18] After my camera stopped working, I deemed the resolution of this issue to be my first priority. And where in the Caribbean could I find a good assortment of cameras, lens and stuff?
Probably, Santo Domingo is the best bet.

The next best place is the second largest city of the country - Santiago de los Caballeros, which happened to be quite close.

Coincidentally, on arrival there I found myself in the middle of a carnival. The dressed up actors were strolling down the main streets, banging drums and deafeningly cracking whips on the pavement.

DSC04092_20180218_171016.jpg

DSC04092_20180218_171320.jpg


DSC04092_20180218_171027.jpg

The sidewalks were constipated with crowds of gapers so I just joined the procession, pretending that I totally belong there. The audience was quite peculiar - if you, the reader, ever saw the latinos gangs, you can visualize that.


These guys were everywhere, walking around in groups, all covered in tattoos and golden jewelry, wearing their pants much lower than they're supposed to be worn, etc, etc.

The city is teeming with the police and private security guards, all are armed with at least a shotgun (I can't help but remember guards in Bangladesh armed with grenade launchers, lol).

DSC04092_20180218_180139(0).jpg

At night the streets become deserted, the only exception is the gangs roaming around, being the reason why nobody goes out.

DSC04092_20180219_091416.jpg

I know, there are pretty clear directions on the left, but I didn't know Spanish well enough at that point

Anyway, I made it to the hostel I booked and at first could not find the entrance, because it looks like a kind of hidden door (about 20 cm thick), which is hard to spot unless you know exactly where it is supposed to be.

On the inside there is a directive advising to keep the door closed at all times. All that adds to the authenticity of the city.

Next day I started looking for the lens and having talked to the local photographers I learned that, unsurprisingly, I'm not gonna find anything in Santiago, only in Santo Domingo if I'm lucky.

However, I also learned that my camera and lens were fine all along, the problem seems to be in the battery. Indeed, after I recharged it, the camera proceeded to work. It is unclear now whether I'm gonna have to change it or not, but it would be much easier and cheaper than buying new lens.
For now it seems to be working, which is great.

Next day I left for Puerto Plata and rejoined my pals Florian and Alexis, who found a hotel in a remote but amazingly beautiful place a few kilometers away from the town itself.

"Nobody is normal here, everyone is a weirdo"

Lindsey, a girl we hanged out with there

I will make a separate post about that place, so subscribe, upvote, resteem and stay loco!

Extra photos:

DSC04085.jpg

Hitchhiking with Flo

DSC04091.jpg

DSC04083.jpg

DSC04092_20180215_115053.jpg

Me at work

To be continued...

Previous post: Architectural Photography: the Speaker

Check out my travel blog:
Dominican Republic: 26, 27, 28, 29
Turkey: 21, 22, 23, 24, 25
Iran: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

Sort:  

It looks like they have a party everyday!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's #TravelDigest!

wow, that's amazing.

This comment has received a 1.56 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @mahadihasanzim.

Directly city-celebration. It's like nobody works there. I really liked your picture on the tree.

A wonderful post. So I would like to visit such a place and participate in the carnival.
Thank you for the amazing journey.

Awesome post, looks like a lovely place

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nameless-berk
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=dominican-rpb-a-carnival-in-santiago


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has received gratitude of 3.09% from @appreciator courtesy of @nameless-berk!

Awesome post
And
Nice wording selection
Kept up

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 3.15% vote... I was summoned by @nameless-berk! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61388.83
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49