Coffee factory Monte Alto or how coffee is produced: from the plant to the cup

in #coffee6 years ago

DSC03908.jpg


[12/02/17] Jarabacoa is a little town in the Dominican mountains. It is notable for two main reasons - the mountains that surround it and coffee, that is being grown on their emerald slopes.

DSC03901.jpg

Waterfall Salto Jimenoa

Even though I didn't immerse myself in the natural attractions of the region, such as rafting and hiking to the highest mountain of the country - Pico Duarte, I made sure to immerse myself in coffee.
Well, not literally, of course.


In the end I learned a few new for me methods of brewing the aforementioned drink and paid a visit to a coffee factory nearby to have a look at how it's grown and prepared.

They showed me the entire process from seed to drink, so to say.
For mere 2$ they provided me with a guide that was showing me around, describing and demonstrating different parts of the work that's being done there.
Though, she was only speaking spanish, the knowledge of which I lack, so I might have missed some points or gotten it a bit wrong.

First, they harvest the fruitage:
DSC03913.jpg

From this unremarkable tree

Then the harvest is culled:
DSC03919.jpg

After that the beans are extracted and separated from the pulp. Back in the day it was done by this kind of mechanisms:
DSC03912.jpg

Nowadays they use big machines capable of processing much bigger volumes much more efficiently.

Then the green beans are dried in vast hangars like this:
DSC03917.jpg


DSC03916.jpg

And by machine drying as well:
DSC03925.jpg


DSC03921.jpg

Here they sort it by weight and size:
DSC03927.jpg


DSC03929.jpg


DSC03931.jpg


DSC03932.jpg

And here we have the roasting process after which the beans acquire their aroma that nearly everyone knows so well:
DSC03935.jpg


DSC03939.jpg


DSC03938.jpg


DSC03936.jpg

After that the coffee is basically ready. Part of it goes to grinder, before packing the final product.
DSC03940.jpg


DSC03943.jpg


DSC03944.jpg

But oh, wait! There's the quality control, too. These guys are getting to drink coffee all day not only for free, they are paid for that! Any coffee-junkie's dream came true.
DSC03923.jpg

Look at all those cups

Finally, they have a shop on-site where everyone can try the brewed coffee and buy some.
DSC03947.jpg

This table represents the processing of coffee bean

Some unrelated photos of Jarabacoa and surroundings:
DSC03904.jpg


DSC03895.jpg

Salto Jimenoa again


DSC03909.jpg


DSC03956.jpg

The view from the hostel roof I appreciated much, especially in the morning

To be continued...

Previous post: Landscape Photography: a Caravanserai in the middle of Iranian desert

Check out my travel blog:
Dominican Republic: 26, 27
Turkey: 21, 22, 23, 24, 25
Iran: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

Sort:  

Hello nameless-berk: I liked your post very much because I am a lover of the production processes of different products and if it is coffee it is wonderful. It is a typical plant of the family type where artisanal work is confused with the work of machinery ... and the staff must be very kind ... it is a pity that you did not handle Spanish to have made the most of the journey ... Quality Control in a coffee producing plant: it's priceless! ... Greetings.

Never seen the whole coffee production process. Thanks for sharing! Have recently been to Vietnam and wrote a blog post on their coffee culture. (check it out if you have time) Would you say that the Dominican Republic has a good coffee culture?

Even if it does, I didn't get to witness it. Besides this factory, that is.

Man I'll bet all that roasting coffee smelled so good.

Yep, that it did

Thank you for write about coffee, I'm also coffee farmer from Dataran Tinggi Gayo Sumatera Indonesia. If you have time please come to my village.

I would gladly accept your offer, but i happen to be on the other side of the planet right now. Maybe in future, though

@r nameless-berk, Excelente explicación sobre la producción del café, siempre es bueno saber un poco más sobre las bebidas que tomamos. Y que maravillosas fotos de los paisajes naturales, saludos

I watched the discovery programs, where they talked about growing coffee and what they do with it later. But I have a dream to see it myself.

got many information about coffee & your photo that you used is ripping.

It was interesting to read. I love coffee.
Once I tried to grow a coffee tree in the house, but it did not work out. After your article, I was excited by the desire to repeat the experiment and buy seedlings.

They grow it in the mountains for a reason. Can you maintain the condition for coffee growth at home?

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post has received gratitude of 5.75% from @appreciator courtesy of @nameless-berk!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61428.91
ETH 3382.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50