Iran: Yazd, Meybod and idle musings

in #adventure6 years ago

[10/12/17]
The following is just a stream of consciousness... dark, unrefined


DSC02398.jpg


So the time has come to move north to the border with Turkey to try and get a ship across the Atlantic and now I'm yet again clothed up and freezing.
Winter is the most dismal time of year and even in Iran it is already uncomfortable. The leaves are getting yellow and are falling to the ground, lush in the summer gardens become bleak and grey.
Because of all that I had to postpone my visit to the northern Iraq (I would also have to concern myself with visa which is undesirable right now) and direct my gaze across the ocean.


DSC02448.jpg

Sofreh, a traditional Persian seat


That said, the way to the Mediterranean shore lies through the mountains of Kurdistan which doesn't bode me well since I'm quite limited in terms of warm clothes I can have.
My backpack is already bigger than me and it's only going to get worse. By the way, today I was looking at this backpack thinking just how cool it was - it's been with me through so many crazy adventures in the past and never let me down, never tore or got seriously damaged.
And literally an hour later a fastener on its flap breaks. It still works but now I need to fix it ASAP.


DSC02442.jpg


I will also have to fix my camera which got its screen scratched all over during my trip. Without a proper sheath it's getting damaged fast. On the upside I might even polish it myself...
Anyway, now I'm in Yazd, enjoying this old and unique city which looks as something out of eastern fairytale, and it seems like it inspired the concept of Hlaalu architecture in TES III: Morrowind.


DSC02421.jpg


DSC02458.jpg


DSC02495.jpg

This is a castle in Meybod


In the aforementioned castle I met a beautiful girl named Marzieh, who invited me in her family's house:
DSC02538_BW.jpg

That's us


DSC02536.jpg

Pigeon unrelated

To be continued...

Previous post: Iran, trip to Shiraz and the ruins of Persepolis

Check out my travel blog:
Iran: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16
Tajikistan: 7, 8, 9, 10
Kyrgyzstan: 4, 5, 6
Kazakhstan: 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

It looks like an awesome adventure, I will have to go and check out the rest of your travels now :)

Upvoted. If it didn't work it's because my voting power is too low right now.

I still appreciate it

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nameless-berk
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=iran-yazd-meybod-and-idle-musings


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71