Dominican Rpb: ¡Bienvenido a la República Dominicana! or crossing the Atlantic Ocean

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

DSC03493.jpg

|A blue pond somewhere in DR|

[04/02/18] Having arrived to Siberia I had a strong impression that I'm not gonna make it across the Atlantic again, however, as the chance would have it, I stumbled across a charter ticket from Moscow to the Dominican Republic for a laughable price of about 120$.

The flight to Moscow would cost me almost as much money, but I was too good an opportunity to not take it.

From the moment I bought the tickets I had a nasty feeling that something is going to go wrong. It was just too good to be true.

Luckily, the biggest problem was a flight delay for 2.5 hours and all that time the passengers were stuck in the airplane. The (probably incompetent) personnel of the airport could not prepare the aircraft for taking flight in time and then the runway got covered with snow and ice and it went on and on...

It is remarkable that I wasn't even harassed by passport control as it usually happens.
In the end it was 15 hours of sitting (and aimless wandering around) in the airplane. Not the most pleasant time of my life but I've seen worse.

DSC03475.jpg

A night in Punta Cana

The plane landed in the twilight, after a short run along the runway of the Punta Cana airport. Having stopped, the enormous Boeing 747 spewed out hundreds of tourists, that were immediately stuffed into their tour busses. But I had no tour, of course, and noone was waiting for me so I had to use a taxi as the public transportation was not available at that hour.

The strongest first impression was concerning the prices. Everything is ridiculously expensive and rarely worth the money. That's one of the reasons why I left this city soon, the second one being plain old boredom. All of those excursions, dolphinariums, beaches and all other touristic entertainments are not attractive for me.

DSC03512.jpg

Santo Domingo

So I soon found myself on the road with a thumb up and hitchhiked to the capital, Santo Domingo. It is the first city in the Caribbean, founded by Bartholomew Columbus (a brother of that Columbus who "discovered" America) in the end of XV century. Its historical center, Zona Colonial, boasts a multitude of old colonial buildings and has it's own unique flavor and aesthetics.


DSC03526.jpg


DSC03544.jpg

DSC03554.jpg


It is not as expensive as Punta Cana, but still expensive. And it looks like the city has high rates of criminal activity, I was often approached by cops who warned me not to hang around this place or that and such. Personally I have not yet run into any trouble even having ignored their warnings.

Also, an attempt to acquire gas for my camping gas stove was unsuccessful so I probably won't find it in all Caribbean, which places all kinds of restrictions on me and sucks in general.


DSC03616.jpg


Be it as it may, I still made it across the Ocean for cheap and now I'm ready to explore this part of the world.

More photos:
DSC03558.jpg


DSC03561.jpg


DSC03572.jpg

DSC03643.jpg


DSC03647.jpg
DSC03675.jpg
DSC03709.jpg

DSC03741.jpg

Faro o Colon, a memorial for Columbus


DSC03761.jpg


DSC03773.jpg


DSC03772.jpg

The National Botanical Garden in Santo Domingo

To be continued...

Previous post: Turkey: the New Year in Istanbul and the return of wayward son

Check out my travel blog:
Turkey: 21, 22, 23, 24, 25
Iran: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20
Tajikistan: 7, 8, 9, 10
Kyrgyzstan: 4, 5, 6
Kazakhstan: 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

I've been to Dominican Republic a few times and really loved it, but that was years ago and I hear the crime is much worse now. My young cousin and his girlfriend went a few years ago and were harassed and scared to death by a cab driver who picked up two other people with them, drove them somewhere and threatened to rob them. They they just laughed at them and put them out without robbing but scared them to death.
I have a friend there now who was ran over by a drunk driver and broke his leg and arm! You know driving while drinking is or at least was legal there so many of the drivers are very dangerous. Have you noticed the motorcycle riders driving with one hand while they have a drink in the other? The roads are definitely the most dangerous part. beautiful country though.

Apparently I don't look like an easy prey, maybe that's why I haven't encountered these criminal problems yet.
And I'm pretty accustomed to crazy driving, it's so common in the 3rd world countries, you just getting used to it after a while.

Excelente, me gusto mucho tus fotos

Very interesting story and beautiful photos. This is great when you have the opportunity to travel the world

Thanks for the feedback!

wow,many ripping photography in a single post.
likes night view of Punta Cana,its wonderful.
you are a very good photographer.

You lucky son of a gun! $120 for a flight to Dominican Republic. Ok, granted it is a single flight and not return, but when you are travelling like yourself - wandering and seeing more you will end up - that's great.
We would imagine most of these islands in the Caribbeans would be expensive due to the importing of many produce. We can imagine the islands would have a deficit of many items.
We thought you might have brought the tickets for cheap as it's not the season to go, but from the photos it is sunny and bright!

I guess it's always sunny here. But right now there's a lot of rains as well.

@ nameless-berk , espectaculares fotos,saludos

¡Buenas fotos! A ver si algún día tengo la oportunidad visitar la isla. Tengo unos amigos dominicanos aquí en EE.UU.. Las fotos de los jardines a mi me encantan. Parece buen sitio para dar una vuelta con alguien que te gusta. :-)

The World is just full of beautiful Cities, if I'm opportune...... I'll never take chances. I'm really appreciating you for sharing with us @nameless-berk. I'll be glad if you visit my wall and follow me Sir @sparrowspecial here is my latest post https://steemit.com/steemit/@sparrowspecial/charity-wrapped-in-dignity

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nameless-berk
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=dominican-rpb-bienvenido-a-la-republica-dominicana-or-crossing-the-atlantic-ocean


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

so good^^!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67917.78
ETH 3516.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72