Dominican Rpb: Failed whales-watching and hitchhiking on the coast

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

DSC04078.jpg

Salto El Limon


[17/02/18] However much I liked Jarabacoa, boredom was kicking in so I found myself on the road again with the thumb up.

Made it to Las Terrenas, that located on Samana Peninsula. I wanted to see humpback whales which come to the bay every year in this season to produce offspring.

DSC04019.jpg

I was stupid enough to relax and do it the easiest way, joining an excursion to the bay. They organize the transportation and the boat for whales-watching.

At night and in the morning it was raining heavily and I was tempted to ditch it and sleep some more, but I got my shit together and left the hostel to the rendezvous point.

I immediately realized my grave mistake - the excursion was oriented on the typical tourists (rich old people, families and the like).

The manager was mainly speaking Spanish, cracking stupid jokes, that he's probably cracking every single time he leads the group. The most important info was also translated to for me.

And I was out of place in this lame touristic crap so much that during a stop in El Limon he sent a henchman to me who declared that my face is "too serious" for this party or something along these lines.

He tried to give me 50 pesos (1$) so I could please leave and go back myself (the payment for the excursion I did not yet make). Take into consideration that I came to this peninsula specifically to watch whales.
I wish I took the money and left, but no, I got angry instead and confronted the manager who did not dare to say anything in my face, so I went on with them.

DSC03989.jpg

We were taken to the town Samana and loaded on a boat. It was windy, the sea was restless and from time to time we were showered by occasional rains.
For a few hours the boat braved the waves, which drenched the unlucky upper desk passengers like we weren't wet enough. And with all this in mind, I only had a glance at whales' tails a couple of times and made exactly 0 worthy photos.

DSC04002.jpg

DSC04004.jpg


A complete fiasco, considering that apparently it could have been done much cheaper if only I wasn't a fool and went there by myself.

After a day I and Florian, a German guy I met in the hostel, went to check out waterfall Salto El Limon. It is usually accessed by horse riding by tourists, we could do it on foot easily.
Even though at first we chose the wrong direction and came to some wilderness, but then corrected the mistake.

DSC04048.jpg

The next day we hitchhiked by the coast to the west. It was easy and a helluva lot of fun, but in the process my camera died, the lens, to be specific. And now I have to find new ones and also buy some casing for the camera, absence of which was the reason for the incident.

DSC04071.jpg

With the last light we reached Cabarete, where we hanged out for 1.5 days. Not much to do there, this little resort town can't boast anything but beaches. Though, it can't even do that, the beaches are pretty mediocre.

DSC04081.jpg

In the hostel we made acquaintance with a Greek guy Alexis who never hitched, but wanted to join us, so the next day it were 3 of us on the road. At some point we split, they went to Puerto Plata an I to Santiago de los Caballeros, the second largest city in the country to try and fix my camera.

To be continued...

Previous post: Landscape Photography: a peaceful morning in Akyaka bay, Turkey

Check out my travel blog:
Dominican Republic: 26, 27, 28
Turkey: 21, 22, 23, 24, 25
Iran: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

this is probably the biggest waterfall i have seen ! That's amazing u are so lucky that you were able to be there. wish i could photograph it !

How come you've never seen Niagara?

It is a pity that I failed to take pictures of whales. But the waterfall is just awesome.

Wooow such an amazing experience.....will follow to read more on your travels

Beautiful views. I also liked the waterfall and of course your adventures. As always, thank you so much.

wow,beautiful scenery.
great job man.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.75 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.15
Server time: 06:39:18
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 397.59/400.00
Total Photos: 24
Total comments: 30
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You got a 11.04% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @nameless-berk!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nameless-berk
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=dominican-rpb-failed-whales-watching-and-hitchiking-on-the-coast


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61388.83
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49