The Best YouTube VLOGGING Camera? - Stepping up my game

in #youtube7 years ago

One of the ways that I support my family is building this YouTube channel. It's not much money right now but I do hope that in the future it will really pay off. Right now I have 32,222 subscribers on YouTube. That's a nice audience, but the adsense revenue on YouTube at that level isn't that great. I'm looking to expand my channel as I tell my story and share my knowledge even more on YouTube and here on Steemit.

The Camera Challenge

For some time now I've been using this Panasonic Lumix. It's been a great inexpensive camera but it wasn't built rugged enough for the gardening and homesteading type videos I do. It's time for an upgrade before this camera falls apart!

image captured from this video

My Wish List

I have been chatting with my buddy @bettertogether about cameras and have sorta landed on this combination here below. If you have any suggestions or comments on this camera setup or others I'd love to hear them!

Canon EOS 80D Digital SLR Camera Body (Black)

Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM FLD

The Money Challenge

I've been saving the money that I get from my Patreon account every month in my PayPal. Patreon patrons give a gift every months to help support the creative efforts on the Daddykirbs Farm, so I think it's only fitting that I save that money for that purpose.

You can see that I'm not far away from my goal of a new camera. It will be fun to see a nice high-quality video displayed on the YouTube channel using this new camera whenever I can bring it home! Any funds received on Steemit related to this post will be used for this purpose as well. Thank you for sharing this time with me! The journey is better with you :)


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blogPlease Welcome My Helper, My Friend - She Has So Much To OFFER!
daddykirbs blogCan Bees Sting Through Nitrile Gloves? - Beekeeping Adventures!
daddykirbs blogHappy 4th! Introducing our new KITTY CAT! 🐱
daddykirbs blogBeekeeping - Mowing the Field While Suited Up!!
daddykirbs blogMy Bride Finally Put a Bee Suit On! - This may be a one time thing...


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

Get your Steemit Homesteading badge here !
Get your Steemit Gardening badge here !
Get your Steemit Beekeeping badge here


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

DSLR's are great if you can only afford one camera.

But, for videos, there is a reason they still make camcorders. And there is a reason GoPros are popular. Personally, I use a Canon XA10 for my videos and have a Canon PowerShot for my photos. The PowerShot is very portable and actually has a good video camera built in for taking short videos. Not to muddle your decision.

How do think the Canon XA10 would work for vlogging style video where it will be turned to face the vlogger? There is a need for a nice wide angle (without much distortion) and the ability to focus short range. I like the rain video BTW :)

The Canon XA10 has a fairly good wide angle capture. I guess you would still be limited to how long your arm is. I don't do that often, but here is an example:

The rain video was taken with the PowerShot. It has a fairly rich color to it, but the microphone is limited.

I resteemed in hopes more people see this :)

Thank you! I really appreciate that :)

The badges you designed are so beautiful that it makes me want to be a homesteader just to get one 😁 hehehe

Thank you! I would consider other badges if I felt like there were enough people that wanted them.

I guess I am wondering why the more beginner type-priced cameras aren't good enough? Like the beginner Canons? What is it about this one, that makes it EVEN BETTER?

Edit to add, I guess I don't know if the cheaper ones also take video.

Check out my video from my Canon PowerShot in my other comment.
The issue is with sound. In theory, if you had a video editing tool, you could just take video and then do voice over for poor sound issues.

Will let more people know about you channel. Hope it helps :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69081.21
ETH 3809.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50