Can Bees Sting Through Nitrile Gloves? - Beekeeping Adventures!

in #homesteading7 years ago

That's one of the questions that I set out to answer here. The thick leather beekeeping gloves are protective but you sacrifice dexterity for sure. I love the idea of using something that is thinner, lighter, yet still protects my hands from stings. Are these gloves the answer?

Mostly in this episode I'm just crazy excited about the fact that my wife faced her fears and put a bee suit on! She is very supportive of me with the YouTube video goals so she offered to do the camera work while I do the beekeeping. Thanks Honey!!

Mamakirbs Puts On A Bee Suit

The swarm that I captured is still in the hive. You'll see in this video how they are doing and what I'm doing to ensure that they have plenty of room. I want them to stick around for a good long time!

Hives are inspected just to check their status, but one of my main goals in this beekeeping adventure is to COLLECT HONEY!! You can check out this recent post to see how I extract all that sweet goodness.

Thanks for hanging out with me here! If you appreciated the camera work of mamakirbs I would love to invite you to head over to the YouTube page for this video to leave a comment to encourage her to do more :)


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blogHappy 4th! Introducing our new KITTY CAT! 🐱
daddykirbs blogBeekeeping - Mowing the Field While Suited Up!!
daddykirbs blogMy Bride Finally Put a Bee Suit On! - This may be a one time thing...
daddykirbs blogPaper Wasp - Up Close Photo and Video [ 🎥 38 second video!]
daddykirbs blogFirst Honey Harvest This Year! - Using the Spinning Honey Extractor


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

Get your Steemit Homesteading badge here !
Get your Steemit Gardening badge here !
Get your Steemit Beekeeping badge here


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

Nice Post.thank you for posting!

Resteemit to show more of your awesome place and the education you are sharing with us all!
Mamakirbs did a fantastic job!

great video @daddykirbs .. and mamakirbs was great as well . your video made me appreciate honey more. 👍 👍 👍 👍 👍 👍 keep the videos coming bud

Don't forget all the work that those bees do for you and your neighbors. Pollinators!

basil and tomato is ya making pesto ? I agree with the missus she's not ready she's your wife ;) Congrats Mama Kirby ya done good and the questions were excellent too. thanks for sharing

Please keep us posted on the nitrile gloves. I use nitrile gloves around the garden almost exclusively, using a pair of garden gloves or work gloves over the top if I'm doing something that I know is going to tear up the nitrile gloves. I've been using them for several years now and have yet to actually be bit or stung through them. I've actually been a bit curious recently as to whether I had just gotten lucky or if there was something to the nitrile gloves. Inquiring minds want to know! lol

Nice video @daddykirbs! I would like to include this post in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter which is a series posted every Sunday that aims to help collect awesome articles and resources like this one! This article will be linked and your username featured if you accept - please let me know if it is alright to include your article as soon as possible! Thank you and have a great day!

Yes of course :) I'm glad you like it.

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59