[Fiction story] - A**hole soulmate - Part 2 [Bonus short poem at the end]

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

The writing prompt for the following story was:

"Soulmates have been confirmed to be real, the only problem is yours is a complete asshole."

Provided by: A reddit user Arthurni


asshole soulmate.jpg


Click here for part 1.


I packed my suitcase and school bag with as much clothes and cosmetics as I could fit. With my mom behind the door, I had no other choice but to make my way through the window.

My first stop was the bank. I knew if I were to leave the country, I needed all the money that I could muster, so I emptied my college savings account and had it paid out in euros. From this point on, there was absolutely no going back.

I got into an Uber still in my slippers because I couldn't take any shoes back at the house, and headed for the airport. While driving I wrote my mom a text message explaining the situation to which she responded with a question. I wouldn't have told her where I'm going even if I knew.


I asked for the cheapest last minute ticket to anywhere in Europe they had and paid a grand total of $85.

Milano, Italy.

When I reached my seat on the plane I finally relaxed.

I knew I had no idea where I'm going to stay or work but that was the least of my worries.

I got away. That was all that mattered.


Stepping off the plane was the beginning of a new life for me.

I asked the receptionist if she knows of any place nearby where I could stay and she directed me to a hotel, which I later realised was too expensive for me.

I spent the night out in the streets that day.

I took a bus out of Milano first thing in the morning because I found the city too big for me. I checked the places I could go to and decided to go to Bologna. I found it funny because of the Bolognese sauce. Upon my arrival I saw a bus with »Ferrara« written on it. I immediately thought of Ferrero Rocher and took that bus as well.

Up until the point I was required to communicate with the locals I was actually having fun.

Nobody spoke English.

There were no signs in English.

Everything was in Italian.

Road signs, restaurant menus, you name it.

I finally found a student around my age that spoke English. We immediately clicked. She needed someone to talk English to and I needed someone to help me settle down.


Giovanna helped me get a job as a babysitter. It was actually common practice in Europe for students to travel abroad and stay with a family to watch over their children and get paid for it. The family I was staying with even spoke some English and they were very happy to use the language. It was also in their best interest that I taught little Antonio English as they planned for him to study abroad in the future.

The Morettis took good care of me and I could feel a bond establishing between us. We spent a lot of evenings together playing board games or just watching TV. They even took the time to teach me basic Italian so I could actually go to the market or go to a restaurant and not make a complete fool out of myself ordering »Frutti di mare«, thinking I'm ordering fruit.

I made a couple of friends over the next couple of weeks and the neighbours got used to me. I had everything I needed. I was happy living there.

The doorbell rang and I ran downstairs thinking it was the postman.

I unlocked the doors with a smile on my face that turned into a frown as soon as I opened them.

It was Wyatt.


End of part 2

I can tell you're completely filled up with anger,
I've left you alone with just a cliffhanger.
There's no need for impatience or trembling with fear,
tomorrow the ending on my blog will appear.

Edit: click here for part 3.


Svashta.png


Previous writing prompts fulfilled:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10


Next writing prompt:

"Being obsessed with online video games for years, one morning you wake up a lvl 1 mage in an MMORPG."

Sort:  

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @svashta.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64