Look Through Childlike Eyes to be a Better Writer

in #writing6 years ago

It's not the content you write, it's how you tell the story.

A psychological study showed that adults pair apples with bananas but kids pair the same bananas with monkeys. As we grow and mature, we become the sum of all our past experiences and education.

We are no strangers to the fact that public schooling lumps all young minds together and teaches according to an antiquated set of rules. by the time we are out in the world we lump similar things together based on rules we have been taught- not the natural way our untouched pristine young minds see the same things. We are conditioned to look at the world through a lens that the powers that be decided is best for us, but in reality is the cookie cutter easy and lazy, but proven, way for them.

This leads us to go with the flow and not question, and we end up doing everything the same way as everyone else with an underlying attitude of why fix whats not broken.

If you look back throughout history you can see that the ones we remember are the ones who did things differently. They were called rebels, crazy and separatists, anything to deter the public from taking them seriously, and many were treated as outlaws and shunned or even killed for going against the grain and defying the rules.

But the ones who did it differently are the ones who have a chapter in the history books. And strangely enough, made a change. And we now follow them.

There are many rules in our reality, writing is no different. Some rules you must abide by, like you can't just walk into your neighbor's house and take his television or dinner. That would not get you very far past the local jail. But many rules have wiggle room and some rules no longer serve a purpose (such as double spacing) and are overdue for an overhaul.

Children look at the world with an untouched innocence. They see the world as it truly is, with no cloudy preconceived notions. This is why they ask so many questions. We adults, on the other hand, believe we are all grown up and have stopped questioning.

Does an apple belong side by side with a banana? They are totally different foods, and although they can taste yummy when paired, perhaps the monkey finds the banana yummier? The banana might pair better with the monkey- you son't know until you try.

I urge you to question everything.

Not only will it help you understand your world on a deeper level, it will show you holes in the system that are begging to be filled.

Don't be afraid to do things differently when it makes sense. And don't be afraid to experiment.

Look at the world with childlike wonder. Your reality will evolve before your eyes. You will see things in their most honest and simple state.

You will be surprised at what you have missed.


Images via Pexels, Unsplash and Pixabay



I appreciate your support :)

With Love, Light and Good Mojo!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314 How to Develop a Compelling Character
~
6 Essential Elements for Writing Evocative Posts
~
Protect Yourself! As Steemit Grows, So Do the Scams
~
Elements of the Story Plot
~
The Romance of the Cougar
~
100 Years Ago We'd ALL Be Locked in the Asylum!
~
Comments Hid Due to Low Ratings
~
Find and Embrace Your Steemit Voice
~
How to Teach Anyone Anything
~
Survival, Self-Sufficiency, & Steemit
~
It's the Little Things


Fiction

No Kibble Left Behind

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Reminds me of a video I saw (Children develop super power 3rd eye) you tube, you would like it

Is it the 13 minute one? There are a couple

Children develop real superpower (third eye) 6minutes you tube

Cool, thank you!

Great video! That is how the mind of a child is programmed before adulthood. Great video once more! Cheers.

Ah, kitten, kitten, kitten. Whenever we need a piece of content to fill out the line-up in our curation posts, we know we can always count on you. So here I am, saying you've been chosen again. (I know ... best kind of surprise. No extra effort from you required.)

However, before I go, let me say you really need to start putting your stuff in our group post-promotion where you are a member. You know the one I mean. Your excellent writing would find a good home there and we are doing a fine job of promoting content worth reading. (I should know. I make the selections. Notice where I am now and who I'm talking to!)

Meanwhile, as one writer to another, I'll say again that I always enjoy your stuff. I keep thinking about opening a second blog where I post content more in line with your themes and topics -- but so far, that doggone need for sleep once in a while keeps interfering.

I may pocket another morsel or two from here while I'm at it. As I said in the beginnng, you're always a reliable source. (Like a favorite diner where you know you can always grab a great snack at any hour. Not a bad reputation to have, actually. Hope you are enjoying a terrific week-end.) That's all from me for now.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. He's really not as annoying as you might think. <--- He always makes me say that.)

You know, you really have a way of making me feel good. No matter what kind of day I'm having, when your words appear before me I am uplifted and refreshed. You are an amazing soul <3

Thank you so much, this truly means a lot to me. And I am stopping by so put the coffee on pretty please :)

Wonderful read @arbitrarykitten. We should question everything in the interest of getting to know the world around us and view things from other perspectives. Thank you for all you do here on Steemit, you're appreciated. I invite you to stop by and vote on a contest I am doing called "Together We Build" it is a wonderful way to help make Steemit a strong community. Thank you.

Nice comment dear friend! You expressed it all in your comment. Beautiful tactful comment! Keep steeming.

Thank you so much <3

I will come check out your contest :)

Thank you too. Followed and voted. If you ever need anything let me know :) I love to help when I can.

sent you a message on Steemchat. If you would like to share your ideas there.

Hi Arbie Kitty,
I'm back among the living after a long absense. I'm here to upvote your post ... among other things.
I soooo agree with what you say. Let's all claw our way out of those boxes we don't even see.
And by the way, bananas go with chocolate (duh), and apples go with a good brie. And monkeys go with organ grinders ... ha ha.

Many hugs,
Joe
@joe.nobel

OhHa, I stand corrected ;)

Welcome back Joe! It's great to see you!

Hahahahahaha! You are very hilarious. Very funny comment! Got me cracking up in laughter. Thanks Mate for making me laugh.

Such a thought provoking post which is a great post to see at the start of the day I no my mind will be pondering some of this for most of the day

I found this through the magnificent seven post

Isnt it funny or is it funny is it worrying how our perceptions can change so much from when we are children through to when we are adults and society, family and peer pressure has adjusted our point of perception

It's quite profound. Thinking about how everything you experience shapes and changes your perceptions over the course of time...

Yes very profound indeed

Good advice! My challenge as a writer is that I have a tendency to stick inside narrow niches... in fact, my entire reason for getting back to "general" blogging on Steemit was to try to break OUT of that cycle. On the other hand, my niches are where I have expertise, and feel like what I have to say is of value to people.

Definately! That is the sole aim of steemit. To add value to people through useful original content creation. You are on track Mate! Keep steeming dear.

But you can still stay within your niches while providing new and different ways of looking at it for your audience...

What's your niche, Denmarkguy?

thank you for this post @arbitrarykitten.
i've read most of your post about advices especially to us who are minnows here.
they really gave me insights and output on what and how to write.
really thankful i've stumbled upon your profile.
i'll be looking forward to more of your post and someday i'll reach my goals. Have a good day ahead!

Be patient and consistent and you will reach your goals :)

Wow! This is amazing and also a fact. One is got to question everything to get answers and to revive ones creativity. Thanks

So happy it resonates with you!

Its definitely does! Thanks again dear friend. You are a good writer! Like the way you put thoughts to words. Keep it up dear.

I have struggled with overthinking too much. I wish I will remember your words every time I write :)

Its alright dearie! Its simply means you have got a very intelligent mind! Cheers.

There's no harm in trying. There's always room for change but change for the better. ;)

Even if you fail it is good because you tried!

Correct. Trying is already a success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00