31 Day Writing Challenge! Day 2: How to Find Ideas From Your Life

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to day 2 of the greatest writing month of your life!

31 days of finding your voice, invoking creativity, enchanting motivation, and evolving your craft.

Lets dive right into the word pool! The water is warm :)


Click HERE for Day 1.


(^..^)ノ

It took a while to start making money when I first started writing. Most of the assignments I received were for pennies if I made anything at all. I studied the books and articles that taught how to write professionally. I examined successful authors to see what they were doing right and emulated some of their ways.

I still wasn't making much. Writing was definitely more of a hobby than a career at this point. Well, judging by my paycheck at least.

But I was determined to write professionally, full time.

A few months later I was asked to do a column. My first! I was to write two funny but useful articles on survival and apocalyptic stuff per week. I was stoked!

I turned in my first article after working on it all day. My editor loved it. Same for the second article.

When I turned in my third he emailed me with suggestions for a revision. He informed me that he wanted me to write in my own voice, that I was copying the style of the pre-existing articles too much.

But... thats what worked I thought.

So I went in search of how to find my voice as a writer.

The revisions to the third article were a success. "Keep doing what you're doing," my editor said, "and you'll become a great writer."

This was all the motivation I needed. I stopped modeling after everyone else and started doing my own thing. I broke the rules and made up my own. I used my own experiences to bring realism into my writing.

My own life experiences cannot be replicated by anyone else, and nobody alive has my perspective. Because of this realization, my writing is unique and I have found my voice.

And now I support myself and three teen boys with my writing income alone.



🍍

You see what I did there?

I used an experience from my personal life to explain this article.

🐢


There are writing ideas all around you, happening all the time. There is always something to write about- pay attention! Once you realize this you will have a constant flow of chatter for your writing.

  • Carry a notebook with you wherever you go. You will be amazed at how many tidbits you will be placing in it once you have it with you all the time! Keep it by your bed, too, to record those crazy dreams you forget if you don't write down! And write your thoughts and observations down immediately.

  • People watch. It's an amazing idea generator! Jot down the interesting or funny things they do, how they act, and words they say. Note the details. Bring your notebook to the park or a coffeeshop and sit and watch. You can make it more niche related by hanging out at the car repair shop if you have a scene that makes sense, or a popular highway rest area. Get creative! Go to the theater and observe the people in the lobby. Hang out by the grocery checkout lines during rush hour to study behavior of both the tired shoppers and overworked cashiers. The sky's the limit!

  • Leonardo da Vinci believed that to truly understand something you must look at it from at least three different perspectives. When you are people watching for instance, look at your subject from their own point of view- put yourself into their shoes so to speak. Then look at them from their partners point of view. Then that of the store owner's or their dogs. This will give you a deeper understanding of the whole picture.

The more you are aware of and watch the details of all the little things that happen around you all day, the more story ideas you will gather from life.

🍦

Today's Assignment:

Write where you are.

Take the next ten minutes and write what you feel, see, taste, smell, hear and think right now. Note the depression in the cushion of the chair beneath you and the slightly irritating tag itching your neck. Feel the temperature in the room, the tightness in your left calf and feel just how heavy your head is. Describe the flavors of the coffee you just sipped. Is that happy bird outside really saying "pretty bird?"

Use as much detail as you can and really tell the story of you as you are right now.

This exercise will do wonders for your awareness and observation skills, and help tremendously in descriptive writing.

animated-cat-image-0043



Click HERE if you missed Day 1, and come back tomorrow for Day 3!


And remember to resteem for your followers so they can join the challenge- the more the merrier and the more to hold you accountable :)


Images via Unsplash


With love, light, and good mojo

I love you guys!

I appreciate your support :)


If you find this article after day 7, please consider upvoting a recent article.


Sort:  

You got a 25.00% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Writing has really been a passion of mine. From little poetry to articles and books i really love the feel of being in charge of how things flow in my fictional world. Even though since i joined steemit in February i have not really written much due to one sickness or the other, am sure this would change soon

I love how the characters create and evolve themselves in the fictional world!

Read yesterdays writing challenge, the link is at the top of todays article :) And make time for writing ;)

I just read it, and believe i am going to dedicate some time to writing everyday, would definitely choose early in the morning probably before 7am, before all the distractions in life come in.. lol

That is a great idea! Then it's just you and your creativity :)

The best idea would be to go on your own journey and think of things from there. You don’t have to travel that far really, just far enough that perhaps spans a few blocks. Immersing yourself into the world around you as you travel gives you a first hand feel for how it would feel for a character in a story to walk in that same setting. A great thing to do is to first build the setting in the story before you proceed with anything else.
This may be helpful. Pick up a copy of Steven King’s, A Memoir of the Craft. It is written to all of us who have aspired to be writers. Good luck, friend. And I hope you’ll find your passion.

On Writing by Steven King is a great book for writers, too :)

I love your idea! Immerse yourself into that character then take a walk, or visit a shopping center or museum. Feel what they would be feeling, look at your surroundings from their perspective, think what they would be thinking, and write it all down to get a better understanding.

Writing sometimes is a bit difficult for me. Though i could judge whether a write-up is good or not, yet i am not confident enough whether my writings are good enough... as good as according to my standard. The reason why i joined freewrite of @mariannewest is to improve my skills. Yah writing is really a talent. I salute you for having one.

@mariannewest #freewrite is an amazing practice for creativity, thinking on the fly, and improving your style by eliminating the unnecessary :)

To be completely honest with you, I have problems with my own writing, too. I think it comes with the territory. I can revise and edit and revise some more, and still find flaws. It is never good enough! lol! But I think all good writers share this very same problem.

You must edit your writing after your first draft of course, then you have to just let go. It will never live up to your standards! But with daily practice your writing will continually improve :)

Thank you hun <3

You are absolutely right. Constant practice makes things perfect.

I could not pass up reading and commenting on this post you had published here. First let me say I have always enjoyed reading your work since I discovered you through the @thesteemengine.
The title of this one drew me in because your title is my daily dose column and pretty much exactly what I do here on the steemit platform. I write about life from my perspective in my words. As far as rules go, I make my own rules.
My work may not be as polished as some others that people will come across but I don't much care, if I can't do it my way then I just won't do it.
My drive to write didn't come because of potential money, fame or fortune: all of which have yet to come by the way. It came from a personal desire and it is what motivates me, so I have to stay true to myself and do it my way.
You give some great advice in this piece and if I can offer one other suggestion to your list that would be to take plenty of your own pictures to help support your written words.
I have never really been a picture guy and plenty of people have criticized me for not using enough pictures. I will admit that my posts with photos do seem to do better, I guess people have become dependent on visual stimulation or reinforcement for what they are reading. Kind of reminds me of the early reader books that I grew up with, where the pictures told the stories and the words were there too in case you could read.
Anyway, great post and great advice you have given here.

Doing it your way is the only way to do it. If you emulate others you run the risk of coming across as unauthentic.

Be you- you're the best person for the job ;)

Good point- taking a lot of your own photos is a very good practice. It's more personal, you'll never not find the correct photo, and you'll capture exactly what you want to convey the emotional response you want from your readers.

I agree if you aren't the best person to tell your thoughts or stories then they probably should be being told.
Having your own photos with your words makes for 100% original content. I have to laugh sometimes at people who will write a post that is 30 to 40 % quoted material, cited properly though, and then with all the accompanying photos taken from an open source photo share, properly cited again, but at he end of the piece it will say . "100% Original Content" or something to that effect.
It just cracks me up....

I just had my 3rd cuppa of the day, we drink a lot of tea in the UK :) My scalp is itching a bit, but seriously... since I started on Steemit I have been writing something every day and I have started noticing things more. If you want that inspiration to write, you really have to start doing this.

Isn't it amazing how quickly it works?!

I just wanted to Up Vote the Kitten @arbitrarykitten Everyone loves Cute Kitties................

Awes! Cuteness overload :)

I love this post and had to get back to day 1 but will be sure to be on the look out for this series!

I might do your writing challenge as you go

Leonardo da Vinci believed that to truly understand something you must look at it from at least three different perspectives. When you are people watching for instance, look at your subject from their own point of view- put yourself into their shoes so to speak. Then look at them from their partners point of view. Then that of the store owner's or their dogs. This will give you a deeper understanding of the whole picture.

I love this paragraph and indeed is a way to see the bigger picture.

I'm so glad your doing the challenge! Please keep me updated, I'd love to hear your thoughts :)

I love this new challenge of yours and its true what you say about everyday life. I notice things happening around me all the time and I'm sure I would be able to turn it into something entertaining to read. There is so much inspirational all around us and we need to focus on our own writing styles and develop ourselves into the writers that we want to be.

Write down the things you notice right away! That's the best advice I can give. You lose ideas and thoughts are filtered so fast that a notebook entry is imperative :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71