You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 31 Day Writing Challenge! Day 2: How to Find Ideas From Your Life

in #writing6 years ago

I could not pass up reading and commenting on this post you had published here. First let me say I have always enjoyed reading your work since I discovered you through the @thesteemengine.
The title of this one drew me in because your title is my daily dose column and pretty much exactly what I do here on the steemit platform. I write about life from my perspective in my words. As far as rules go, I make my own rules.
My work may not be as polished as some others that people will come across but I don't much care, if I can't do it my way then I just won't do it.
My drive to write didn't come because of potential money, fame or fortune: all of which have yet to come by the way. It came from a personal desire and it is what motivates me, so I have to stay true to myself and do it my way.
You give some great advice in this piece and if I can offer one other suggestion to your list that would be to take plenty of your own pictures to help support your written words.
I have never really been a picture guy and plenty of people have criticized me for not using enough pictures. I will admit that my posts with photos do seem to do better, I guess people have become dependent on visual stimulation or reinforcement for what they are reading. Kind of reminds me of the early reader books that I grew up with, where the pictures told the stories and the words were there too in case you could read.
Anyway, great post and great advice you have given here.

Sort:  

Doing it your way is the only way to do it. If you emulate others you run the risk of coming across as unauthentic.

Be you- you're the best person for the job ;)

Good point- taking a lot of your own photos is a very good practice. It's more personal, you'll never not find the correct photo, and you'll capture exactly what you want to convey the emotional response you want from your readers.

I agree if you aren't the best person to tell your thoughts or stories then they probably should be being told.
Having your own photos with your words makes for 100% original content. I have to laugh sometimes at people who will write a post that is 30 to 40 % quoted material, cited properly though, and then with all the accompanying photos taken from an open source photo share, properly cited again, but at he end of the piece it will say . "100% Original Content" or something to that effect.
It just cracks me up....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71