My current witness choices (Part III)

in #witnesses5 years ago (edited)

From my early days of activity on the steem blockchain, it had been my habit to follow each and every active witness. After having worked through a couple of Witness Vote Reviews my 30 witness picks have remained fairly constant since then and following every active witness seemed to no longer be required. The culling has begun. 😎

Those witnesses which presently have my support give me, great, confidence that the Network is well managed on a technical level. As Steemit, Inc. makes a pivot toward Blockchain Consultants, the upcoming rocksDB HF gives the promise of a reasonable cost to the Network's future maintenance. The resently released Hiveminds supports that promise.

As Steemit, Inc. steps back from its leading role on the blockchain our choices of witnesses are more critical than ever before to the continuance of the blockchain.

So without further ado, in alphebetical order, allow me to present my Witness Picks....

@aggroed : Currently actively ranked at 2nd. Following Aggroed would be an activity of mine regardless of Aggroed being a witness or not, as we seem to share common views and interests beyond the steem blockchain. 😎

https://steemit.com/@aggroed

@anyx : Actively ranked at the 17th position. What really warmed me to Anyx is their @guard utility bot project, which searches for phishing links and presents a warning any time one is detected. To me this shows a witness who cares a great deal for their community. Its a great example of some of the quiet, yet incredibly valuable, contributions which some Witnesses make.

https://steemit.com/@anyx

@arcange : This witness is actively ranked as the 41st. Although not a household word, Arcange is the developer of the four impressive projects of SteemSQL, SteemitBoard, steem.net and SteemToolbar.

https://steemit.com/@arcange

@blockbrothers
Ranked 37th on the active witbesses' list. This witness team is another exception of not normally supporting such team witness accounts. This is primarily because of @exyle who always brings a positive and enthusiastic take on the blockchain. At this time of change such influences are needed more than ever, in my opinion.

https://busy.org/@blockbrothers

@bobinson : Ranked 73 on the active witnesses list. @bobinson came to my attention during the HF20 adoption. They showed themself to be someone who could help code us out of a, potential, disaster.

https://busy.org/@bobinson

@c0ff33a : Ranked 75th in the active witnesses list, @c0ff33a is an exception to my rule of, generally, not supporting witness teams. My belief is in one witness one vote and not witnessing by committee. However @c0ff33a already had my witness support prior to him witness teaming with @derangedvisions, so my support remains. They do seem to make a great team. 😎

https://busy.org/@c0ff33a

@devcoin : Devcoin is one of the original alt coins. For full transparency my position is HR Admin in the Devcoin Project.

The @devcoin account is currently being funded by the Devcoin Project in a merge mining endevor with Devcoin and Steem.

It is hoped that Devcoin can bring a second layer of earning to content creators while supporting Proof of Brain Voting.

More can be found about the Devcoin Project at:
http://devcoin.org

https://steemit.com/@devcoin

@dragosroua : Ranked 58th on the active witnesses list. @dragosroua is very engaging with the community. He may also be known as the creator of steem.supply. A solid Witness choice in my opinion.

https://busy.org/@dragosroua

@drakos : 19th on the active witness ranking. Drakos seems available and engaging. One can often find him live on the Witness Chat channel. Drakos seems a solid choice for a top 20 spot. It is that sacred 20 which get to vote on the software direction of the project.

https://steemit.com/@drakos

@enginewitty
Ranked 89th.on the active witnesses list.
@enginewitty's work with Steem Monsters cannot be hailed enough. Here is a dApp that could justify the steem network on its own. If you don't trust your addictive personality to participate in Steem Monsters, like me, one can at least support @enginewitty as witness. 😎

https://busy.org/@enginewitty

@firepower : Rated 46th on the active witness ranking.

Firepower engages with the community as a Steemit.chat Admin, Steemfest Crew, Project Curie and SteemCleaners & RHW. This would be a good person to make decisions in the sacred 20 in my opinion.

https://steemit.com/@firepower

@good-karma : 4th in the active witness ranking. Developer of eSteem, SteemMonitor, eSync, SteemFest and SteemAPI!

Not sure where he finds the time, but he has a pretty active blog, as well. We're lucky to have him in my opinion. 😎

https://steemit.com/@good-karma

@gtg : gtg is the topped ranked active witness. The chairman of the Board! 😎

After days of reading through outdated guides with outdated links of where to download the blockchain, @gtg took the time to leave a link, in the comments of a frustrated post of mine. He let me know where he has the blockchain available for download.

Engaging and a skilled programmer, @gtg is a great top 20 choice in my opinion.

https://steemit.com/@gtg

@jackmiller
Ranked 44th on the active witnesses list.
Jack is a self proclaimed "facts and figures" kind of guy. That, seems to me, a sensible approach of a steward of the the blockchain.

https://busy.org/@jackmiller

@justyy
Ranked 65th in the active witnesses list.
@justyy is a proven coder and generously shares many of his python scripts as open source. We need such talent and generousity in our witnesses in my opinion.

https://busy.org/@justyy

@liberosist : Liberosist is 62nd in the active witness ranking. Liberosist seems to be a strong supporter of the @curie project. After dropping support for @curie when taking on a more independent witness criteria (with some exceptions) @liberosist was offered support in their steed.

https://steemit.com/@liberosist


@lukestokes.mhth : Ranked 11th on the active witness ranking. Based in Germany, Luke explores his interests more in his non-witness account, @lukestokes.

https://steemit.com/@lukestokes.mhth

@patrice : Ranked 45th in the active witness. Patrice is a member and supporter of @steemcleaners and @spaminator, two worthwhile projects.

https://steemit.com/@patrice

@pcste
Ranked 136th in the active witnesses' list.
It is hard for me to remember what lead me to support @pcste exactly. Their photography is great and they seem very dependable in supporting the network through their witness node; however there was likely an even better reason for my support which now evades me. More when this senior's moment passes. 😎

https://busy.org/@pcste

@petertag
Ranked 137th in the active witnesses' list. It was only after interacting with Peter for a while that his activity as a witness became aware to me. He is presently studying Computer Science and seems ethusiastic and a great addition to the active witnesses.

https://busy.org/@petertag

@pfunk : Ranked 24th on the active witness listing. Pfunk was probably the first witness that came to my attention from their activity in the Open Mic Contest.

https://steemit.com/@pfunk

@pharesim
Ranked 28th in the active witnesses' list.
If memory serves it was @pharesim's involvement in the critically important steeminvite.com project which brought them my support.

https://busy.org/@pharesim

@quochuy
Ranked 95th in the active witnesses' list.
@quochuy has always been approachable and engaging, as well as having coding skills. He appears to be a solid witness by all indicators.

https://busy.org/@quochuy

@riverhead : Ranked 23rd on the active witness list Riverhead hosted steemit chat for a year before passing the torch on to a new team recently. Riverhead has also been a BitShares, Peerplays & MUSE witness.

Riverhead is not a prolific poster; yet is very active in the community. It is my assumption that Riverhead acquired a large voting base from their contacts on the many projects mentioned above.

https://steemit.com/@riverhead

@someguy123 : Ranked 9th! Someguy123 is a well respected and active witness. They have worked as a developer on the Litecoin Project as well as a lot of third party development with STEEM.

If in doubt about who to vote for, someguy123 is a pretty safe vote, in my opinion.

https://steemit.com/@someguy123

@steemychicken1 : Rated 76th on the active witness list, steemychicken1 came to my attention while researching setting up witness nodes. They had published guides on their blog. They seem to be there to help, particularly with technical issues.

https://steemit.com/@steemychicken1

@themarkymark : The 29th member of the active witness listing.

The only disagreement we share seems to concern voting bots. Themarkymark feels they are here to stay. Software solutions may still be available in my opinion.

Its not a big enough deal to remove my support; particularily how @themarkymark stood up, showing leadership, during HF20's failed launch.

https://steemit.com/@themarkymark

@timcliff : Ranked 3rd in the active witness listing. Tim is a very active witness who keeps an open line of communication with the community through his blog. He is also an able programmer which the project shall need as Steemit, Inc. takes a more blockchain focused approach going forward.

A fitting member of the sacred 20 in my opinion.

https://steemit.com/@timcliff

@ura-soul : Ranked 72nd in the active witness list. Ura-soul is the creator of steemocean and Ureka.

A cool and competent Witness!

https://steemit.com/@ura-soul

@yehey
Ranked 107th in the active witnesses' list.
@yehey massively supports their community through their curation project and stays engaged with weekly witness updates.

https://busy.org/@yehey

Sort:  

Not many people give me credit for the impact I've had on the game, I really appreciate that. If @aggroed or @yabapmatt knew how many play because of my pronounced addiction, I'd say half of the blockchain would be my 'affiliates' LOL! I've even done the voice of The Lord of Darkness, done several story readings and am a regular on the Steem Star Playhouse with @carrieallen and @chrisroberts where we have fun and yak about the game almost the whole time. Thanks for the vote of confidence my man.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the comment @enginewitty. It's nice to have more community contributions of yours to point to.

STEEM On!!! 😎

An excellent selection of Witnesses, and I like that you go to the extra effort of giving reasons why as well.

Thank you very much for your continued support, I really appreciate it and continue to try my best to be active in both promoting the blockchain and keeping our existing posters engaged.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Your enthusiasm about the project radiates from you. Always engaging and always accessable, you and your partner are great examples of how witnesses should be. We are lucky to have you. 🖒

I love posts about witnesses, especially when people take the time to explain why they vote as they do. It takes a lot of time to write out 30 names and back those names with solid reasons to vote. I haven't done a post like this in a while, but I keep up with witnesses as much as I can, and reevaluate my votes on a regular basis.

Do you know about the Witness Chat next Wednesday, Jan 23, on the Ramble discord server? Noon EST. It's a monthly forum that brings together witnesses of all ranks and stakeholders, and is always an interesting conversation. Would be great to see you there! :)

Thanks so much for the heads up on the Witness Chat! Marking it in my scheduler now! ✌

interesting.... never really given it any thought..

It's fairly important in my opinion. Witnesses shape the direction of the project and heavy stake holders need some counter balance to their influence. What might be a good software change for a whale may be a negative outcome for a minnow.

Great list.. I am new so it always good to have a full intro to another's choices..

Some I have voted for on the advice from my onboarding team at @welcomewagon..

Glad to hear that @welcomewagon is bringing witness awareness to new users. 🖒

Oh yah.. they grab yah and put yah in a discord channel and answer all your questions and give you tips and exercises to do..

amazing bunch of people..

Congratulations @novacadian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

MUY BUEN POST

Gracias por sus amables palabras.

Dear @novacadian

Hope you don't mind this post (a bit off-topic).

I know that you delegated some SP to dstors. I'm not sure if you're aware that they seem to shut down their project lately. Just check out their profile and read latest post.

Guys from dstors didn't even bother to contact people who supported them. Such a shame. This project looked very promissing.

ps.
I was wondering if you would consider supporting my efforts in building a crypto community here on Steemit..

Since HF20 took place, myself, along with a few other active "Steemians" decided to put in extra effort into making our little community stronger. And community build mostly on mutual engagement and support instead of financial rewards.

I recently delegated over 3500 SP to a group of 80 active steemians who struggled with low RC levels (resource credit). And the results has been great so far. One of my latest posts reached over 800 comments, which I found insane

Those results are only proving that our efforts are worth something. The only thing is that I can only do "that much" with my current resources.

Perhaps you could consider supporting our efforts with some delegation? I would seriously appreciate your help.

Please let me know what do you think. I will appreciate every feedback, regardless of your decision.

Yours
Piotr

Not sure how you can help noobs with delegated SPs. Through upvotes?

All my delegations of 50 SPs or less are such hand ups of which you seem to be suggesting.

Re: dStors

Did not do the research. Had just powered up 6500 STEEM and it sounded interesting, with nothing to loose so to speak. As soon as a certain person was shown to be a partner my delegation was recalled. Before the first offer was over, if memory serves.

Loading...

Dear @novacadian

it's me again

would you consider voting on witnesses important for someone who has very little SP (let's say around 50-200 SP)? do votes of those people matter at all?

Yours
Piotr

It is never about people, per se, for me as far as witnesses go; but skills and policies. What type of developmental policies would you be referring to exactly, if any?

Thank you for your prompt reply @novacadian

That's the thing. I'm just a common bloke who is active within Steemit and Im supporting number of content creators, but I have no idea about developmental policies.

My impression is that Steemit currently with it's voting system is like implementing democracy within country, where the majority of common people do not understand what's happening and why their votes matters.

I'm super clueless and only trying to learn bits and pieces to have some bigger picture

Yours
Piotr

would you consider voting on witnesses important for someone who has very little SP (let's say around 50-200 SP)? do votes of those people matter at all?

Would you be able to provide an example of a witness which is more important to someone with very little SPs and what it is that makes them important?

Dear @novacadian

Thank you for taking the time to reply.

could you be able to provide an example of a witness

Of course I cannot . Just like I said before: "I'm super clueless and only trying to learn bits and pieces to have some bigger picture".

I never voted (as most people I know) and I still don't see a reason to vote for someone who has very little power.

Yours
Piotr

I still don't see a reason to vote for someone who has very little power.

Voting stake will determine a witness' active position in the witnesses' listing. Enough voting stake can get one in the top 20 witness listing. Such top 20 witnesses get to produce a block on the blockchain each round; which is every so many seconds. It is my understanding that during the pick of a random 21st witness to produce a block in a round, the votes' count plays a weighting. So ones lower stake vote may have more influence in that choice. That is just my undetstanding of it and should not be taken as gospel. 😎

Dear @novacadian

Thank you for your kind reply and for taking the time to explain those thing to me.

That is just my undetstanding of it and should not be taken as gospel. 😎

I promise not to take it as gospel hahaha :)

Yours
Piotr

I think that new and small SP users should use the proxy system where by they effectively vote for who the proxy votes for. It took me a year of being on steem before I could distinguish 30 witnesses, and I'm still learning about what qualities I want to select for in witnesses.

Buenas noches amiga @novacadian deseando que se encuentre bien y esperando a sus nuevas publicaciones . Que tenga una gran noche.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58269.26
ETH 3067.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25