You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My current witness choices (Part III)

in #witnesses6 years ago

Dear @novacadian

it's me again

would you consider voting on witnesses important for someone who has very little SP (let's say around 50-200 SP)? do votes of those people matter at all?

Yours
Piotr

Sort:  

It is never about people, per se, for me as far as witnesses go; but skills and policies. What type of developmental policies would you be referring to exactly, if any?

Thank you for your prompt reply @novacadian

That's the thing. I'm just a common bloke who is active within Steemit and Im supporting number of content creators, but I have no idea about developmental policies.

My impression is that Steemit currently with it's voting system is like implementing democracy within country, where the majority of common people do not understand what's happening and why their votes matters.

I'm super clueless and only trying to learn bits and pieces to have some bigger picture

Yours
Piotr

would you consider voting on witnesses important for someone who has very little SP (let's say around 50-200 SP)? do votes of those people matter at all?

Would you be able to provide an example of a witness which is more important to someone with very little SPs and what it is that makes them important?

Dear @novacadian

Thank you for taking the time to reply.

could you be able to provide an example of a witness

Of course I cannot . Just like I said before: "I'm super clueless and only trying to learn bits and pieces to have some bigger picture".

I never voted (as most people I know) and I still don't see a reason to vote for someone who has very little power.

Yours
Piotr

I still don't see a reason to vote for someone who has very little power.

Voting stake will determine a witness' active position in the witnesses' listing. Enough voting stake can get one in the top 20 witness listing. Such top 20 witnesses get to produce a block on the blockchain each round; which is every so many seconds. It is my understanding that during the pick of a random 21st witness to produce a block in a round, the votes' count plays a weighting. So ones lower stake vote may have more influence in that choice. That is just my undetstanding of it and should not be taken as gospel. 😎

Dear @novacadian

Thank you for your kind reply and for taking the time to explain those thing to me.

That is just my undetstanding of it and should not be taken as gospel. 😎

I promise not to take it as gospel hahaha :)

Yours
Piotr

I think that new and small SP users should use the proxy system where by they effectively vote for who the proxy votes for. It took me a year of being on steem before I could distinguish 30 witnesses, and I'm still learning about what qualities I want to select for in witnesses.

Im here almost a year @ecoinstant and this topic is very confusing to me.

thx buddy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.68
ETH 2443.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36