Viking God (@dwells) [original art - watercolor] - @Papa-Peppers Wild & Strange Contest Season x Round 2 Art !

This is my entry for @papa-peppers Wild & Strange Contest Season x Round 2 Art!


CONGRATS to @dwells for winning round 1!

I had a lot of fun with this one mainly because it is SO DIFFERENT from any style that I have ever done before; more of a comic book style, but I love the style and would love to do more like it sometime in the future!

It is all watercolor (which I'm still learning! but this was great practice!) I tried to give him somewhat of a "viking" feel.

I was on a bit of a time crunch because I had to get this done and posted before missing any of the Ohio State vs Michigan game! (Go BUCKS!)

Drop a comment below and let me know what you think!!

final.jpg

Here are the process shots:

IMG_20171125_015715366.jpg

IMG_20171125_020551306.jpg

IMG_20171125_021538889.jpg

IMG_20171125_085731751.jpg

IMG_20171125_091354750.jpg

IMG_20171125_093402357.jpg

IMG_20171125_103316255.jpg

IMG_20171125_105039136.jpg

If you'd like to see more like this, please follow me @allstarrunner!


Please check out some of my other art:

@allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner

Sort:  

How much you want for the original?

I assume you're talking steem, or sbd? (maybe there isn't even a difference, I don't know; ha) You name the price and its yours. I'm not looking to make money off it, so whatever you want to give!

Cool! Are you on steemit.chat or discord.

I'll get you a shipping address and figure out how much I want to pay for it.

on both; although I don't check steemitchat as much; discord is same as my steemit id @allstarrunner

Also, YOU WIN! Prepare to see a lot of MEMEs with your artwork as the base!

excellent, thanks!

So great! That background really made the viking pop! The lines really emphasized his ferocity. If I could just change one thing, I guess it would have to be the brows to make them meet at the middle more. At first I thought that his mouth might not be too opened, but having him look angrier with his eyes would do it for me. Also, the sword on his left hand seems a bit thin. It might not be easily distinguishable.

All in all, amazing stuff, my friend! If you can spare a minute, you might want to look at this for a "surprise": https://steemit.com/sevendaybnwchallenge/@jedau/7-day-black-and-white-photo-challenge-day-4

I agree with all your critiques! The main problem was I had a very short amount of time to get it done, today was my Thanksgiving and Ohio State played earlier and there is no option to miss OSU play, especially The Game. This was the first time I did an all watercolor "face", and basically I didn't want to mess around with it too much as I was afraid something might go horribly wrong and ruin the whole thing lol I did also want to adjust the sword to make it so it was at a different angle (like I did the axe) so you could see more of it, but then I knew I'd have to change the hand position and then that would change the arm angle and so I went with the "quick" route and kept it the same as the source photo; but if I had the time I would have done all you suggested!

Glad to hear you have your priorities in order haha! Nitpicks aside, it was a great piece, which I'm sure would take home the victory! I should know as I'm a fellow winner of that contest, but for the poetry category haha!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by allstarrunner from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.14 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07