This Week's Whaleshares Writing Contest and Winners from Last Week! Compete for your share of 1000s of Steem in prizes!

in #whaleshares7 years ago

First, I would like to thank everyone that contributed to last week's writing contest. There were a lot of good entries not to mention that I have grown close to many of you so choosing the winners was hard. Eventually, I had to resort to choosing the entries with the most upvotes. and the winners are:

First place: @rahul.stan with 11 upvotes
Second place: @patelincho with 7 upvotes
Third place: @pairmike with 4 upvotes

The winners have all received their whaleshares. Enjoy, they were definitely earned.

This week's contest

This week I want to focus on building the steemit community. I am busy building more tools for use with the steem blockchain and building our community and want to see what you guys can do too. With that in mind, this week the topic for the writing contest is what you can do to benefit the steemit community. This can be anything from developers building tools to bringing new users to the platform to anything else you think would benefit the community. The choice is yours. Just write a post about it and post it in the comments. The rewards will be the same as last week: 500 for first place, 300 for second place and 100 for third place. Good luck and happy steeming!


Be sure to catch us on discord! https://discord.gg/RRDzn6c

Sort:  
Loading...

Excellent post!

You win second place! Leave me your bitshares/openledger username and I'll send your whaleshares.

Thanks.
My openledger username is: maya7

I only received 100 whaleshares. I believe the second prize is 300. :)

Ooops, I'm sorry... I got my contests confused. I'll send the rest now.

No problem. :)

Attention @Cheetah ´s - I hope that @jphenderson is clever enough to distinguish honest entries from cheating ones ... 40+ votes in 7 hours? sure why not ... luckily me eSteem app shows me the time of voting, like https://steemd.com does, and it´s obvious that the entry from @maya7, @fatpandadesign and @skinnythames were upvoted by voting bots ...
actually i was also thinking if i should post my reply via eSteem to get 12+ votes, but i thought that would have been to obvious ... i´m here for the community, not for the money and for the craving of it ...
@maya7
cheetah-maya7.jpg

@fatpandadesign
cheetah-panda.jpg

@skinnythames
cheetah-skinnythames.jpg

all got upvotes by mostly the same names, not at exactly the same time, but 14-20 votes were given at one and the same time ...
actually i was the one who invited @fatpandadesign to this contest, but i guess i won´t invite him anywhere in the future ... i´m also part of his minnow fb group, which i guess i´ll eventually leave
@jphenderson, if you need the screenshots fot better reading let me know via steemit.chat - or you can check out by yourself
https://steemd.com/

Love, Flurgx

if this isn´t i don´t know what is .. we are on a blockchain guys ... you can not hide shit like this! but if you need that shares so desperately, then go ahead - i give you mine voluntary - life is not about money ... you should actually know that with the history you are coming from ...
and the last word has @jphenderson, he has to state if this is cheating in his eyes or not

@maya7 is my mother's account. She was on the top with 8 votes when I saw that people were using bots to vote for themselves. I only used the bot votes to counter the others.
But if it is cheating and since I can't remove the votes then I request @jphenderson to not count the votes between 2017-06-15T06:24:24 and 2017-06-15T06:38:21 . Because in that timeframe the bot votes occured.
That will make it fair.

thanks for your reply @rahul.stan - i´m not quite sure, but i don´t think that this contest was intended to be a "who got the better voting bot" contest ...
anyways i think the "who got the most votes" way of determining the winner has a flaw in itself ... maybe @jphenderson or the community itself can figure out a way to determine winners in contests, other than the upvote count ..
the price is very hot here, so the temptation is huge to cheat ...
you are at least honest enough to say that you used a bot ...
@fatpandadesign ignored me, laughed at me and kicked me out of the facebook group .. yeah ... a real sportsman :D
see u around

I have tried to be fair. But seeing others cheat I had had to take this drastic step.
Hope @jphenderson can see behind this. She worked hard on this post. And I couldn't stand seeing someone cheat to win it.

thanks for your help... I was already onto that.

If you disqualify the "bot" votes (which are majority just actual users who followed our trail) that's fine - i've gone and secured at least 40+ non "bot" votes from other people who want to help me pay it forward. We have a member in our group who is in need and if i win this, a good chunk is going her way to make up for what was stolen from her. So however you decide to handle this, I respect that, but I've played fair the past few days and gotten plenty of votes from other people. The timestamps will prove this. Thank you for your consideration and however this plays out I respect your decision.

That will greatly benefit not only our community but others as well. Excellent entry!

What a wonderful initiative! Excellent entry!

Thank you so much @jphenderson!

Hi @jphenderson, has the results for this competition been announced?

I wrote an article yesterday about genetics and the collapse of human kind if we don't notice and change the trend lines we are on!
https://steemit.com/life/@thearcanebear/safety-and-comfort-allow-people-to-act-selfishly

Excellent post! I wish I had more time to discuss this at the moment as you touch on a lot of things that I have studied quite a bit. Perhaps some other time.

Of course, it was just a wave that rolled over me. I live alone in the jungle. I myself have more than enough space. I do not find myself in the mice utopia, but i can watch it from a far!

A lot of it has to do with the availability of resources too. Fewer resources lead to smarter and stronger creatures of all kinds. I can't recall the terms for it but there's a lot of scientific research done about it. Of course, you don't hear about it much but it's there.

of course, we are hard wired to survive, when we see luxury we are drawn to it cause its so rare to naturally find! Now we have created and live in it constantly we have become very different animals than we used to be!

Very true.... Basically you want a balance. If things are too easy you get the mouse utopia problem but if things are too hard you get the PTSD problem. Ideally, you should be able to get the rewards with a reasonable amount of work.

Let's hope so, otherwise I have no idea what the hell I am doing living on the side of the mountain in the jungle!

That sounds so lovely...

Living the dream I would say!!

The more we know the better!

Excellent entry! That is really helpful.

Here is my submission:

https://steemit.com/whaleshares/@qadesh/whaleshare-writing-contest-what-you-can-do-to-benefit-the-community-of-steemit

Thanks for the contest. It's always nice to participate and contribute to the community.

Excellent advice!

Hoping this would be a valid entry. Here is my post jp. Thank you! Game mode : ON.

https://steemit.com/whaleshares/@jassennessaj/whaleshare-writing-contest-what-you-can-do-to-benefit-the-community-of-steemit

Thanks jp! Btw, how should we call you? I'm new here.

JP works for me... they also call me the walrus

I prefer calling you JP. Btw, I saw one of the post of #themanualbot being resteemed by you. He is my classmate. How is that possible? Can it also be done on my post? Just wondering JP. I am new to Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67597.54
ETH 3772.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55