Wednesday Walk. Spring in the Sydney Botanical Gardens with a touch of Marilyn Monroe: The Calyx: The Fernery: Artisans in the Garden. Original Art and Photography.

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Gently
Brushing the cobwebs
Veiling your face. Ever so softly now.
Wiping the tears that no-one sees. Is anyone watching?
For a brief moment. I caress the contours of your face. You 'speak' to me.
I feel the neglect, the desecration, the disfigurement, the sorrow.
But you are HERE.
Waiting silently for Spring. To see the beauty of nature all around you.
You rejoice to connect. With every passer-by.
With me NOW.
~Ally.

springcollage.png

Be real. Be yourself. Be unique.
Be true. Be honest. Be humble. Be happy.
~Marilyn Monroe.


Wednesday Walk initiated by @tattoodjay is a wonderful way to see those hidden gems in your 'ordinary' environment, and experience those unexpected magical moments when you can truly delight in your world.

To capture the spirit of a place is to connect to that place in a new and stimulating way: It can be as if you have never been to that place before. A flower or rock, a bridge or a statue: In that space can all of sudden take on a new 'persona' and with the connection you have, birth something new within yourself.

Such was my experience when I went to the Sydney Botanical Gardens this week.

I went to the gardens, mainly with the idea in mind of seeing the annual exhibition: Artisans in the Gardens being held at the Lion Gate Lodge in the Gardens.

Original.BEST-2417.jpg

Entrance sign outside the gates of the Sydney Botanical Gardens.


I entered the grounds of the Gardens through the Morshead Gate which is directly opposite the State Library of New South Wales.

map.png

Map of The Royal Botanic Garden Sydney. Source:


The Sydney Botanical Gardens are very clearly signposted at all the entrances and throughout the gardens.

The signpost just inside Morshead Gate indicated that the Palace Rose Garden, the Herb Garden and the Sydney Opera House were to my right and Lion Gate Lodge along with the Camellia Garden, the Herbarium, the Restaurant and Cafe, the Fernery and the Palm House were to my right.

Thankfully 'The Libran' didn't have to make a 'left or right' decision as she was on her way to The Lion Gate Lodge, which was only a 7 minute walk away.

Original.-2423.jpg

I can see it now, so very clearly: THE CALYX on the top of the signpost.


I quickly noted that the Fernery and the Palm House were only 4 and 5 minutes away respectively and thought it would be great to drop by these favourite 'haunts' of mine ~ Yet little did I know what else I would see and experience in the gardens, long before I would even reach the Fernery.

I genuinely enjoyed walking through the city to reach the gardens: Seeking to be open to the diversity and energy of it all. However as soon as I entered the Gardens, the magic really began: The high notes of the birds and the low sighs of the wind through the trees were a 'balm to my soul.'

Original.-2425.jpg

Looking down past the Rose Garden to the Sydney Harbour.


And there she was. An old familiar friend who is always there to greet me.

I wonder how many people have walked past this magnificent Ficus, and seeing the beauty of her massive trunk with its amazing entanglement of hanging roots, want to touch or even hug her ~ Or simply wish to just stand under her outstretching shade giving branches and feel her radiating energy.

Original.-2427.jpg

Always be yourself. Retain individuality.
Listen to the truest part of yourself.
~Marilyn Monroe.


Digressing just a little.

But before I slowly meander on to the Fernery and the Palm House: Did you know that Marilyn Monroe had a genuine affection for trees and the woods, as you can see in these most captivating images?

One of the first photo shoots Marilyn Monroe had, in 1950 while still relatively unknown, surfaced when LIFE magazine was digitizing its stock of photos. The photographer Ed Clark described how Marilyn would head out to the wooded areas of Griffith Park in L.A and read poetry, and he would follow with his camera. ~Adam Winson.

MarilynMonroecollage.png

Always, always, always believe in yourself. ~Marilyn Monroe.
Photographs: Ed Clark. Source.


In these early photos, Marilyn appears unaffected and relaxed, reflecting a woman comfortable around trees and in woodland environments. ~Adam Winson.

MarilynMonroetree.png

Trees give me a little hope. ~Marilyn Monroe.
Photograph: Ed Clark. Source.


Back to the pathway heading towards the Fernery and the Palm House.

This pathway here, along the top section of the Garden, is lined with the most beautiful groves of Paperbark trees. The Paperbarks are one of my favourite indigenous trees ~ But more about the Paperbarks another time.

Native Rosemary, that you can see in the foreground of this photograph, is a perennial plant that seems to be in flower throughout the year. I love brushing her flat pine-needle like leaves and breathing in her healing fragrance. It always seems to have such a soothing effect on either an overactive or dulled-down mind.

Rosemary is recognized for its wonderful health and healing benefits:

Unique compounds and oils include rosmarinic acid and essential oils such as cineol, camphene, borneol, bornyl acetate, and α-pinene, providing anti-inflammation, anti-fungal, antibacterial, and antiseptic properties. And research provides ample evidence that Rosemary not only improves memory, but helps protect the body from cancer. ~Dr. Mercola. Read more: Health Benefits of Rosemary

1000.-2418.jpg

Just remember: Some come. Some go.
The ones that stay with you, through everything
They're your true best friends. Don't let go of them.
~Marilyn Monroe.


The Calyx.

Heading in the general direction of the Fernery, the Palm House and The Lion Gate Lodge, I saw a sign: Plants with Bite. I was always fascinated by the colour and voluptuous shapes of the Pitcher Plants that used to be in the Tropical Glass Pyramid and becoming curious now about THE CALYX, I wandered on until I reached the stairway down to this most impressive new (to me anyway) outdoor and indoor exhibition space.

Original.-2429.jpg

Boys think girls are like books.
If the cover doesn’t catch their eye they won’t bother to read what’s inside.
~Marilyn Monroe.


The Calyx opened in June 2016 as a unique event and learning venue.

The indoor exhibition area of the Calyx boasts a magnificent green vertical wall: The largest live plant and flower wall in the southern hemisphere. The exhibitions in this indoor space last for the entire year and are meticulously maintained by the Garden Staff over this period.
Source: The Calyx.

ORIGINAL.1000.-2437.jpg

I only know I want to be wonderful. ~Marilyn Monroe.


Plants with Bite.

The current display at the Calyx: Plants with Bite was curated by the Garden’s Director of Horticulture, Jimmy Turner and tells the story of the captivating and bizarre world of carnivorous plants.

This display was TOTALLY amazing. 18 months in the making it's a stunning combination of creative expression and floristry, a botany lesson for children and adults alike.

I was able to speak to one of the attendants about the best times to revisit, so as to avoid the crowds: I'll be back there again, at just before opening time: 10 am, on a week day.

Watch for an entire article about this stunning display.

Original.-2457.jpg

Imperfection is beauty. Madness is genius.
And it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.
~Marilyn Monroe.


Stepping away from the path more traveled.

I love the principle of creating more space in a small space by designing winding trails through it. A principle I've worked into designing a mini-rainforest in my own backyard.

Original.-2479.jpg

I believe that everything happens for a reason.
Things go wrong so that you appreciate them when they’re right
~Marilyn Monroe.


The Sydney Fernery.

The Fernery is one of my favorite spaces in the Gardens. Not so many colourful flowers here, apart from the occasional exotic orchid.

The 'old worldly' atmosphere, reminds me of being at my grandparents' home when I was a child and the indoor fernery my grandfather cared for: An idea that I've always loved and if I were ever to design my own home, it would have a HUGE indoor fernery at the very heart of it.

Original.-2483.jpg

I’m pretty but not beautiful. ~Marilyn Monroe.


Little ornamental bridge in the middle of the Fernery.

Original.-2480.jpg

The way you carry yourself is influenced by the way you feel inside.
You must feel attractive to be attractive.
~Marilyn Monroe.


The Lion Gate Lodge.

I finally reached the Lion Gate Lodge to see the exhibition: Artisans in the Gardens

Artisans in the Gardens is an annual contemporary Australian craft and sculpture exhibition showcasing some of Australia's finest established and emerging artists and craftspeople. Now in its 18th year, the exhibition celebrates the natural world in its many different forms and also highlights current environmental issues and sustainability.

This collection of colourful ceramic totems by Liza Hoelzi was in the courtyard. Individual totems could be bought or commissioned and it was drawing a lot of favourable attention.

Original.-2491.jpg

Ceramics by Liza Hoelzi.


Artworks including sculpture and ceramics, jewelry and glass, wood and metal-work, textiles and mixed media pieces were on display within the grounds, courtyard and the two floors of the Lion Gate Lodge.

My favourite works were inside the Lodge ~ I'll be sharing photographs of them, along with other works in the garden court in another article.

Original.-2493.jpg

Detail of the Ceramics by Liza Hoelzi.


The Spring Walk.

After marveling at some of the works in Artisans in the Gardens I found myself on The Spring Walk which is the oldest continuous horticulture display in Australia.

The southern side was initially planted with rhododendrons, azaleas and other shade-loving plants in 1856 and this then established a tradition of other Spring flowering plantings alongside the pathway between the Lion Gate Lodge and the Botanical Gardens Creek.

I can still remember walking along this pathway and being enveloped by masses of vivid pink azaleas when I exhibited my artwork in the Palm House in 2000. Note 1*

Stunning at their peak, azaleas have a way of looking quite straggly and unsightly in their demise though. They grow magnificently in the Blue Mountain Botanical Gardens, but Sydney's climate is perhaps a little too hot and humid for them and so they attract all sorts of diseases like powdery mildew, leaf miner, mites, thrips and lacebug, that damage their leaves, flowers and roots.

Original.-2520.jpg

But then as Marilyn Monroe once said:
If you can’t handle me at my worst you don’t deserve me at my best.


Spring.

Even from a distance, my attention was immediately drawn to the figure of Spring, standing by the small bridge, at the far end of the Macquarie Wall. Note 2*

SO happy to see: She's still here.

Original.-2522.jpg

I didn't mind being thought of as dumb. I knew I wasn't. ~Marilyn Monroe.


Spring's garden.

The wisterias and plum and cherry blossom trees that feature along the Spring Walk in the early Spring had reached their peak several weeks ago ~ Blossom time never seems to last quite long enough, does it? Still, some of the garden beds were in magnificent full bloom with Spring annuals: Red poppies and cornflowers, violas and lobelias, stocks and primulas.

However, the area immediately around Spring seemed to me to be slightly on the desolate side.

For me, Spring is a Goddess who should always be surrounded by an absolutely Heavenly Garden.

Original.-2521.jpg

Sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together. ~Marilyn Monroe.


Cobwebs.

I was aware of the thought: Is anyone watching? As I gently wiped the cobwebs away from Spring's face.

Original.-2526.jpg

The real lover is the one who can thrill you
Just by touching your forehead or smiling into your eyes.
~Marilyn Monroe.


Broken.

Spring's nose was now broken and her eyes bore marks of weathering: Standing silently day and night in the harsh summer sun and winter's wind and rain.

I felt as a mother, caressing the face of a young child. Was anyone watching? It didn't seem to matter anymore. I was held in a bubble. I could feel her energy. Hard to describe now in words and perhaps if you have ever experienced anything like this you may understand.

It was as if Spring was alive and was letting me see her world.

Original.-2523.jpg

I feel that beauty and femininity are ageless. ~Marilyn Monroe.


Beauty.

Nearly all my life I have loved perfection and equated it with beauty. But Spring gave me yet another example of the beauty that can be in a statue or a human being that is slightly less than my ideal of perfection.

Original.-2524.jpg

I want to grow old without facelifts. I want to have the courage to be loyal to the face I have made. ~Marilyn Monroe.


Spring in 2000

I photographed Spring sometime in the late 90’s and created this collage as part of a series for my first solo exhibition: Spirals, Twists and Turns in The Palm House Gallery in the Botanical Gardens in 2000.

While I was setting up the exhibition, I noticed that Spring wasn’t in the gardens. Upon enquiring, I was told that she had been vandalized once again.

Look closely at the collage and you can see that Spring had already lost her arm, but her nose and eyes were intact and were truly aesthetically pleasing.

springcollage.border.png

She was a girl who knew how to be happy even when she was sad. And that’s important. ~Marilyn Monroe.


The Graveyard at the Sydney Botanical Gardens.

Then in 2006 a team from International Conservation Services found Spring in the 'Graveyard' and once again she was restored. You can see her at the back, second from the right in this photograph.

Original.--2.jpg

Everyone's a star and deserves the right to twinkle. ~Marilyn Monroe.

Photograph: Heritage marble statuary at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Sydney


Macquarie Culvert: The oldest bridge in Australia.

Spring stands beside the Macquarie Culvert. I love these little bridges in the Gardens but I'd never really known the significance of this channel. For some reason, this time I took the time to read about it and found out that the Macquarie Culvert actually is the oldest bridge in Australia.

The Macquarie Culvert is a channel crossing that was built to direct the water of the Botanical Gardens Creek under the original Mrs Macquarie Road, which was built under the instruction of Governor Macquarie in 1816 for his 'wife's recreation' ie taking her horse-drawn carriage from the original Government House (now the Museum of Sydney) to Anson Point which was later called Mrs. Macquarie Point.

The two brick arches of the bridge were made from sandstone bricks that were handmade by convicts. See Note 3*

Original.-2530.jpg

All I want is to be loved, for myself and for my talent. ~Marilyn Monroe.


The Bridge.

Risking being told: You are taking 'steps less traveled' ~ I ventured even closer to the bridge, to capture her stone arches clothed in beautiful hanging violets.

Original.-2532.jpg

I restore myself when I’m alone. ~Marilyn Monroe.


Macquarie Culvert: On the other side of the pathway.

With the late afternoon light filtering through the palms casting her long shadows, it was time now to leave the Gardens.

Original.-2533.jpg

It's often just enough to be with someone.
A feeling passes between you both.
You're not alone.
~Marilyn Monroe.


Tree Waratah.

But then I saw this most amazing Tree Waratah, just down the pathway. This primitive rainforest tree, that is now threatened with extinction was planted in 1950 on the final section of the Spring Walk.

Original.-2518.jpg

Tree Waratah at the Sydney Botanical Gardens.


And then as a final farewell.

The most magnificent display of orchids just outside the Visitors Centre. The end and the beginning (according to which direction you are coming from) of the Spring Walk.

Original.-2536.jpg

Keep smiling because life is a beautiful thing and there’s so much to smile about. ~Marilyn Monroe.


Note 1*

Silk painting became very popular in the late 80's and I worked with a very detailed technique called Serti Silk Painting for just on twelve years. By the end of the 90's, after my silk work had been shown in several galleries around Sydney and sent to Japan, Germany, France and the US ~ I moved into mixed media and photography.

The exhibition at the Palm House in the Sydney Botanical Gardens gave me the opportunity to conduct my own solo exhibition which highlighted my work with both silk painting and collage.

The Olympic Games were held in Sydney later that year and my silk work was displayed as part of the David Jones window display as well as in the store.

Note 2*

In 1810 a 950-foot wall was built to separate the Government Domain from the city and only a small section of that wall now remains.

The original road ran along the side of the wall and the current footpath follows the curve of that road.

Note 3*

The British government began transporting convicts to American colonies in the early 18th century. With the start of the American Revolution, Australia was chosen as an alternative site to relieve further overcrowding of British prisons and between 1788 and 1868 about 162,000 convicts were transported to various penal colonies in Australia.

Many convicts were transported for petty crimes or were political prisoners. Once emancipated, most ex-convicts stayed in Australia and joined the free settlers, with some rising to prominent positions in Australian society. Source.


My Wednesday Walks.

Walking around my own front yard Garden.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: 35 mm:

Creative Commons License
All photographs by Alison Lee Cousland in this article are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

Terms of CC BY-SA.

  • This ShareAlike license will allow you to reproduce and/or manipulate this image even for your commercial purposes.

  • You are required to attribute me, Alison Lee Cousland as the designer/artist.

  • You also need to be willing to license any of your new creations that make use of this image, under the identical terms IE allow others to reproduce and/or build their own art upon your art, as well as granting their right to commercial usage.



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png

Sort:  

Very nice walk. I liked the parallel you draw with Marilyn Monroe. Very nice post with quotes. You took us to Your favorite places in the Park. Your encounter with this sculpture of Spring is so sweet and so touching. You described her with such love and tenderness. Thank you @allyinspirit !

Wow what an amazing walk so much beauty and so well presentex with wonderful information and notes

I loved this post

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Thanks so much Jay.

So much for my vow of keeping my articles simple. The Universe plays jokes on me all the time. As soon as I say one thing, it contrives to have me do the opposite.

I love our Botanical Gardens. I could just go there every week and show a totally unique aspect.

And thanks for the tip. Your encouragement means a lot to me. 🦋

MarilynMonroe.MM.png

I love your botanical Gardens and love how you shared them with us, you may have planne don SImple but I am glad you went the way you did

It deserves a second tip!

I actually spent most of my week playing with it Jay. Once I started there were so many gaps that needed filling in. Amazing how when you are writing, one thing can lead to another in such an unexpected and exciting way.

I'd never seen those images of Marilyn before or pondered on some of the things she'd said. Love finding a quote that adds to an image too ~ So as well as scrolling up and down ~ It was a lot of fun. 🦋

Well it was well worth the effort you put into it I must say

I just noticed @archisteem's project: '1001 Places to Remember' and would love to submit something for it. Perhaps this article was in preparation for something else I might write. Yes, I think it truly was worth it Jay. Thanks once again. 🙏

Hi @allyinspirit! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Hi @allyinspirit! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

What a fabulous blog @allyinspirit This is the kind of place my camera and I could happily 'get lost' in for a few hours. Your photos and information are wonderful. Congratulations on your worthy @curie and @c-squared recogintions. They make a huge difference to our motivation and positive outlook here in steemit. I look forward to seeing more of your inspirational work. Have an awesome weekend.

How I shall treasure this post...! This is absolutely beautiful, Alison...
I love everything about it... your description of the gardens, the statue of Spring, especially how the story is interspersed with bits of Marilyn and her quotes! I didn't know how many she had, and how eloquent she was! Thank you for writing this... and sharing it with us... 🌿

Thank you for taking us into this nice walk in Sydney Botanic garden, the first thing that is noticeable is solar panel. It is nice that for such small stuff solar energy used, I believe in summer there are many sunny days and it is a shame not to use it. I recall the moments when I was in our botanic garden,we usually spent the whole day, I take a lunchbox and there are plenty of sitting possibilities and we have small pause with our son who just enjoys the butterflies and frogs in pond. The pictures of Marilyn are wonderful, I believe park is proud of being a place that was visited by such prominent person. The Calyx look amazing, I love the mixture of different color of wall. The next picture you have little insect hunting plants they are also one of the most interesting places where we usually stop and have to read what is written and look if anyone was trapped in them already. Beautiful Art collections, that is a great idea to combine Art and plants, as both of them are beautiful. That was really enjoyable trip, thank you for this informative post :)

Oh Ali, your Wednesday walk is so lovely. Stunning photos, interesting information, perfectly structured post. You have done amazing job!
I could not stop reading until I reached the end. It was delight to walk with you!

Thanks so very much Neli.

It just kept growing. I did think of dividing it ~ But I felt it all needed to be together.

As it is I've only touched on some of the aspects I still have to share. Like the collages. It was the first time that the 11:11 symbol came into my artwork ~ Unknowingly. ♥︎

MarilynMonroe.MM.png

I love the poem at the beginning of the post, didn't know you are a poet too...

Your walk through the garden was such an amazing one, you definitely did discover some amazing things on this walk.

The Calyx, those guys that continually work on making it look that great truly are amazing, I haven't seen something like that before... And the plants that bite, i will definitely love to watch that display...

That Garden is full of beauty, waiting to be discovered and also connect with. Its so amazing!

A wonderful walk full of beautiful memories related to the lost soul, among human monsters. Nostalgic areas have delighted my soul.

I wanted to tell you that I was in Australia, specifically in Brisbane. I am charmed with your country and I will be back there for sure :)

Greetings my dear

What a wonderful walk in a perfect place, Alyson! So many beautiful subjects, the trees, the history, the colors! Loved every single capture, and we can say you really enjoyed the walk! Cheers, my dear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42