Wednesday Walk Challenge Just Say No and Steem Basic Income Give away

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

Wednesday Walk Challenge Just Say No

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by me, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Try to limit yourself to a set distance or time from the starting location, say 5 Blocks, 5 Minutes walk or whatever and see what you can find in that short distance

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all.

Following me and resteeming the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion, but you may have a better chance of receiving a Steem Basic Income Share if you do.

I am not strict about these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, resteem and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk, plus I will be sending @steembasicincomeshares to a selection of those who participate.

My Post for this week

I went for a long walk the other morning, but all these shots came from the last few minutes of my walk when I walked through Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza and noticed all the signs and they got me thinking,

1 Wednesday Walk Just say No_.jpg


Sony A7iii 50mm F5 1/60 ISO 500
*Click here to view larger



This first one is saying as you can see no smoking in the park in a few languages, as an ex-smoker I kind of agree with the sign, but I can tell you that many ignore it, and it's not that they just have this one there is a few throughout the park.

1 Wednesday Walk Just say No_-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 48mm F5 1/60 ISO 200
*Click here to view larger



And another sign standing out on its green background, letting people know that No Skateboarding, Rolling blading or Cycling Sports is allowed in the park, and for a park where you get a good variety of people, Workers taking a break, people walking their children in Strollers, Elderly enjoying some time outside, I guess it is a good thing to try and enforce.

But it was at this stage I decided on this theme for this weeks post, all these signs telling us what we can't do in the park, they far out way the couple of signs with the name of the park.

I know there was the Just Say No Campaign a few years ago, to educate kids to avoid drugs, which was hard to miss with signs up and adverts everywhere for the campaign, but here in NYC and perhaps in other cities and maybe even in other Countries, it just seems to me that the signs telling us what we do are becoming more and more common and in a way are over the top.

What about in your area, are there signs all over telling you what you cannot do?

1 Wednesday Walk Just say No_-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 70mm F7.1 1/60 ISO 250
*Click here to view larger



By the time I saw this one I was feeling a bit rebellious about all the signs telling me what I could not do, So I choose to stand for a minute and took this photo.

But seriously I think this sign is for the cars driving down the street, that they cannot Park there between 6AM to ^PM probably to allow traffic to flow.

1 Wednesday Walk Just say No_-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 34mm F7.1 1/60 ISO 2000
*Click here to view larger



And incase you missed the other no Skateboarding sign, they have it again

1 Wednesday Walk Just say No_-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 38mm F7.1 1/60 ISO 1000
*Click here to view larger


And finally, in case one was not paying attention and missed all the other signs in the park, there is this one, which has a long list of things you cannot do in the park in three languages, and if your language isnt there, they include graphics as well.

are all these signs telling us what not to do really needed I wonder?

Well that's enough on NO for this post, just say yes and do a Wednesday walk post :) y

Steem Basic Income give away

I mentioned in the guidelines that from this week I will be sponsoring a few who join the #wednesdaywalk challenge with shares on Steem Basic Income

What is Steem Basic Income you may ask well here is how they explain it

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content. so I have decided to randomly send some Steem to add shares for some of my followers so on the weekend I sponsored the following people
@enginewitty, @unicornquiffe, @starjewel, @deerjay, @tali72, @ironshield, @sgbonus, @girlbeforemirror, @hangin,

All people who joined in last weeks Wednesday walk, I would love to be able to give everyone who joins a Steem Basic Income share, but I don't make enough steem each week to do so, but I will try and share them around fairly between those that join the challenge

I hope a few of you may find this an interesting challenge and decide to join in.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.752145 lat -73.968577 long Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Most of the icons on the last sign are easy to understand, like put your trash in the can, keep your dog on leash, no smoking, no bonfires... but the last two are very specific .......
NYC Park Sign (2).jpg
No Martinis and No Falconeering. Do you have a problems with an abundance of people drinking martinis and doing falconeering in the park? :)

Drunk falcons are quite dangerous i've heard

My poor attempt at dry humor didn't come out so well in text

Best comment I've seen in a while, thanks for the giggle! ;)

Darn it! There goes my weekend plans....

Oh you should come over our way. People around here embrace drunken falconeering along with many other drunken activities ;)

Bah ha ha! Sounds like a fun place!

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-challenge-just-say-no-and-steem-basic-income-give-away


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

So many limitations in this park. I reckon that they are required in order to keep everybody happy but seeing them listed all over the place it's a little annoying.
Great photos, my friend. I simply love them. 👍

Thanks, YEs I am asure your right but I do feel they go overboard with them

lol basically it means DO NOT FAVE FUN whatsoever! LOL. The no skating one is one I've always ignored...

LOl You could well be right and I think Most Skateboarders ignore it as well:)

You know what? This took my attention! LOL

Its hard to miss :)

That makes me think for the No signs in my neighborhood and by far I recall one in the local small park saying it is forbidden to walk your dog without a lead. I am afraid some dogs do not agree and their humans disregard the sign. :-)
But seriously some signs do make sense when you consider safety first.

Yes I agree some are safety related and should be followed but some are just taking it to far

Not standing too?! Whaaaaat the beeeep?! 😐

LOL yeah but I do think its for cars and not pedestrians :)

I did a post like this way back when at a County beach with all the signs that spoiled your fun. They even had no swimming sign at the beach.

I think they have gone a bit overboard with all the signs myself, NO swimming at a beach thats a prime example

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16