Wednesday Walk. My own Flower Garden. Original Photography.

Wednesday Walk.
Where will I go? What will I see?
What will I discover? Uncover? Recover?
A cosmic law in a daisy. My awareness shifts. I AM happy.
~Ally.

One of the challenges that really caught my attention when I returned to Steemit was
Wednesday Walk initiated by @tattoodjay.

One of the reasons why I gravitated to Wednesday Walk is that it encourages us to visit our favourite places or share our neighbourhood or route to work ~ But to see our surroundings in a completely new way.

There are so many beautiful, and some not so beautiful spaces and places around Sydney that I'd love to explore and share with you and participating in Wednesday Walk is sure to provide the perfect inspiration to venture out, at least once a week to capture the spirit of wherever I feel guided to go.

I live in the Sydney suburb of Roseville, which true to her name is home to many wonderful rose gardens. It's Spring in Sydney and the roses are just starting to bloom and so it will be my pleasure to show you some of these gardens.

But for now, I'd like to show you the plants and flowers that are absolutely thriving in my own front garden, after deluges of rain for the last few weeks, after an extremely dry winter.

Maybe the lack of rain over winter and then the sudden heat wave provided the perfect storm for our Wisteria to open so abundantly?

Original-2.jpg

I AM abundant. ~Wisteria.


Going a different way to QiGong this morning, my attention was drawn to a row of massive Red Bottlebrush trees on the nature strip. A topic for another Wednesday Walk perhaps?

For now, this is the VERY first Red Bottlebrush flower on my own 'Would-be-one-day Red Bottlebrush tree.

This plant survived being cut back to base level by an overzealous 'whipper snipperer' two years ago. It's wonderful to see it growing so vigorously now.

Original-2247.jpg

I AM a survivor. ~Red Bottlebrush.


I planted Sweet Pea seedlings a few months ago, in an attempt to cover the brick wall on the front of the house. However, the trellis it needs to climb up is still a thought in my mind ~ A trip to the hardware store is still on the 'To do' List. A few branches and string might have to save the day?

In the meantime, some of the Sweet peas are trailing horizontally through the oregano while some of them are climbing through the spokes of my bike on the front porch.

Original-2313.jpg

I AM tenacious. ~Sweet Pea.


A few years ago there was no front garden. I gradually dug up the lawn to make garden beds that now border the whole front yard. Typically suburban garden design, I know ~ If it was my own property the entire lawn would be transformed into a combination of indigenous bush and raised vegetable gardens. But for now, flower beds are permissable.

Yellow, orange, red and cream Margaritas, as well as a few Lavender bushes, were planted in amongst a carpet of oregano surrounding the gnarled trunk of an ancient miniature rose.

Original-2315.jpg

I AM dazzlingly bold. ~Margarita.


At first, nothing grew very well in the lifeless soil that had been covered in lawn for eons. But then, with the mulch generated by our backyard resident Brush Turkey, everything I planted started to absolutely THRIVE.

I planted yellow, pink and white Snapdragon seedlings several months ago. As the flowers begin to drop off, I cut the stems back and within a short time, the plants were covered in new flowers again. I've never seen, let alone grown such prolific Snapdragons EVER.

Original-2251.jpg

I AM simply gorgeous. I thrive, knowing I am adored ~Snapdragons.


I've always tended to plant edible plants rather than flowers and have celery and lettuce, kale and silver beat growing amongst the flowers so the garden beds always look exceptionally green.

My mother and her mother were gardeners who grew both flowers and vegetables but I'd never felt the inclination to plants flowers ~ Until now.

My poppies have been flowering now for many months. Initially, just the occasional poppy would open but now all the poppy plants have about 6 to 10 buds on them. As soon as the poppies start to open I have to pick them ~ It's either me or the snails. I don't like to use snail bates and the idea of drowning snails and slugs in a good brew doesn't appeal to me either.

poppy.1000-2034.jpg

I AM simple ~ Yet I am spectacular. ~Poppy.


For weeks now it's felt like it would never stop raining. And yet today when the rain lost its ground, we could once again feel the warmth of the sun. I have the feeling it will be very hot now that the rain has run its course.

I've hardly begun to capture the beauty of our most colourful Spring this year so I'm hoping to visit the Sydney Botanical Gardens and the Chinese Gardens while Spring is still in the gardens there.

wisteria.1000-2015.jpg

I AM falling into the arms of Spring. ~Poppy.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: 35 mm:

Creative Commons License
All works by Alison Lee Cousland in this article are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

Terms of CC BY-SA.

  • This ShareAlike license will allow you to reproduce and/or manipulate this image even for your commercial purposes.

  • You are required to attribute me, Alison Lee Cousland as the designer/artist.

  • You also need to be willing to license any of your new creations that make use of this image, under the identical terms IE allow others to reproduce and/or build their own art upon your art, as well as granting their right to commercial usage.



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png

Sort:  

Gorgeous flowers 🌺 I don’t think I have seen a bottlebrush for years one of my favoyones but I am not even sure any are here

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

A few days ago I captured some magnificent trees loaded with bottle brushes Jay ~ Will have to take you on a special Bottlebrush tour now.

Was a pleasure writing about my front yard garden for #WednesdayWalk. Looking forward to taking you on a stroll through the backyard next time. Much wilder.

Really appreciate the tip. My first for a long time. Looking forward to when I can start tipping others too. It's such an encouraging gesture. Love the energy of it all. 🙏

MAGICAL MOMENTS1.png

I look forward to your bottle brushes and the backyard, I like tipping all those who join the Wednesday walkas a way of saying thanks

Beautiful post, my dear Alyson, and I love all these flowers you've captured so well! Wonderful walk, I agree, Wednesday walk is one of the best challenges on Steemit, by our dear Jay! I will try not to miss tomorrow! Bih hug, sweetie!
Resteemed!

Thanks so much Isabel. The garden has never been as colourful as it is at the moment.

I was going to share a walk around my backyard this week, but a friend told me about an exhibition at the Botanical Gardens ~ And just being in the gardens and then writing about it, opened a floodgate for me.

BIG hugs 🦋 See you out walking 🦋 And thanks so much for the Resteem. 🦋

You're welcome, sweetie!

It's been a few weeks now since I've done a Wednesday Walk post @allyinspirit. I used to really enjoy them but haven't had the time recently.

It was fun setting off having no idea what would catch my eye. 😁

I love your sweet peas. They are one of my favourite flowers. And the wisteria is beautiful.

Wishing you a wonder full day! 😁

I love how the sweet peas have gone totally feral Gillian. They started off very slowly but in the last week have taken off like wildfire. All the rain.

And the wisteria was reaching so far out over the driveway ~ The 'prunings' were lovely in vases ~ But for such a short time. Why is Spring's beauty so fleeting?

I love the Wednesday Walk challenge. I spend so much time indoors, making and photographing 'arrangements' and so it will give me an 'excuse' to venture out more often. Not that I need an excuse because something's been prompting me to create ephemeral art pieces out-of-doors ~ Which can now be incorporated into WW.

Your life is so very full, so I understand you not being able to keep up with Wednesday Walkposts. One thing I've noticed since coming back is that there's an avalanche of challenges here at Steemit now. For now I'll just stay with a few or I know I'll go into overwhelm and take another break. And I don't want to do that. 😊

I'm looking at going to the Botanical Gardens tomorrow as the rain is easing off now and there's an exhibition of indoor and outdoor sculpture there that I'd like to see. I hope you have a day full of wonder too. See you again soon. 💖

MAGICAL MOMENTSsweet.png

One thing I've noticed since coming back is that there's an avalanche of challenges here at Steemit now.

That's interesting @allyinspirit. My experience is the opposite. Or maybe it is just that a lot of the old ones I used to regularly participate in have either gone very quiet or died completely.

You're right though. There are tons of new ones now I come to think about it. Some seems to create a new tag most days.

I miss the old, reliable contests where you could actually win something. 😁

Hi @allyinspirit! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Thanks so VERY much Jay. @tattoodjay and @tipu. 🙏

MAGICAL MOMENTS1.png

What a marvelous post. Your photographs are just stunning and the words around them are absolutely special. Very, very nice.

I have a rather large Red Bottlebrush in my back yard. He clumps along faithfully year after year. The Butterflies and Bees just love him.

Thank you for a terrific walk.

My pleasure @bigtom13. Next week I'll be taking everyone for a tour of the backyard where pre-Brush Turkey days, I'd established a 'mini-rainforest' alongside the creek ~ Which is actually a council stormwater drain.

So wonderful to have your own Red Bottlebrush tree. They are one of the best indigenous trees for attracting butterflies and bees ~ And so hardy. One of the reasons I wanted to have at least one in the garden. I have another one, still waiting to be planted when I decide, or more like when it shows me where it wants to go. 🌱🌀🌱

MAGICAL MOMENTS1.png

Hi @allyinspirit! This is a beautiful tour of your flower garden - I love your wisteria! You have also introduced me to a plant I hadn't heard of before: the red bottlebrush! What an interesting flower it produces.

Thank you for sharing, I look forward to seeing more from your garden in the future :D

I'm so pleased you enjoyed the flowers in my front garden @gardeningchef.

There are some incredibly intriguing Australian wildflowers ~ Sometime soon, I'll have to take you on a walk and show them to you. Spring is the best season to see them too.

Many of them have been cultivated now so that people can enjoy the spirit of these bushflowers in their own gardens.

MAGICAL MOMENTSwisteria.png

I would love a tour of some native Australian flowers when they are all happily blooming. What season is it with you now? It's Autumn here in Spain!

I love your Wednesday Walk through the garden! Such loveliness and your flowers are all quite jubilant!

Thanks so much Melinda. One of the 'creative' features of my front yard garden is a barricade, enclosing an establishing area, designed to keep the Brush Turkey from raking the mulch.

The branches and prunings from my Bird of Paradise plants are wrapped in string ~ And CDs hang from the string. The CDs reflect the light and flutter with the slightest breeze. So far it's worked ~ Then again, it's been raining and the Brush Turkey hasn't been around lately anyway. 😊

The green leaves are celery. All the celery and lettuce have doubled in size with all the rain. So my front yard garden is actually a vegie garden in disguise. ⚖️

MAGICAL MOMENTSbaracade.png

That's a very creative way to keep them out! I have turkeys in my yard and I know how much damage they do. This morning there were six of them out there and my daughter went out and chased them away when she came over. We have a lot of them in the neighborhood. They even come up on my porch.

Beautiful post @alleyinspirit ♥ I love the personality you give your flowers. What a lush life they have!

Thanks so much Liza. I love to use quotes or my own little 'gems' as titles for my images. And as I was writing this article the idea came to express what the essence energy of each of the flowers is: What they might be feeling and the affirming energy they can give to us. So pleased you responded to this aspect. 🌱♥︎🌱

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Love the flowers and the descriptios of each.

Thanks so much @aheatley73. It was wonderful writing about my garden. It made me realize just how fortunate I am to be in a situation where I can co-create my own garden ~ Even living in a rented property.

I love the way a challenge like #WednesdayWalk encourages us to look at our world through 'new eyes.' Maybe you'll join the challenge now as well? It's the same challenge each week: Take a walk around your own neighbourhood and simply capture what is there for you at that time. You can read the details at Wednesday Walk. 🐝🌱🐝

MAGICAL MOMENTSmargarita.png

Congratulations @allyinspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53