Nerd By Northwest #29 - "Dating for Gamers"

in #webcomic6 years ago (edited)

Silly concept, because gamers don't have any problems with dating, right? ;)

Nerd By Northwest #29 - "Dating for Gamers"
(Click on the image to see the full-size version)


In my 20's I favored the 'diplomatic approach', but since then I've migrated towards the 'correct approach'. Over time I observed that any woman who has a serious problem with their guy playing the occasional video game (as in averaging an hour per day or less) is very likely going to be controlling and judgemental in other ways as well. And quite often hypocritical too.... playing video games is 'dumb', but spending twice as much time or more watching TV such as 'Real Housewives of Whatever' or other reality shows is somehow 'acceptable'?

So my rules are pretty simple; you don't criticize my dumb hobbies, and I won't criticize yours... :)


Want to see the other Nerd By Northwest webcomics? Use the convenient links below!

First
Previous
Next

Sort:  

giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 36. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Cool, this contest sounds like a great program. Still relatively new to Steem, so today was the first time I heard about this.

Just as a follow up to my previous comment:

I have featured you and this post for a curation contest here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/payitforwardentry-week36-aoqdpyxwsv

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-36-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

Thanks! I certainly appreciate the additional exposure...

I think I've done the same as you, it's been mostly diplomatic but now the 'correct' approach.. Although, there is also the evangelical approach of espousing the benefits and the wide range in the genre!

I've never managed to get a girlfriend interested in video games, at least not one who wasn't already into them. But I DID manage to get one interested in science fiction TV and movies. It was the Battlestar Galactica reboot that did it for her... after watching it for a season, she half-jokingly said, "dammit, you turned me into a nerd!" :)

I"m still trying to get my wife to watch Battlestar Galactica... she still thinks its only about space fighting...

That's got to be my favorite approach - the evangelical one. I like it.

Darn 😂 I've never dated any gamers 😂😂 I think we're gonna be busy playing during our date time then😅 the first approach is the most weird one

Thanks for sharing and I found your post through @bengy entry post in the pay it forward contest this week. Lucky that my hubby gives me enough time to play steemmonsters😆

Yeah, sadly I think the first approach is all too common. Too many guys think they should always tell ladies what they think they want to hear... generally a big mistake, as it ultimately demonstrates a lack of self-confidence. ;)

Anyway, glad you enjoyed my comic! It's part of an ongoing series, so feel free to use the links above on the original post to view the previous comics...

so feel free to use the links above on the original post to view the previous comics...

off course I will @northwestnomad, I'm following you too.. because I like to read comics

Hello there! Nice comics!

What, me? Having problems dating? Not at all. My problem is meeting girls to date!!! 😂😂😂

PS: I've found this post because @bengy featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

I'd like to ask you to participate in my Art Curation Initiative #5

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

😂😂😂😂 picky guy!

Difficult meeting girls to date? Try growing up and living in Alaska like I did! (Ok it's not quite as bad as the old cliche' goes, but it sure as heck was not easy either...) ;)

Anyway, glad you like my comic! Stay tuned for more :)

No, meeting girls to date is easy, Meeting dateable girls is whole other story. :-P

maybe the solution is to date other gamers

I agree.... though easier said than done. Especially for those tail-end Gen-X'ers like myself born before 1981, who grew up with video games yet did so at a time when it was considered much more a male hobby. I suppose that begs the question, does that now make it more acceptable for us to date women 10 years or more younger? 😉

There's a lot of women gamers in your age group, to be honest.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

You have a very good point. I am glad that @bengy put you in the Pay it Forward Contest this was a good read.

Thanks... I hope you guys keep reading!

hahaha love the comic, and your change in approach from diplomatic to correct haha That's awesome! and much healthier I think.

I found your post through @bengy's Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry. Please feel free to join us with an entry of your own anytime :)

I suppose I myself used somewhat more tactful statements when I used the 'correct approach' in real life.... but 'tactful' doesn't get the laughs that 'snarky' does. 😁

You said it! You can get away with almost anything under the guise of comedy too :)

I don't think there's anything wrong with trying the diplomatic approach first. Use it to test the water and see how serious she is about hating gaming. Then try @bengy's evangelical approach if you're really interested. But if that doesn't work, then the "correct" approach is the only one left.

I found your article thanks to @bengy's entry into this week's Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

Thanks! I'm posting webcomics here multiple times a week, so stay tuned for more! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56