Develop a KILLER Morning RoutinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #video7 years ago (edited)

MR Thumb 2.jpg

APP: Alert, Productive, Positive

In today's video I explore how I developed a morning routine that leaves me feeling alert, productive and in a positive state of mind, and how you can too. The keys are letting it evolve organically, abandoning those elements that make you less likely to enjoy and repeat the process, and making sure that every component serves your goals, even if one of your goals is to do nothing (e.g. meditate). If you use the information to develop your own effective routine, please come back and share the details in the comments! Maybe we can crowdsource this thing and make it even better!

Listen to the Podcast

Not a Morning Person

Since I started using this method I have not missed a day and I am by no means a hero of will power, especially in the mornings. I do it because I like to and because if I don't ... I don't get out of bed. In fact, my whole life I thought I was "bad at waking up" and doomed to "wake up tired." Doctors even prescribed me anti-depressants based primarily on this symptom.

Sugar Matters Too

While dramatically reducing my sugar intake (through the ketogenic diet) definitely made it easier for me to fall asleep, get good sleep, and wake up less groggy, it didn't put me in "attack-the-day mode." The routine I developed definitely does, but more importantly, I think my methodology could help anyone develop the right routine for themselves. If it doesn't, and you're still having trouble getting up in the mornings and feeling alert, I highly recommend the ketogenic diet.

Jordan B. Peterson

Oddly enough, my approach was heavily influenced by Professor of Psychology Jordan B. Peterson's "Maps of Meaning" lecture series available on YouTube, though in truth his lectures are so rivetting and mind-blowing, they are influencing nearly every aspect of my life. I couldn't recommend watching them more.

An animated explanation of the Wim Hoff Method

Dr. David Burns' TEDx Talk: Feeling Good

Jon Kabat-Zinn's Lying Meditation

Already have a great routine? Share the deets in the comments!

This post is dedicated to @lukestokes who motivated me to create it by beating me to the punch by posting videos about the Wim Hoff method. You can see one of his videos here:

Sort:  

Cold showers have been super helpful for me. Energy boost, focus, less stress, are the main benefits I've found from taking cold showers. Cold showers are definitely not for the faint of heart but anyone can develop mental toughness from it. Just jump in and do it!!! So far I haven't taken a hot shower in a little over a week now.

Nice work! Supposedly there are some benefits to mixing in hot showers, especially at night, and I've found doing so doesn't diminish my ability to take cold showers (surprisingly).

That is surprising because I always thought that mixing the two would make them feel hotter or colder due to the temperature changes.

I know! It doesn't though. Don't ask me why :)

8tp5rL8XzquYREcWKevwqGpmavN66v2Mj4iHsUSS8lk.jpg

HAHAHA. Great inside joke

Great tips. Good luck to all those who try to cold shower! I hear the benefits are great, if only I could do it lol.

Gotta breathe! Look up Wim Hof, otherwise known as the "ice man". He's got good breathing exercises to handle cold dunks better.

I love me some Wim Hof. Would love to meet the guy and dedicate time to the type of training on myself. He had a great appearance on Joe Rogan not too long ago, had a beer, talked crap about his son, very funny stuff, really positive guy.

I think that was what spurred me to learn more about him. Seeing Joe hold his breath for so long blew my mind!

Thanks for the dedication, Andrew. :) I missed this post earlier, but I'm looking to watching this video later.

I took this weekend off from the Wim Hof method (though I did take a cold shower or two). Today I did the full deal before lunch and it felt great. Here's to tomorrow. I've got three different posts on Wim Hof now, and I hear they are crowd funding a movie. Pretty cool stuff.

Just got around to watching this. Great stuff! I love the professional production quality you put into your videos.

Do you use the app at all? I find it really helpful. The videos in the app help you feel like you're doing it with Wim Hof which brings into it a level of social psychological motivation also.

Do you do the forward bending, reverse balance, and handstand stuff as well? I find those really helpful. I also experimented with doing pull ups, but with my back issues, that ends up hurting. I should probably start slow with pulls and just do a few each day to strengthen my back muscles. I think the forward bends and reverse balance are helping though as I'm getting more flexibility there then I thought possible for me.

For those reading, as @andrarchy mentioned, I've been exploring the Wim Hof stuff for a little while now also. I'll link to my posts below for those who are interested in learning more:

No but maybe I'll give it a shot. I am not remotely flexible, so some stretching would probably be a good addition, especially since I kickbox!

I'm amazed how much the front bend stretches have helped me increase flexibility.

Have you ever gotten sick doing the Wim Hof stuff? From what I've read it beats up your immune system a bit as it builds it back up. Woke up today with a sore throat which has happened before.

Oh, also, forgot to mention in my last comment how much I love the idea of focusing on things you're grateful for while you're holding your breath. Great idea there.

A Killer morning routine? I'd rather have a lover morning routine.

Kidding.

Cool videos.

Hahaha, this will help with that too ;)

Thanks! I need all the help I can get!

Love love love this! As always an amazing presentation :)

Thaaaaanks. Good to see you!

Cold shower and a glass of apple juice = great night sleep and vivid dreams. Try it!

Well that will be a good way to use those last few swiggs of apple juice in my fridge

I'm wondering if the technique at 5 minutes in may help my asthma, or kill me. Worth a try?

Hmm don't know. I think I've heard people say it can help. Here's one asthma sufferer who seems to dig it: https://www.dangerandplay.com/2015/12/04/wim-hof-breathing-method-video-course-review/

Well I'm sold! If I don't post for a week then we know it didn't work 😉

Also, it's nice to see that I'm not the only one interrupted in videos by cats.

haha, not at all. They are such camera hogs

My morning routine is an embarrassment compared to this regiment LOL. I'm not a morning person and struggle with object permanence prior to 2 cups of coffee... probably a sign that I should change my ways!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64561.21
ETH 3418.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57