Wim Hof: The Intersection of Miracle and Science?

in #science8 years ago


Me, this morning

A friend of mine recently purchased an online training course for the Wim Hof method. He mentioned it to me after lunch together on Thursday. I had heard of the Iceman before, but thought of him as an evolutionary freak of nature. What I didn't know is he has trained 12 other people in a very short period of time to be tested and accomplish the same miraculous feats he is able to do (control his immune response, core body temperature, adrenaline levels, etc). He trained a Vice film crew and together they hiked a snow-covered mountain in shorts. If you're not familiar with Wim Hof, prepare to be amazed. He holds 26 world records and has some incredible claims about the human body which have been verified by doctors and scientists.

My friend emailed me some more information, and I listened to this 40 minute documentary by Vice in the background while working yesterday. It's well worth your time.

That got me really interested. I started googling around and learning more. Immediately I thought (as one does), "I should post about this on Steemit!" So I searched steemit for Wim Hof to see if anyone else was talking about him. I found some amazing content! Please check out these fantastic posts from Steemit authors!

Unfortunately most of these posts were not well rewarded. At least one account isn't active any more. Still though, it was a fantastic experience to get really great content about a topic I'm interested in directly from Steemit! The next time you're interested in something, search Steemit first and see what you find. You might be pleasantly surprised! It was through these posts I found Wim Hof's Joe Rogan Experience episode 712. From there I found he was on the show again recently in episode 865.

I watched/listened to them both yesterday (a total of almost 5 hours). This is truly fascinating stuff. Throughout history various religions and mythologies talk of super human abilities and miraculous recoveries and/or feats of strength, endurance, and ability. The skeptical, logical, rational thinkers of the modern era brush these stories aside as primitive thinkers finding meaning where there is none. At the same time, I'm now beginning to realize, "miracles" really are happening and some shamans, healers, and mystics of the world are shaking their heads at the "intellectuals" who can be so ignorant in spite of all their knowledge.

For me, Wim Hof represents the meeting point between science and the unexplained. Out of billions of people, this one individual discovered some realities about the human body previously thought to be impossible. He discredits "woo" pseudoscience just as much as the skeptics, always repeating phrases like "no speculation" and actively engages the scientific community to test and measure his conclusive results. He's helping rewrite biology books!

I love science. I also appreciate his frustration with how slowly it moves. As he points out on the podcast, a cancer patient is worth $200k a year to the medical industry. When asked by Joe Rogan if he thought they were slow to move on his findings because of that, he wisely replied with, "Do you?" It's a dark thought, but if you ask yourself Cui bono? it's a question worth exploring. At the same time, we can't in good conscious tell dying people, "Oh, just breathe this way, and you'll be healed." Thankfully, Wim Hof doesn't appear to be taking such an extreme stance and argues his methods work well with chemotherapy. I lost my mom to cancer, so this is a topic I'm certainly interested in.

I've been a fan of conspiracy theories in the past, but lately I've found it easier to poke holes in them based on reason, logic, evidence, and a solid understanding of logical fallacies. I'm not yet ready to jump into the camp which claims healthy cures are being repressed, but if even part of what Win Hof says about the human body is true (and much if it has already been scientifically verified, from what I've seen so far), then how much could humanity improve if many ailments we face could be cured via something as simple as special breathing and cold exposure? There's so much to Wim Hof's story which seems impossible, but if the evidence is there, what then?

If breathing, meditation, and cold exposure could fundamentally change our lives to be healthier, happier, more productive, and in essence better versions of ourselves, would we do it? Shouldn't we do it?

His claims are so outrageous, we have trouble believing. We should be skeptical, but we should also engage the evidence and consider the possible benefits.


Futurism

I'm going to start diving in a bit more. The basics of the Wim Hof breathing can be found online in various places so I won't reproduce them here. I'm going to try it out and see what happens. Is it possible a new age of self regulation and body control is within our grasp?

To Learn More

Wim Hoff - Wikipedia
http://www.wimhofmethod.com/


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

Sort:  

Stunning post, really hope to read quite a bit mor of your work. thank you so much for sharing! FOLLOWED!

Thanks, Breezin! :)

My pleasure, have a lovely evening!

Very cool man! My buddy @tylerfitzp is or was really into Wim Hof for a while there. It does seem like some pretty interesting stuff for sure. Thanks for posting.

Are they still into it now? If not, why not? Have they seen any noticeable differences in their life? I'm quite curious.

Im not 100% sure i know that he was using the methods for a while and he certainly saw differences while he was, I am not in touch with him quite as much as I was that is why I am not sure.

I've done some WHM breathwork too. Most amazing result has been to learn to hold breath. My record is four minutes and that didn't even require much practise.

Wow! 4 minutes. That's impressive.

I found out about wim hof through Joe rogan and had great experience using the technique to keep my mind awake during dreary days at work. I think next step is to incorporate it into my daily practice and see what's possible.

Let me know how it goes!

I am intrigued. The Asimov quote however is right on point. It will be interesting to see what you discover, and what evidence you can show us of your findings.

Thx for the great article!

There's an app for $4 I might buy which includes a training schedule. Sounds interesting.

I still remember your reaction back when you first learned that I practice acupuncture. I'm glad you're coming around on the whole mystical/pseudoscience/unexplained. The world is such a fascinating place and there are so many things we have yet to learn about or fully document. Great of you to share all the Steemit posts that went unnoticed, Luke.

Thanks, Jed. I'm still not sure about acupuncture, but I imagine at some point we'll better understand these meat sacks we walk around in. At that point, explanations for many things will hopefully become clear. :)

Haha yeah, I imagined you still don't accept it :) In any case, I'm just glad that you're opening your mind to those kinds of things in general. There's so many things we have yet to discover, and I really hope we could at least know a percentage of them in our lifetime.

Pretty amazing science. I'm not sure I would have lasted very long in freezing cold water, but that's may just be my mind selling me short. I found that I had the ability to overcome quite a bit after my partner left me in 2005. I was self-medicating more than necessary. You might say I was performing tests on myself to see how much I could stand. For me, I was more inclined to strive in extreme heat, rather than cold. Burning Man was an easy testing ground with lots of techno and dust storms. I think that I even slept a few hours that week. Haha. It was an experience, but now I'm more interested in exploring real cultures, like Thailand, Cambodia and Costa Rica. Some day I will surf in Santa Teresa, again. But first, I will find a good job!

Awesome Post!

Your Welcome! 👍

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55