Ulog #6 - Crafting A Rooibos Hardfork

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians & Uloggers

@mimismartypants and I met up for lunch and decided to try out some craft rooibos tea because well nothing like trying out a pretentious twist on an old South African favourite drink am I right?

Rooibos tea is commonplace in every South African home, you can have it hot or cold, with or without milk it really is up to you how you take it.

Just don't invite people over to your house if you don't have any, because that would make you one terrible host ok? Just don't do it. Also for added enjoyment please ensure that you accompany the rooibos tea with an assortment of biscuits or we will think you are cheap, don't be cheap. Offer them the biscuits already!

Craft Rooi Bos

So as I mentioned earlier we went for lunch and instead of having the usual coffee or tea we decided to try out these craft rooibos ice teas. I really enjoyed mine, the apple and cinnamon flavour was a bit overwhelming at first but you get used to it pretty quickly and it was really refreshing.

Mimi's Mango and Vanilla one tasted like baby food to me. She would probably disagree and you can read about it in her post here

1C833162-5F16-4B99-9BF1-9C234B457974.JPG

The craft scene

So the craft scene has blown up in Cape Town over the last few years with hipsters labelling everything from beers to burgers with this magical new adjective and then overcharging for it. I could literally piss into mason jars and call it craft peach tea, post it on Instagram and I can guarantee you I'd have tons of customers at my doorstep in a matter of days.

While I'm not a fan of the pretentious pissing contest that is craft scene there are some interesting experiences to be had and I will sift through that piss and If I find anything I particularly enjoy you'll be hearing about it in future blog posts.

Have your say

Do you like to try new things? What new things have you tried lately? Share it with me in the comments or any suggestions are most welcome!

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Put your votes to good use

We all can't max out our upvotes every day and a little help never hurt. Sign up to Smartsteem and sell a few of your votes each day, earn some STEEM and SBD in the process and still get in some curation rewards in STEEM Power. Check out SmartSteem


Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

Craft Rooi Bos is something I would certainly try! I love discovering new things, although sometimes this discovery has a bitter taste.
I recently discovered Rojak. This is something between dessert and salad. BUT with a taste of shrimps. There are different kinds of rojaks, but the one I tried was simply disgusting.
I found pineapple, cucumber and the remains of other vegetables in it. The whole thing was covered with sweet and bitter shrimp sauce and peanuts. It was the first time with this strange "dessert"- that's how they called it.
Compared to the taste it looks great. :D

I'm definitely going to go back and try the other flavours when I get the chance. From the picture the presentation looks interesting and I'd give it a try im not going to lie. Im always willing to try anything at least once, so I know for sure if i like it or not.

LOL from your description I dont think id like that one either, those ingrediants don't sound like they are meant to go together or compliment one another in any way. At least you were brave enough to give it a go! lifes made up of alll these weird and wonderful experiences

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 3.69% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

@chekohler is such a lier!! I obviously chose the better flavour and he was jealous!!

Tasted like mango juice with a lovely rooibos undertone!! Not for unsophisticated pallets like those of @chekohler's 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, I guess mine would also taste better if they forgot to bring my food! Hunger is the best sauce as my mom always says!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Those damn hipsters. If you want to complain about those assholes never live in Boston let me tell you! Cambridge is full of those.

LOL! I can’t deal with them, they make me feel uncomfortable with their luscious beards and judgmental eyes

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.311 which ranks you at #7522 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1648 places in the last three days (old rank 9170).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 279 contributions, your post is ranked at #233.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76