Ulog #4 Beaches and Burgers

in #ulog6 years ago

Yo Steeamians and Uloggers

I think I'm starting to get a hang of this Ulog thing and it ain't half bad! This is my 4th one and my first without alcohol. Yeah, sobriety am I right?

The sun has begun to show up more often in Cape Town and with it, it brings the heat that Africa is well renowned for and how we maintain our chocolate complexions

I'm not really one for snapping pictures since I don't use traditional social media it's not ingrained in me to capture every moment of my day like some self-imposed psychotic paparazzi but I managed to grab two shots to kind of give you a picture of what a sunny Sunday is like in Kaapstad.

So since I stay out in the suburbs it's a 25 km drive to the main city and once you're there you have to make the most of it because, well the petrol is so damn expensive you don't really want to see it go to waste now do you?

But first food

So now that we're in the city it's time to get some fuel for the day's activities and what better way to get your beach body in tune than stuffing your face with carbs. This time it was a Chilli Popper burger topped with onion rings and a side of fries from Rick's.

8d50f26a-6ed8-4984-a178-ca08742ec3b3.JPG

Now wait an hour before swimming

Now that you're awkwardly stuffed its time to work off that meal by heading to the beach and try and swim it off, because well I like to live dangerously. Just kidding, Cape Townians don't actually go to the beach to swim. We go to the beach to watch the waves, eat ice cream, show off our bods and pretend to read books!

Why? Because the water is so darn cold, you will be less of a man in 2 seconds if you know what I mean ;-). It's not that hot yet. Once we hit the 30s and up mark in temperature you know we're all flocking into the icey cold waters for some relief.

Here's a little shot of Clifton 4th beach, where the Kaapenaars hang out and marvel at the fact that we don't live in Johannesburg!

Yes, we have the sea and we will forever rub it in your face. Don't hate us because you ain't us! We're just trying to enjoy our beaches before you guys head down for your December "Dis lekker by die see" holiday!

Just remember, if you coming down to Cape Town, bring your own water because we're not sharing ok? Sorry, we do like you but we also like to bath!

IMG_6191.jpg

How was your sunny Sunday?

So what do you get up to in your part of the world on a Sunday? Share it with me in the comments and I'll pretend that what you're saying is super fascinating and that I really want to get to know you a lot better, and not like I just swiped right on Tinder because It was friday and I was bored.

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Put your votes to good use

We all can't max out our upvotes every day and a little help never hurt. Sign up to Smartsteem and sell a few of your votes each day, earn some STEEM and SBD in the process and still get in some curation rewards in STEEM Power. Check out SmartSteem


Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Previous Ulogs

Sort:  

It's beautiful there, for sure...but I really, REALLY want that burger!!!! Dang!

Indeed it is, sometimes we forget what a nice place we live in because we spent too much of our day in the office or malls. The tourists love it since the dollar and euro will get you pretty far so tourists take full advantage!

Oh, that burger went down so well, I don't even regret the extra running i'll need to do this week to work it off

I envy you. You are a great man for having eaten a burger like that! I aspire to be just like you inj that regard! :D

I would love to visit someday. It's truly beautiful!

hey! You were supposed to let me know when you come to town! I live up the road from Ricks, and was on Beta Beach this afternoon!

So funny - I was describing Clifton as the model beach to a friend, cuz yesterday I was out at Sunset beach, where I felt like the prettiest flower, cuz, you know... Milnerton 😅

I'm loving the weather and hope it stays like this - not hotter, cuz then I will die.

I laugh at your crazed paparazzi description, as I was just thinking how unnatural it feels to take selfies, even with friends, and at the beach there were a bunch of bints taking photos in every pose possible, and I was sickened. Shem.

See you next time you are in town!

LOL oh noooooooo! Well I’ll be sure to message you next time! I’ll eventually work up enough courage to come back!

Clifton is such a model beach it’s like everyone with a virgin active contract needs to strut their stuff there, I’m pretty sure if I sold USN products on the Clifton I’d make a killing

Hey I happen to like Millies, it’s always chilled and everyone is fully clothed! Lol!

It’s so unnatural man, besides my battery is always pap so I don’t have time for pics I don’t even have time to charge the bladdy thing..Lol let them have their fun, I mean they need to do it for the gram and all! Ag shampies!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @chekohler! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.055 which ranks you at #9509 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 157 places in the last three days (old rank 9666).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 291 contributions, your post is ranked at #173.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

its great that you are enjoying to use #ULOG blog post! I am an addict Ulogger too but, at this times, I do seldom use it.. I dont know why, but before the HF20 mark, I was doing my DEAR ULOGS almost every day.. and then... this happens.. somehow my interest to post everyday faded as when the start of HF20, I could do pretty nothing at all cuz of my low RC. I think I got depressed... Though, now, I am slowly coming back.. hehe

And by the way, your BURGER is sooooooo huge! You did finish that by yourself??? Why do you seem to make bigger burgers. I am envious!

Yeah i'm trying to expand my blog into differnet categories and see what I like and what sticks for me! I don't want to get bored of writing about the same thing all the time and then my content starts to get boring so switching things up is my new game plan. Also it helps interact with new people which is nice, I enjoy my OG commentors but a few new faces never hurt.

Yeah HF20 did hit the wind out of a lot of steemians! I saw a few power down and many have been inactive or less active since the update which is a shame, I've found it hasn't affected me as much because I have a reasonable amount of SP so im pretty safe.

LOL it does look huge doesn't it? Once you take the onion rings off it shrinks to noraml size, besides no one coudl hit smoething that big in their mouth to take a bite! We used to have this one place in cape town that made these monster burgers, I'll see if I can get a picture of it and post about it lol

That is quite a great idea actually! It gives you wider options and alternatives of what best suits you. Yeah! Crowd sourcing is hard to come by if we cant get our post to be noticed.

I too enjoy interacting and annoys other pips hahahaha 😂. . So much that it drops my RC level.. i am trying really hard to limit my engagement but its so hard not to comment or like..

Hahaha it does looks soooo huge eh! I thought you would have cut it into four slices and smashed them down before eating them all..

So you are from cape town.. which side? I have a friend there too.. i dont know if you know her, @mimismartypants??

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54