Ulog #09 - Call Me Captain Jack Black

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians, Ufloggers & ye yellow-bellies

This is the tale, of Captain Jack Black Pirate so brave on the 7 seas, he had a treasure map pointing to the Island of Tortuga with adventure ahead, we don't know what lies in store for o'l Cappin ey. Well, I wish it was more of a pirate story, the only piracy I can pull off was downloading illegal copies of movies off torrent sites, but never the less equally badass.

But where was I? Ah yes, why they call me Captain Jack Black. The short answer is they don't I just picked the title because it sounded cool and clickbaity, if you're reading this you've proved my point.

Any way @see-it-feel-it says she misses the old me and ulogging about alcohol so this post is for you :). I recently spent about 56 SBD on some beers from a local craft brewery because well one can never have too many beers right. I got a good deal and scored 4 packs so that's 96 beers, buying in bulk is the smart way to save -Ches finance tip #001!

96 bottles of beer in my house, 96 bottles of beer, you take one down, pass it around, get tipsy and shout at how shitty the Springboks play!

Jack Black

Just to give you a little background, Jack Black is a Cape Town based craft brewery with a taste room in the South of the city and is sold in quite a few stores and bars lately,. It used to be hard to find back in the day but they've really don't a great job in punting the brand over the last few years.

My shopping haul

So what did I get? I decided to buy 4 different types and of Jack Black because I can, it's my house dammit, I do what I like!

Keller Pils

As of now, I'm 18 beers into this journey which I really only do for your benefit, this selfless sacrifice I've made to ensure you get the best quality content I can produce. It's a thankless job but you know I'm just the man to do it.

It can be quite harsh if you first take a sip but you get used to it after a while, it is slightly bitter but the finish is really bitter and it tends to linger. Not really my favourite but I can see why those who prefer that style of beer would like it, like those damn Germans! The Pilsner needs to be had icy cold, as cold as possible, if not you're not going to have a good time!

IMG_6331.jpg

Brewers Lager

IMG_6332.jpg

Atlantic Weiss

IMG_6333.jpg

Cape Pale Ale

IMG_6334.jpg

I'll milk it

In the interest of dragging this post out and avoiding writer's block, i"ll stretch this one into a series of posts. I'll give you a more detailed rundown of each one in future posts because mans not that great at remembering stuff after a few beers, like has anyone seen my car keys? my phone? my self-control or my morals? Oh well, let's worry about that in the morning, shall we have another? One for the road perhaps?

Have at it

Do you like to drink beer? Or are you more of a Rum kinda pirate when searching for buried treasure? Let me know in the comments. Let's talk drinks, over drinks because I heard you like drinking.

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Put your votes to good use

We all can't max out our upvotes every day and a little help never hurt. Sign up to Smartsteem and sell a few of your votes each day, earn some STEEM and SBD in the process and still get in some curation rewards in STEEM Power. Check out SmartSteem


Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Previous Ulogs

Sort:  

Hey Captain Jack Black! :D 96 bottles of beer! Lol
Probably everything you do, you do with passion!
Recently I have been drinking about 1 beer for 3 months so it would take me 24 years to drink all your stock. :D
Will you compare these beers? Taste, bitterness (IBU) and so on? If so, it would be great! When I'm in South Africa, I could immediately reach for a beer that I would probably like the most.

No sense in doing anything half arsed, then you might as well not do it at all.

Lol if i drank 1 beer every 3 months I think every beer I had would taste like the best beer ever and I wouldn't be a good judge of taste.

Sure, I'll compare the Jack Blacks and then I think I'll move on to Devils Peak, Darling Beer and Stellenbrau which are the other popular Cape Town Craft beer brewries! :)

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 5.49% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I watched the documentary "Searching for Sugar Man" last night. How accurate was it?

I think they hyped it up bigger than it was! I wasn’t born during that era but when the documentary came out in 2012 I asked my parents and family members and none of them knew who he was

But then again it was in a time where we were still in apartheid so plenty of segregation and censorship so I can see why it never spread into the black/majority community!

So from my side no it wasn’t huge!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well I guess one part was true. Nobody in America ever heard of him either. Thanks for giving me that bit of South African insight. Damn I love the internet.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.283 which ranks you at #7824 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 255 places in the last three days (old rank 8079).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #92.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cesc04 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Lol hey stranger haven’t seen you in my comments for a while! Hope you’re well and not spending too much time on the beach

Posted using Partiko iOS

Did you miss me? :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe just a teeny tiny bit! 🤫But you’re a busy lady I get that

Posted using Partiko iOS

Not that much😊 I would like to be busier.

I'm glad you did:)

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol well i'm happy to keep you busy 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60732.06
ETH 2345.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46